We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #137 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked this hotel because of the previous reviews.
Stayed for 4 nights. Average temp was 24-27C..absolutely brill.....
We took the pre-booked shuttle which was on time.

(If u had time and wanted to take a cheaper mode of transport from airport to the hotel, then take bus 119 and then u can get the metro to hotel.)

Dont change money at the airport, ....the hotel also changes money but the rate was worse than airport.
I changed at the bank CSOB in the town centre rate was excellent and no commission.

The hotel doesnt look like the photos maybe an older version.
When we arrived I walked into the casino next door by mistake couldnt tell where the hotel entrance was.lol

We were given a room on the 6th floor, all hotel guests are on the 6th floor. (elevator only goes to the 6th floor) ......All room numbers on this floor was in the 700s.
The hotel was clean and the receptionist was polite.
Check in was easy.
Keycard entry for the rooms and to use the elevator.

The room was big, two single beds with clean sheets.
The bed was comfortable.
There was an LCD TV with most channels not in English..... the usual 2 english news channels were CNN AND BBC.
A frigde with a full minibar was available.
Cups and a kettle were provided but NO tea or coffee, this could be purchased at reception for 5 CZK and milk and sugar for 2 CZK.

Room had a safe and the free wifi was great.

The bathroom was big with a shower just like in the pictures.
It appeared clean but there was mold on the plastic bits....I hate mold in the shower!!!!
The shower was powerful but the shower holder on the wall wasnt holding the shower head securely and it kept falling off the wall while showering.
There was a small bar of soap and some sachets of shampoo/body wash which was replaced on 2 of the 4 days only. Not sure why it wasnt replaced everyday? maybe because she saw that we brought our own.
On the last day when the room was cleaned the cleaner left a wet towel on the floor of the shower and the hand towels we got was torn...very odd.
Saying that the towel that were left on the previous days was clean and smelt good.

We had a balcony with views of the bus station but we could see the St Peter/Paul church in the distance.
This was a great balcony as it didnt face the sun so we could sit outside in the afternoons without sun in our faces......we were in room 731.

The hotel was non smoking but we got a constant smell of smoke in the corridors.

Breakfast started from 7-10am. Large breakfast room. There were a couple of birds in a cage which added to the atmosphere of the restaurant.
We were really excited to go for breakfast from the previous reviews but I was slightly disappointed.
Having said that the breakfast was ok for me, scrambled eggs and fried eggs available.
There were cereals and cheese,ham and yogourt.
The fruits included oranges and apples............. and they very old and bruised.
The cucumbers and tomatoes were not fresh at all except on the 3rd morning....
There was machine juices and coffee which was ok.
There was also what looked like meatballs but I didnt try that.

The metro entrance was literally outside the hotel lol.
Which was a good thing.
We got all day travel cards(CZK 110) but I recon if you plan your journeys well...... u can just get away with two 24CZK tickets each.

There is a big mall, Nový Smíchov 100m from the hotel. As u exit the hotel turn left and u can see it at the end of the street.
There is a food court at the top floor, good food.
Also a Big Tesco supermarket.

Even though the hotel is located close to the bus station, we could hear cars at night but it wasnt that loud and it didnt affect our sleep.......
I was worried about the hotel as it didnt look safe at night but we had no problems.
There was police visible constantly.....which made me feel safe.

We didnt have dinner at the hotel.
But try Restaurant Zlaty Klas, opposite the Ibis. Good food.

All in all.......I had a good holiday and I slept well.....sure the alcohol before bed helped lol.......only a few issues we had with this hotel........
For the price we paid I would say this hotel is a little better than average.

So if u looking for a basic budget clean hotel in a quiet but centrally located hotel this is it for u.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    211
    57
    13
    3
See reviews for
73
190
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel was not terrible, very standard bed and breakfast type. But reading the great reviews I expected much better impression. First I was offered very small room with two separate beds along different walls. It was much worse room than the ones on the photos in booking sites. After my return to reception they found one bigger standard room with 2 beds placed together.

Breakfast is very poor with almost no variety of warm food - sausage and cold omelette. No desserts except dry bisquite.

Location is good, entrance to metro is meters from hotel entrance. But surroundings and window view are bus station and dark non-residential area and it looked quite gloomy. To be fair - just 200 m around the corner (by the other entrance to Andel metro) the picture is completely different - many restaurants and big shopping mall.

Some of staff members were friendly, some - not so much

In net - next time I will try something else

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Based on the earlier good reviews and the price we chose this hotel. The hotel is close to the city center by public transport. The stairs to the underground is right in front of the entrance door. I advice to choose the tram instead because you can see more and it is almost as fast as the underground. By underground the Wenceslas Square is only 3-4 stops from the hotel so it is really close. If you arrive by underground then follow the signs to the bus station direction and go up. Then turn right and choose the stairs on your right. Then you are directly at the hotel.

All rooms are on the 7th floor. We had a great view from our room to the direction of the bus station and the city center. Our room was quite big and comfortable. Also the bathroom was big and well equipped. For some people the noise can be disturbing which comes from the streets, but for us it wasn't a problem at all.

The breakfast is served on the ground floor and it is very good. Plenty of selection, also warm food, like scrambled egg, boiled egg, frankfurter, bacon...etc. It is perfect for starting the day.

We could check in earlier and the staff were always helpful.

Sure this is no a luxury place, if you are looking for a 5 star service than this is not a hotel for you, but if you are looking for a fairly cheap, clean hotel, close to the city center than don't hesitate.

Room Tip: I guess rooms on the bus station side our noisier, but it was good for us. On the other side there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olci83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel was good:

good location
helpful staff
spoke english
breakfast was good.

room was huge, had a lovely balcony, looked out over the bus station and the surrounding area

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Decent hotel in a good location.
Staff speaks some foreign languages so convienient for western tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RusselJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#85 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Praha 8
B&B Hotel Prague City
B&B Hotel Prague City
#139 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#135 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#173 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Property: Akcent
Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#108 Family Hotel in Prague
#115 Business Hotel in Prague
#187 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,042 - ₹ 11,036
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing