We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Ranked #126 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
wishaw
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Room was a bit small and dark but was fine for a base. Furniture a bit too dark for size of the room but think they are looking for the Gothic theme. Very clean and bed was comfortable although pillows were a bit lumpy. Mini bar available but only used to keep beer cool which we bought from local shop. Only two "English" teabags which weren't replaced, The rest were herbal and no coffee or milk and but nice lady on reception made me a mug of tea which was very welcome. Take your own if you like a drink in your room. No jacuzzi bath in our room only a spa shower which was great. Breakfast was fine. Typical continental but plenty to choose from. Breakfast room seemed a bit chaotic, again too much furniture. Hotel is non smoking but a pretty little courtyard was available, Staff were most helpful and always friendly; can't praise them enough. Tram stop across the road which takes about 10 minutes into the main city. Cheap and frequent. A few small local shops and a Lidl across the road for supplies. I would stay at this hotel again. Prague is a beautiful city and we probably missed a lot of the sights due to time constrictions. Weather was 29 degrees for our entire 4 days. I would ask for a room facing the railway line. While it may be noisier I think it would be brighter. Our room faced the courtyard wall so not a lot of light.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    252
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
126
426
53
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I hate to give a poor review and should have filled in the questionnaire to give the hotel an opportunity to respond and realise I didn't. However, I believe a hotel should not call itself a 'boutique hotel' unless it can live up to that as it causes confusion. This was not a 'boutique hotel'.
Very clean but the Decor was generally a bit run down (I suppose you get what you pay for to be fair). However, the jacuzzi didnt work, the toilet was not secure to the floor & the bed squeaked. The breakfast was also not very exciting ie., not fresh fruit but tinned fruit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DARINABEESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear DARINABEESLEY,

First of all, let me thank you for sharing your experience with us and users of tripadvisor.com. We of course deeply regret that we didn’t meet your expectations. Regarding Jacuzzi, you haven’t pay for this service as you had Standard room. We provide Jacuzzi only in some Superior rooms for the additional cost. It is a pity, that you did not mention it on the reception during your stay this service could be easily provided.

Please accept my apologies about toilet and bed. We checked every room today and of course, yours was fixed. We again highly regret, that you didn’t mention the issue during your stay. We are working hard to provide our guests with as good service as possible and are happy to fulfill each need or remark.

Considering the fresh fruit, it is very strange to hear as we mostly offer fresh apples, oranges or mandarins, bananas or kiwis, sometimes melons or fruit salad. In addition, there is a tinned fruit salad as you already described. Nevertheless, I would be grateful, if you can write me to es@kingcharles.cz some recommendations about breakfast menu and services so we can improve ourselves.

Dear DARINABEESLEY, we are looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager & King Charles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the King Charles for 8 nights in April. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. Any problems that came up were corrected quickly. This is a "boutique" hotel, not a Four Seasons. It was spacious and comfortable, but not luxurious. The breakfast was excellent with lots of selection; fruit, vegetables, as well as standard breakfast fare, both hot and cold. The staff helped us with directions and recommendations of restaurants in the vicinity, all of which were very satisfactory. We left a couple of comments that might have made the room more comfortable, including having a chair in the room and installing an ice machine in the lobby. The one time we asked the receptionist for ice, she did offer to go down to the kitchen and bring us some ice, but it seems that this would be a fairly inexpensive addition to their offering.
All in all, a great experience and a place we would return to without question.

By the way, if you stay there, make it a point to go up to the castle above the hotel at your first opportunity. It is gorgeous and you see the whole city including long range views of Prague Castle. For various reasons, we didn't get up to the castle until the end of our stay and we regretted it. We would have walked up there every morning had we known how beautiful the setting and the views were. Also, there were several very nice eating establishments up on the streets going to the castle. Try them out!

Room Tip: We took the "Superior" room. We didn't really see the "standard" room but im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrysbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very friendly staff, a very nice welcome drink, the bed and the mattress were very comfortable, very clean rooms. We had a tasty buffet breakfast. Lidl supermarket and tram station near of the hotel. It is near Vysehrad castle (which is a must to visit). Very good quality/price ratio.

The less pleasant things: the Jacuzzi didn't work, the hot water is enough just for one bath. For a second bath you must wait over 1/2h because the heating system uses an electrical boiler.

Room Tip: In the rooms with Jacuzzi verify if it works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ochiul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Loved the interiors which was carefully thought of as the name ' King Charles' suggested Felt as if I was living the past times especially when Vysrard castle was just behind the hotel residence If you love history coming out of the hotel and into Castle Vyserard grounds up the hill was unbelievable The hotel had good breakfast and so friendly and helpful staff who spoke good english Stayed four nights there recently in the first week of April and would stay there again If you want commercialisation and all that touristy thing in the city a short tram ride out in 10 mins will get you there
Prague and its history and culture needs at least 5nights
King Charles is very convenient and affordable Love the queit aspect of it but I think management forgot a door closer for the fourth floor as it does have quite a bang when guests close the door by the lift

Room Tip: you have a choice of dark furniture or white furniture I prefered white furniture and a good view T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King_Charles_Prague, Public Relations Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear SydneyMarianne,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your time in Prague with our hotel. Thank you for your advice regarding doors near the elevator. I have already passed your impressions to our maintenance man. Therefore, I'm glad to inform that we have already fixed it.

Once again, thank you very much that you share you nice impressions with us. We are happy
that you appreciated our hotel style and its interior. We hope you liked your white honeymoon
room which is one of the best in our hotel. Thank you also for your words about location and
about the castle Vysehrad which is close to our hotel. It is really nice place to visit and we are
happy that you found the time for it and enjoyed it as well.

Dear SydneyMarianne, we will wait for your coming next time and will meet you with pleasure! Hope that a long way from Australia will not scare you to come back to
Europe!

Best regards,
Aigerim Dodesheva
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#181 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#130 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#87 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#85 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#212 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Property: King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Address: Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Prague
#53 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,030 - ₹ 22,197
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Boutique Prague
King Charles Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing