We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint and cosy little stay in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monastery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monastery
Ranked #36 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A quaint and cosy little stay in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here with my partner whilst in Prague and was quite surprised to find an affordable hotel in such a picturesque area of the City. Although the rooms were very compact it ideally served as a base and is situated next door to a fantasic restaurant. Te breakfast was fantasic as a selection and was served in a beautifl garden at the rear. I wouldn't recomment this hotel for people who spend alot of time in the hotel. But for those who want to located in a great position and are away for the majority of the day is serves very well. The staff were also very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    110
    12
    1
    12
See reviews for
88
227
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for the first time. I cannot make comprehensive review here as I stayed for just one night. The hotel is located in a perfect, quiet place near to the Loreta and Prague Castle, in the Strahov Monastery area. The rooms are small and simple, very clean and equipped with everything you would need. I was very surprised with very low off-season price for the room. The staff is great, extremely kind and helpful.

The only con I could think of is an obvious lack of a parking, or rather too expensive parking space at the hotel yard. But it is possible to leave your car in Parlerova street over night for free, some two hundred meters from the hotel.


I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Prague.

Room Tip: I stayed in room nr. 21 which is deluxe room with great view both on the monastery and the Old Town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Residence Monastery and we are already missing the place. This hotel has so much charm, character, stunning views of Prague, and a really informal atmosphere, right next door to the beautiful Strahov Monastery. It is small, only 12 rooms, but that is so much better than staying at one of the generic 'chain' hotels. The staff (only saw three members of staff all weekend!) were so helpful, friendly and offered a great standard of service - Stepan was excellent. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and really good quality. I know a lot has been said of the hill but to be honest it is fine unless you have mobility problems, only 15 minutes walk down to the City Centre, so a little longer back but there are so many shops and cafes on the way you can take your time and soak up the charm of the little streets that wind through the Lesser Town. We are so glad we stayed here, to wake up and look over the city from the hotel was stunning and well worth any walk! It was exceptional value for money. Go now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hi, having just recently returned from our stay at the Residence. my partner and I felt compelled to write and recommend this hotel. if you are looking for somewhere beautiful, quiet,and within walking distance to all the beautiful places to visit in Prague. Which is clean, welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. This is the place for you. Our special thanks to Stephan on reception. for being so very helpful to us particularly on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrettaJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I have used this hotel three times in the last twelve months, with an excellent experience every time. Excellent situation, with good transport links and fine views; the three different rooms I have stayed in were all very comfortable; charming garden; good Czech breakfast. The only possible downside is that the hotel would not be suitable for many with reduced mobility.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 670 in Prague
625 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 670 in Prague
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
965 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
578 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#16 of 670 in Prague
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastery

Property: Hotel Monastery
Address: Strahovske nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Prague
#33 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,154 - ₹ 13,473
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monastery 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Monastery Prague
Residence Monastery Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing