We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Nearby Hotels
US$ 236
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 308
US$ 194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 102
US$ 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 138
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Smetana Hotel(Prague)
US$ 246
US$ 217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 286
US$ 205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 253
US$ 217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 1,036
US$ 791
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 9,139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
784
396
109
34
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
396
109
34
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfamily owned hotelquiet squarecomplimentary winejewish quarterexcellent locationfree tea and coffeewithin walking distancethe hotel managerrecommend hotelair conditioningcharming hotelsmall hotelthe main squareincluded breakfastreception areafew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 11 nights and we were more than happy with our accommodation. It is true, the beds are on the hard side - this is because the mattresses are extremely thin and you can actually feel the wooden planks underneath you. However, we weren't really bothered with this. The advantages of this charming hotel outweigh its disadvantages. The hotel is situated a few minutes away from the old town square, the tram, the metro and also major shopping areas. It is also a few minutes away from the jewish quarter. The staff at the reception were very friendly and went out of their way to help us out even when we wanted to plan a day trip outside of prague. They have free tea and coffee facilities in the reception area and they also have a very cosy restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner. Breakfast consists of a selection of bread, cheese and various types of ham, different types of jam, scrambled eggs, sausages and cereal. They normally also have a very small selection of deserts as well as fruit, tea/coffee or juices.

We ate twice in the hotel restaurant, once for lunch and once for dinner, and we weren't disappointed. The food is great especially the meat. It was cooked to our liking and the food was reasonably priced.

Based on the reviews I had read, we asked for a non-smoking room and I can assure you that the room that we were given did not smell of cigarettes. However, the rooms definitely need to be cleaned properly more often. The rooms have fitted carpets and are basically dust collectors. This causes huge breathing problems for people like me and my partner who suffer from asthma. Having said this, we still had a wonderful stay at this hotel and it was part of the reason why we enjoyed our vacation in prague so much.

Wifi is available free of charage in all rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gudida82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This was our 5th trip to Prague and this is the best hotel we have stayed in. From the moment we stepped through the doors we felt at home- Registration was quick and efficient and within 5 mins we were settling down in our room. One nice touch is the free tea/coffee facility in reception which is available 24 hours a day. The attached bar/restaurant offers a selection of beers and food at very reasonable prices. The location is ideal just a few minutes walk from the old square. There is an abundance of bars and eateries around the hotel. Well worth a visit, we will return and recommend to friends. Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Booked a visit to Prague in December 2011 and stayed at the Hotel Hastal. It's not on the bus route and isn't near the metro but Prague is so compact and beautiful that this really isn't an issue, walking through the narrow cobbled streets is lovely.
The Hotel is such a surprise, almost perfect. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and of course they speak brilliant English. The whole feel of the hotel is family friendly and guests are immediately made to feel at home. We had a room on the 6th floor which had everything we needed plus great views across the rooftops of the city. It was the quietest hotel room I've ever slept in.
Breakfast was good although you had to be a little swift to get a good choice of everything. Not the hotel but other guests being a bit greedy. Coffee in reception on tap all day long too which was so good and I've never seen that before in any other hotel.

Location again was excellent. We travelled from the airport which was a breeze. Jumped on the 119 bus outside terminal 1 which took us to Dejvicka. Got the Metro from there to Staromestska then walked for 5 or 10 minutes through to the hotel. Easy. Cheap too as a single one way ticket for 90 minutes was just 32czk, round about £1.20.

Prague is a beautiful city with so much to see and do but the delightful Hotel Hastal felt like our own private relaxing oasis just outside the hustle and bustle of the Old Town. It was brilliant and we would definitely book there again on future trips. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWalking-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights & had a great time. We were on the top floor so had to walk up a flight of stairs as the lift only went to the 5th floor, but it was not really a problem. The room was large with all the conveniences one needs, including free wi-fi. Breakfast was adequate and the restaurant meals were very good & excellent value. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all amenities including Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square, great restaurants and shopping. We greatly enjoyed the fun of St Nicholas's eve in Old Town Square, the atmosphere was terrific. We arranged transport from/to the airport with the hotel, the service was excellent. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here in Nov. It is only a 10 minute walk from the train station and only 5 minutes from the old town square. We were greeted by Thomas and given an upgraded room. It was very spacious and clean.We were right above their excellent restaurant and overlooked a small square. The breakfast was ok with plenty of choices. The walls are a bit thin. The first time the people next to us took a shower, I thought they were in our shower. But we were lucky because that was the only time we heard them. We had an excellent time and Thomas at the desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columbusJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews