We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY there if you are....demanding guest”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #83 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Really unique hotel just in the very heart of Prague. 5 mins walk from famous Charles Bridge. With some rooms with view over Vltava River and Hradcany Castle. Mr Mozart used to stay in that buiding. Some rooms beautifully decorated with wall paintings and frescs on celings (eg room 102). If you are looking for something very romantic and elegant - go there. Actually hotel consists of 2 parts. The palace one inside with more decorative rooms but no castle / river view and outside part with entrance from the street - spacious rooms with magnificent view over Prague. Nice inside courtyard with some sculptures when you can relax.
The staff is very correct and accurate. If you ask they will follow your request. However wish to have a more smile and warm from them !!!. That would be great enough to have an excellent opinion about Pachtuv Palace.
Restaurant Amade - according to me is not corresponding in style to the rest of hotel and should be renowated into 'palace' restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms beautifully decorated with wall paintings and frescs on celings (eg room 102). If you are...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radoslaw C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Smetana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Beautiful hotel, but pricey. Stayed in the Pachtuv Palace on Friday until Sunday. All the suites are spacious and very well finished. Plenty of space, small kitchen area with coffee machine, tea, fridge sink and hot plate. Perfect if you are travelling with the family. Very quiet hotel with 2 lovely inner courtyards. Friendly staff. But for the price sure you can also find somewhere of similar quality if you do not need a large space. My room consisted of entrance, large lounge area and bedroom. Breakfast was expected standard as was the food in the restaurant. Super location for exploring this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is great if you're traveling with kids - everyone can have their own room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I'm giving it 3 stars because of a few problems we had, possiblly because it seemed very recently renovated: we stayed in in room 311 and the bathtub water ran a little brown. The bedding, although adequate, didn't seem high standard, but more of what you'd expect from a budget hotel. Also, senior citizens and families with strollers beware: there are many stairs.
Otherwise, the rooms were gorgeous, and we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitaiwase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great service. Small hotel with big aspirations that deliver. Military organisation and attention to detail. One of best organised front desks I've seen. Room was big, well decorated and all the amenities. Restaurant food and service also very good. Some rooms have no air conditioning. Third time we have used Mamaison group in 3 different cities and we have enjoyed every time.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Wootton_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to take the opportunity of thanking you for having chosen the MaMaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.

I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed, and I was proud to read the notes you left about our staff. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.
Regarding the air-condition I would like to inform you that we have it in all the rooms. I am wondering what made you think we didn’t? Thank you for this information.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our other Mamaison Hotels!
Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our 1st wedding anniversary - and we enjoyed everything about this hotel. The location is superb- short walk to Old Town Sqare, Chales Bridge, many restaurants and bars around.The room was spacious, with 2 bathrooms and a large living rooms (with a view of Charles Bridge right in front of the window), the coffe machine worked fine and the coffe capsules were replaced daily. The room service (laudnry) was super-fast. We didnt try the on-site restaurant for food, but had a couple of drinks at the bar - and enjoyed it as well. We had a great weekend in Prague, and largely thanks to Pachtuv Palace!

Room Tip: Rooms "with a view" have a beatuful view of Karluv Most
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eastsider4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
1,145 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#40 of 647 in Prague
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Smetanovo nabr. 20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#73 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 14,214 - ₹ 42,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing