We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere but sub standard meal”
Review of Hotel u Schnellu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel u Schnellu
Ranked #310 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but sub standard meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This restaurant was quite convenient for us, as we we staying at the hotel Augustine very close by. Our first choice this evening was no longer serving, it was 9:45, so we took a chance on this place, which was still fairly busy, and looked cozy. The atmosphere was nice, the service was quite good, but the food was substandard. I ordered duck from the traditional Czech menu. It was quite dried out and tasteless. The best part of the meal was the sauerkraut, which I would rather have had as my whole meal. I would recommend this place for a few beers, but not for the food.

Room Tip: This is only a restaurant review, as we did not stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LePickyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    63
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
23
56
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We visited the restaurant this January. I recommend it to everyone, who is visiting the castle, it is only a shourt stroll down the road. The food is not expensive and great. The service was suprisingly really good. The girl (little bit darker skin) who served us was really friendly, attentive and always smiled. I would like to thank her for this. We were a group of 3 girls, sitting at the very back of the restaurant. The restaurant is really old style, like the whole Prague, and has this unique experience.
I would recommend it to everyone and ask for a table at the back.

I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were told this restaurant offerred good czech cuisine, so we decided to give it a try on the 27th of December. Our waitress never smiled and was not at all polite. I ordered the gulash and received two slices of dumpling with a lot of ordinary flavoured gravy and a grand total of 5 peices of cubed meat (no vegetables or anything else). The meat was riddled with lumps of fat and was difficult to eat. My husband had the duck which was not tasty - it tasted old. At the end of the meal which came to 983 net (1180 with tax) we were given the bill plus a calculator with the amount we had to pay which was plus 20% for service?
I wasn't impressed and would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyss_seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

So easy to walk to everything! (Plus, it's near many trams and the subway.) The restaurant on the main floor is really yummy, and the 20% discount for hotel guests is great. They have free wifi throughout the hotel (though it can be a bit slow; still, very handy). Check-in was a little strange/slow because the staff double as servers for the restaurant, but everything else was perfect! Extremely reasonable price for the location/quality. The beds were harder than I'm used to, but maybe that was a good thing--I slept very well and it was totally quiet at night. (I did not find the trams outside to be a problem.)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The location of this place is great, in the castle district and only several blocks from the Charles Bridge and a short walk to Old Town. After traveling all day and checking into the hotel we were happy to find that the restaurant had delicious czech food and helpful staff. The room was clean and also very spacious. I would recommend this place to sleep or eat.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shushi206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#109 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#210 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#357 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#188 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel u Schnellu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel u Schnellu

Property: Hotel u Schnellu
Address: Tomasska 2/27, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,780 - ₹ 10,621
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel u Schnellu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel u Schnellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Schnellu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing