We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
362
116
6
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
116
6
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomno elevatorbagel shopcharles bridgeperfect locationadjoining cafemala stranaold townfirst floorflights of stairstop floorprague castlebreakfast is servedseparate showerhigh ceilingshistorical buildinghuge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in the roof-top apartment for a long weekend city-trip. For the purpose of our stay, it was just perfect. Clean and cosy, located in the middle of old Prague near the Charles bridge, we could not come up with further wishes.
Bathroom full equipped, breakfast luxurious and friendly, wifi available. We would cordially advise the booking with Domus Balthazar!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear, Wim

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in January 2012 and had a fantastic stay. Location was perfect to stroll around Prague without needing public transport. Room was lovely with great bath and the breakfast in the bagel bar adjoining was fun and quirky. Would thoroughly recommend to all!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonlon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear, Jonlon

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went as an adult family group for a birthday celebration. The hotel was picked for being small, minimalist classy and perfectly situated. Indeed it was.

We took the car from the airport option as the location is not easy from the conventional airport transits, and it was not so expensive when the car is full. Direct to the door, bags in the rooms (thankfully; see later) and very efficient.

The hotel is literally at the end of the Charles Bridge, castle side, so EVERYWHERE is an easy walk. Lots of restaurants of all types in walking distance and in fact for four days all we did was walk. Christmas market was good (but not as good as Nuremberg) and everyone is friendly. Prague however, like any capital city, is not a cheap place in the centre.

The hotel? Very good. There is a microscopic reception on the ground floor, then 4 floors of beautifully clean modern elegant rooms/suites. 2 on each floor. We were on the top floor which has the advantage of being quiet (though that was not an issue in early December) but two snags.

Firstly it is a long long way up four floors worth of stairs; no lift.( The building is in UNESCO Heritage area) and secondly when you get there headroom is limited. I am 6ft 2in and I had to duck under the beams and could not stand up at all in the bathroom. Unless you are under 6ft get a room on the other floors. Rooms however are generously big and beds are great.

That said, there is no criticism of the place at all. Charming people, spotless, great location. Very efficient and friendly.

Breakfast incidentally, is included and is taken in the adjoining cafe/bar. Rather cramped, limited range but clean and good quality. You access the bar via a door near reception so no external walk required.

All in all, very good

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor unless you are both fit and under six foot tall
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear, Bbrt

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This lovely hotel was perfect spot for my friend and I to stay at on our first trip to Prague. We had a single room each and they were both large, quiet and had the best bathroom (heated floor and huge bath). The hotel was cosy and in a very old building. It felt like we were in another time stepping out onto the cobbled street and the bustle of Charles Bridge. Staff were helpful and friendly and made bookings for us for various things. Would return and stay anytime and highly recommend it.
Don't forget to use their very friendly transport driver Milan. It was great to be met at the airport and Milan's prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear, Adelaine

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We picked the hotel for the design style and location and we let down by the first. The service was ok, location realy lovely, but it left us overall somehow very dissapointed. Never mind next time there is more research to be done in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusDD, General Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Hmm. Too bad. We are really sorry for not meeting the expectations to the extent of disappointment causing even low sleep quality.
However, it is quite hard to respond. Or find out the moral how to be better next time.“No real design” might mean a presence of entirely amorphous shapes or absence of “big names”, more glass, more controversy and maybe some weird hairy thing on top. Is unique design in unique historical architecture really “design”? Hard to say. But I have read Don Thomson´s bestselling book The $12 Million Stuffed Shark and I think I´ve got the point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews