We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue

Bellevue
Ranked #15 of 5,317 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 58 - US$ 76
Cuisines: International, European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ireland
Level Contributor
806 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
“Enchanting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

From the welcome on our (non-booked ) arrival we anticipated that Bellevue would be a special occasion; we were right. We didn’t get a window table but as we concentrated on the food, this was immaterial!

We decided on the 3 course tasting menu. The food was beautifully presented. Our starters were eggplant lasagne, with the aubergine replacing the pasta, & seafood degustation. For mains we had the seabass & crispy roasted duck, both of which were delicious. We rounded off with chestnut cheesecake & homemade apple strudel.

Throughout, the service was friendly, unhurried and so attentive. Our attendant worked at Raymond Blanc’s Brasserie in Oxford so had very good English. He described features of each of our courses. We also chatted about some of the enjoyable TV series that Blanc has presented.

The tasting menus, plus dark beer, mineral water & a cappuccino came to 2,850 CZK. While not cheap, we thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. It was the culinary highlight of our Prague holiday.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomas_melich, General Manager at Bellevue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear permia,

Great review, thank you very much! I am very pleased that you found everything to be of excellence. Though while we are not cheap, we hope that you found us to be of good value :).
Also thanks for the comment about your waiter, who is called Valentin. It put a smile on his face when he read your review. :)

Best regards,

Tomáš Melich
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,082
    453
    140
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
447 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great food, service, atmosphere, ans interesting menu set up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We went to Bellevue for my wife's birthday and chose this restaurant because it is part of the Zatisi group and we had previously dined at Mlynec. The menu was set up and priced based on the number of courses you chose to eat, up to 5 on the menu. Also each dish was paired with a wine selection that you could choose or not depending on your tastes. If you chose to do the wines suggested with each course there was a separate price list for the number of wines you chose. I chose to eat 3 courses and drink the suggested wines with each. My wife did the same , but my son chose not to drink. We all thought the food was excellent, my wife and I enjoyed the wines that were recommended with our meals. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly, and knowledgeable on the selections and wines. The view was incredible with the Charles bridge and castle in full view. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a fine dinning experience. We felt the price was good based on the dinning experience, the quality of the food and the portions. I have a good appetite and ate a 3 course meal and left very satisfied. The menu I think gives good options for all types of dinning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomas_melich, General Manager at Bellevue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Kris D,

We really appreciate your comments, that underline so many points we are striving hard to achieve.
So thank you from all of us at the Bellevue.

Kind regards,

Tomáš Melich
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

If I compare food, location, entrance, design, sitting area - maybe one of the best restaurant in Prague. Not the best in every way, but very good in all of them. I was there for romantic dinner, with beautiful Prag castle view across the river. Outside area fantastic. Inside great as well. Light is used fantasticly. Meat - which I have almost all the time was great as I expected. Very good dinner choice, if you want to be treated with the best and you do not have to pay fortune. It cost me (dinner for 2, non alcoholic, steaks) about 100 USD.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomas_melich, General Manager at Bellevue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Kaka3,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you found Bellevue concurrent with our placing on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Tomáš Melich,
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A lovely gastronomic meal with great wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We reserved 10 days before to be sure to get a good view. Our waiter explained the different options and meals and talked us throught the menu. We chose the option of different wines with each course and each wine was also very well explained - there were czech wines and other European wines but the best was the sweet red dessert wine from Roussillon .. sublime and I admit I felt a bit squiffy after our 4 courses. A modern setting with large bay windows and the menu was more gastronomical than czech. We had a lovely meal and thouroughly enjoyed it - even though the price was a lot more than we would normally pay - but for our wedding anniversary it was worth it !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grigs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomas_melich, General Manager at Bellevue, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Grigs27,

Thank you very much for your review. That last wine for the desert wine pairing is a fortified wine, a bit stronger than usual. "Squiffy", delightful word :).

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Tomáš Melich
Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite top notch restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Delicious food and wine. Czech cuisine- many flavors! The service was excellent, and all together this was the best meal we had in Prague. I definitely recommend this restaurant! Also, we had a perfect view of the Vltava river

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoraNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomas_melich, General Manager at Bellevue, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear NoraNord,

Thank you for your visit. We are really happy to hear you had such a good experience.

Thank you very much for writing about us on Trip Advisor.

Best regards,

Tomáš Melich
Managing director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellevue also viewed

 

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing