We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #62 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Blumenau, SC
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The best hotel I have ever stayed by far.
Location couldn't be better. Just 50m from the most legendary and turistic place in Prague: The Karlos bridge.
Reception service was amazing. Young and very friendly staff were always ready to help us with anything.

Congratulations!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the entrance of the bridge are amazing, but are a little more noisy (really... don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelSequeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you very much for your nice feedback about our hotel! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us. Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    110
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
50
276
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband & i stayed in this lovely design hotel this July.This was our first visit to Prague,we were collected from the train Station by Milan,an extremely courteous chauffer.(I would suggest to pre book this service if it is your first visit to Prague,10 euros each way).The hotel is located about 50 feet(2min) from the end of the Charles Bridge.We had booked a "good luck" room and by a stroke of luck got upgraded to a junior suite.The room was extremely clean and huge for two of us!! The beds are very comfortable.

The breakfast is served in the Bagel cafe next door.They had a decent spread & the staff was polite and extremely helpful.We missed a day's breakfast as we had an early morning bus to Munich.They were decent enough not to chrge us for the meal.
I would surely stay here again if i ever visit Prague again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for your stay in Domus Balthasar hotel during your visit of the Czech Republic and for your great comment about your experience in our hotel.
I was happy to read, that you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great taxi service from airport, check in only took 5 minutes. We had the two attic rooms which were fab, modern but with a historic twist. As it was 36 degrees outside they already had the air con on when we arrived so rooms were lovely and cool. Very quiet at night. Free wifi and a computer available. Lovely breakfast with choice of cooked or continental. Location was amazing, right at the entrance to Charles's Bridge. Prague Castle and Petrin Hill only a five minute walk. Staff were very friendly and helpful, even posted our postcards for us on the last day!! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to go back again soon.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the attic which makes it very private if you have a larger family. Beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice review. I was delighted to read that you remained very satisfied with the facilities in our rooms and with our services. I hope we can welcome you back in our hotel next time. Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My friend and I visited Prague this week for 2 nights, to see a Foo Fighters gig, and we each had a room in the Domus Balthazar. The hotel is located about 50 feet from the end of the Charles Bridge. The secure, almost anonymous, entrance leads into what is a large converted 5 storey house which has been beautifully decorated to complement its architecture. The walls are plastered white, the stairs are made of reclaimed wood and all the doors appear to be originals with lovely old brass fittings. There are two rooms to each floor; the ones we had were each huge; over 4m sq with large sash window along 2 walls presenting stunning views over the pedestrian street and bridge. A large double bed and lovely modern bathroom completed it.

The staff we met were great; friendly, pleasant and helpful. Milan, the hotel's driver, who handled airport duties and even got us to and from the concert quickly, was a delight and really helped complete the holiday by taking away what are often the most stressful parts.

Best of all, there's an awesome gourmet bagel diner next door for breakfast!

I have visited Prague twice in the past and can genuinely say that on any future visits I would not think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Large rooms at the front have amazing views. The first floor has an internet kiosk on it, so could p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vurtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for selecting Domus Balthasar during your visit to the Czech Republic and thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our location, quality and comfort of our rooms. Hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel last week this was my first visit to Prague, we were collected from the airport by Milano the very polite and helpful chauffer from the hotel, I pre booked this and the cost was very reasonable about £10 each way. The room we had was the Attic room this is the only room that has Air Conditioning which was very welcome due to the hot weather. The room was very pleasant and extremely clean, and we had everything we needed. The hotel states that there is not a lift only stairs so I knew this however to the attic we had to climb 72 stairs!! we managed but it was hard work. The breakfast is served in the Bagel Cafe next door, you are given a breakfast voucher to use. The selection was very good choice of continental or eggs, bacon. The staff very very helpful and polite, this was the same of the reception staff in the hotel they made us very welcome and were really friendly and accomodating. The situation of this hotel was perfect right in the middle of Prague close to lots of the places of interest, resteraunts, cafes, shops and a 2 min walk onto the Charles Bridge which once you cross this you are then into the Old Quarter of Prague with lots more places of interest. I would definately stay here again if ever in Prague but would ask for a room on a lower floor to avoid those stairs. In fairness also they explained that the hotel is so old I assume like a listed building they can not put in full Air Conditioning and there is simply no space available to install a lift. Great little Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Be mindful of how many stairs there are to climb. There were I think 4 floor levels and the Attic Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MONDRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you very much for posting such a detailed comment on the TripAdvisor concerning your stay in our hotel. It is always pleasure to read feedbacks from satisfied clients and please be assured that I will share your comments with entire team.
Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#67 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 649 in Prague
734 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 649 in Prague
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,727 - ₹ 11,832
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing