We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Hotel Monastery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monastery
Ranked #38 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for the first time. I cannot make comprehensive review here as I stayed for just one night. The hotel is located in a perfect, quiet place near to the Loreta and Prague Castle, in the Strahov Monastery area. The rooms are small and simple, very clean and equipped with everything you would need. I was very surprised with very low off-season price for the room. The staff is great, extremely kind and helpful.

The only con I could think of is an obvious lack of a parking, or rather too expensive parking space at the hotel yard. But it is possible to leave your car in Parlerova street over night for free, some two hundred meters from the hotel.


I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Prague.

Room Tip: I stayed in room nr. 21 which is deluxe room with great view both on the monastery and the Old Town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Premysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    110
    12
    1
    12
See reviews for
89
231
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Residence Monastery and we are already missing the place. This hotel has so much charm, character, stunning views of Prague, and a really informal atmosphere, right next door to the beautiful Strahov Monastery. It is small, only 12 rooms, but that is so much better than staying at one of the generic 'chain' hotels. The staff (only saw three members of staff all weekend!) were so helpful, friendly and offered a great standard of service - Stepan was excellent. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and really good quality. I know a lot has been said of the hill but to be honest it is fine unless you have mobility problems, only 15 minutes walk down to the City Centre, so a little longer back but there are so many shops and cafes on the way you can take your time and soak up the charm of the little streets that wind through the Lesser Town. We are so glad we stayed here, to wake up and look over the city from the hotel was stunning and well worth any walk! It was exceptional value for money. Go now.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandNia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hi, having just recently returned from our stay at the Residence. my partner and I felt compelled to write and recommend this hotel. if you are looking for somewhere beautiful, quiet,and within walking distance to all the beautiful places to visit in Prague. Which is clean, welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. This is the place for you. Our special thanks to Stephan on reception. for being so very helpful to us particularly on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrettaJ461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I have used this hotel three times in the last twelve months, with an excellent experience every time. Excellent situation, with good transport links and fine views; the three different rooms I have stayed in were all very comfortable; charming garden; good Czech breakfast. The only possible downside is that the hotel would not be suitable for many with reduced mobility.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

As previous posting. our rooms bore no resemblance to the photos on the website. We had 2 rooms on the top floor in the attic. Very small and dark They were double rooms on 2 levels the floor space on the ground floor wasn't big enough for 4 people to stand at the same time. The Staff were very helpful. Changed 1 room to a conventional room but still small with just enough space to walk around the bed but less claustrophobic. There was a problem with the underfloor heating themostat. You couldn't stand on the hot floor without shoes, so it had to be turned off completly, bit chilly if you were there in Winter. Very little storage, the rail in the robe was so high I couldn't reach to hang any clothes and apart from bedside tables no draws so clothes stayed in the suitcase.
Having said that the hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the city, Breakfast can be taken in the small breackfast room or in the garden. Only a short walk from the tram stop. We prefered to walk down into the city and take the tram back up and as said the reception staff were helpful. We took a taxi back to the airport but I think it would have been very simple to take the tram system.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krow1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 649 in Prague
638 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
260 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#45 of 649 in Prague
778 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
602 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 649 in Prague
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastery

Property: Hotel Monastery
Address: Strahovske nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,349 - ₹ 13,404
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monastery 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Monastery Prague
Residence Monastery Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing