We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel for exploring Prague, but…..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Merrion Hotel
Ranked #379 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for exploring Prague, but…..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in the mid of July. This small hotel has a nice, warm and luxury atmosphere. It’s situated in a quiet living area of Prague. From the hotel it’s only 15 minutes by bus (number 133, 24 Czech Koruna / 1 Euro for a one way ticket) from the very touristy city centre. They offer guarded parking which is a big plus when you arrive by car.

Staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us a room on the third floor at the backside of the hotel. The room was quite large and had a good styling. The bathroom had all the comfort you can whish. But, we booked this hotel because they have air-conditioned rooms. When we first came in the room it was very warm and air conditioning was off. There was no way to put it on. When we asked at the reception they gave us the remote control of the air-conditioning. We never experienced this before. This remote control should always be in the room, and not only after asking for.

Breakfast was served in their winter garden at the back side of the hotel. It’s not a very special breakfast but it’s more than enough for a small hotel like this. The hotel offers free WIFI in the lobby which was a big plus for us.

We had some problems with the payment when we left. We booked our room for 70,00 Euro per night (breakfast included) using their own website. When we checked out the girl at the reception didn’t allow us to pay by creditcard in Euros, even when we booked and guaranteed our room in Euros. She said we had to pay in Czech Koruna, which made our stay about 6% more expensive. After a lot of discussion suddenly she came up with an other creditcard machine which accepted Euros. We didn’t like this at all. It felt like an attempt to earn some extra money.

Because of the problems with the remote control of the air-conditioning and the payment we give this hotel only 4 stars, otherwise we would have rated it with 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    48
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights. The hotel was tastefully decorated in a modern fashion and one can't complain housekeeping doesn't do its job. The entire hotel is spotless! The rooms are spacious with high ceilings and airconditioning.
The bathroom is the best part of the hotel room - really modern with high-end details. The rooms have a minibar and personal safe. There is wifi in the hotel lobby, otherwise you can borrow an ethernet cable cord to your room. The hotel is smoke-free; probably not that common in Prague where you're allowed to smoke almost everywhere.

Breakfast is served in the winter garden and has a wide selection to choose from. The staff is helpful and speak English. As the location of the hotel is a little outside the city center, the hotel is quiet. It's easy to get into the city center. It takes about 10-15 minutes by bus (number 133) and costs 18 CZK (less than 1 euro). There are also a number of restaurants in the vincinity.

The only negative thing about the hotel is that the mattresses are a little on the harder side, but you get used to it.

If you appreciate a design hotel for a good price in a quiet location, this is definitely the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

as our reservation was sold we had a suite appartment ! excellent and confortable !
very good quality of room ann services, great breakfast. 15' buy bus (133) to the center of Prague but it was very good for sleep in this very quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greg_nski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2011 and i couldn't fault it. I would echo the other comments about hard beds but thats how i like them so no complaints from me.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again becuase of its location and services provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yinnypearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

This is wonderful place! We loved it.Very clean and the bathroom.!!..Just 10 minutes far from the citycenter with bus.
Very good staff, and good breakfast...

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VikiHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Voyage
Hotel Voyage
#327 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Don Giovanni
Hotel Don Giovanni
#169 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#212 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Herrmes
Herrmes
#221 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#167 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
987 Design Prague Hotel
987 Design Prague Hotel
#164 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Merrion Hotel

Property: Design Merrion Hotel
Address: Jeseniova 1184/49, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,316 - ₹ 6,855
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Design Merrion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design Merrion hotel is a brand new barrier-free business and leisure property located in a green residential area of city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Design Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Merrion Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing