We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #70 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a gem of a hotel !!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

this is one of the most charming + wonderful hotels i ever stayed in. the hotel itself is a beautiful mixture of modern, tasteful design + the charm of an old building, offering the the utmost comfort in a fabulous, central location. on top of it all is the hotel staff that could not be any more friendly, warm + helpful. they made all of our wishes possible with a smile on their faces, including a super early check in! thank you !!! we stayed in a royal room on the third floor, that left nothing to desire ! can not wait to come back !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    110
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
50
277
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altdorf bei Nurnberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights, the hotel is in an excellent location, clean and beautiful. The staff were very friendly and our room was excellent and the breakfast was very good and filling. We especially enjoyed the large bath tub at the end of a long day spent walking around chilly Prague. If I were to be really picky, I would say that the shower heads needed to be more thoroughly cleaned, there was a build-up of calk on them, though this is just something tiny. The only real downsides would be first, the stairs we were on the third floor and found it a little annoying after a while we think the hotel would be so much better if it had an elevator. The second downside was the height of the doors in the rooms, some of the doors were about 5 foot high and my partner suffered from a few bumps to the head. Though all in all I found it to be a lovely little hotel and I would defiantly go back, though I would request a room on the first floor next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ItchyFeet15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, General Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for your warm words! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague with us in one of our cosy rooms.
The hotel´s building on medieval foundations is part of Prague´s historical center which is on the Unesco list. It is very hard or let´s say impossible to intervene into the house construction as much as the elevator construction would require. Therefore we do our best to help our guests with luggages when needed or change the room /on a lower floor/ when possible. Some of our guests are joking about top floors and good exercise after a czech duck and dumplings they´ve just ate :)
What we are ashamed of is the shower. We know this problem appears time to time and are very sorry it met you before we found it and cleaned it better. Anyway we hope these things didn´t disappoint you too much and it will be our very pleasure to welcome you at Hidden Places next time to prove we do care and want our guests to feel comfy as home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in the roof-top apartment for a long weekend city-trip. For the purpose of our stay, it was just perfect. Clean and cosy, located in the middle of old Prague near the Charles bridge, we could not come up with further wishes.
Bathroom full equipped, breakfast luxurious and friendly, wifi available. We would cordially advise the booking with Domus Balthazar!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in January 2012 and had a fantastic stay. Location was perfect to stroll around Prague without needing public transport. Room was lovely with great bath and the breakfast in the bagel bar adjoining was fun and quirky. Would thoroughly recommend to all!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonlon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went as an adult family group for a birthday celebration. The hotel was picked for being small, minimalist classy and perfectly situated. Indeed it was.

We took the car from the airport option as the location is not easy from the conventional airport transits, and it was not so expensive when the car is full. Direct to the door, bags in the rooms (thankfully; see later) and very efficient.

The hotel is literally at the end of the Charles Bridge, castle side, so EVERYWHERE is an easy walk. Lots of restaurants of all types in walking distance and in fact for four days all we did was walk. Christmas market was good (but not as good as Nuremberg) and everyone is friendly. Prague however, like any capital city, is not a cheap place in the centre.

The hotel? Very good. There is a microscopic reception on the ground floor, then 4 floors of beautifully clean modern elegant rooms/suites. 2 on each floor. We were on the top floor which has the advantage of being quiet (though that was not an issue in early December) but two snags.

Firstly it is a long long way up four floors worth of stairs; no lift.( The building is in UNESCO Heritage area) and secondly when you get there headroom is limited. I am 6ft 2in and I had to duck under the beams and could not stand up at all in the bathroom. Unless you are under 6ft get a room on the other floors. Rooms however are generously big and beds are great.

That said, there is no criticism of the place at all. Charming people, spotless, great location. Very efficient and friendly.

Breakfast incidentally, is included and is taken in the adjoining cafe/bar. Rather cramped, limited range but clean and good quality. You access the bar via a door near reception so no external walk required.

All in all, very good

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor unless you are both fit and under six foot tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#82 of 649 in Prague
340 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#76 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#35 of 649 in Prague
642 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,199 - ₹ 12,095
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing