We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel located few tram stops from the historical centre of Prague” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #178 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel located few tram stops from the historical centre of Prague”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just returned from a five day holidays in Prague, where I stayed at Hotel Carlton, a 4 Star Hotel (in fact no more than 3), located in Zizkov are, working class neighbour of Greater Prague, Prague 3.

This hotel although not located in central Prague is still only more or less 4 tram stops from central Prague (line 9 tram). The only catch with this is that if you plan to enjoy the night-life of Prague, you will have to deal with the cowboys of the private taxis, when you decide to go back to the hotel. Only recommend AAA cabs.

The hotel service in general was O.K. All receptionist spoke English, and particularly a receptionist called Lenka was very helpful, and always with a smile on her face. She recommend me several clubs as I and my friend wanted to go clubbing.

With regard to the room in itself, I only have two complaints: one is that the shower does not have curtains (so it becomes a mess), and that during the last two days, our room was not cleaned, and somehow the bed sheets disappeared during the last two days of our stay.

The breakfast was included in booking price it is normal, nothing to complain about it. In the main high street next to the hotel there is a good Czech restaurant, I strongly recommend it : Lavicka.

In conclusion, an average hotel, maybe a bit far off the centre in a not so nice area (but still safe), with a particular good and helpful female receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    168
    39
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
158
40
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

It was absolutely great. First of all, all the conditions were great, we had big rooms, comfortable beds, it was a few tram stops from the central city, nothing to complain about.
The breakfast was nice, varied, good things for every taste, and the baths were nice as well.

What makes it best is that it is about half the price you would find any other hotel in prague with these facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casual_Traveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We went here because of the great reviews here on TripAdvisor, and because of the very good price. We only paid €290 for 7 nights (booked through their own website).

First of all, as others have mentioned, the hotel is not in the center of Prague. This is not a problem at all, since there's a tram station very near the hotel, and it only takes a couple of minutes to reach the center.

The hotel is nicely decorated and feels very well maintained. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They also spoke very good English.

Our room on the third floor was large, clean and comfortable. We had two large separate beds which could be easily combined into one. The air conditioning worked great.

The rooms are equipped with free internet access through a cable. The cable provided is too short to cover the entire room, so you may want to bring your own. There's also free WiFi in the lobby.

The breakfast was very good. Lot's of different food to choose from and great quality overall.

We can also highly recommend getting a massage at the hotel. Very good prices and highly skilled masseuses. They do however struggle a lot with the English language, so you may want to go to the reception with them to get some interpretation.

There's a supermarket just across the street with great prices on everything.

Just a couple of small negative things:

The area surrounding the hotel is not very nice. Quite deteriorated and dirty with graffiti etc. We never felt unsafe while walking there however, not even at nights.

The tram passes by just outside the hotel quite frequently, and could be a problem at nights if you have a room facing the street (like we had). We heard it from our room, but it did not affect our sleep quality at all.

The shower in our room wasn't very good. First of all, there was no shower curtain, so you always had a fair amount of water on the floor after each shower. The water pressure was also quite poor, and the water temperature kept changing sporadically.

Other than that, we can highly recommend this hotel. You are unlikely to find a hotel with better value for your money in Prague.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

First location: A few meters from tram stop. From main train station is two stops. Otherwise from Wenceslas Square and "Museum" metro station on the square it's 4 tram stops. From Wenceslas Square it's a short walk to the Old Town Square.
As for the hotel it was excellent. They gave us a suite (I don't know why, we paid for a normal room) and it was huge!!! Amazing room, very nicely furnished. The hotel ammenities include: hair dryer, plenty of toiletries, minibar, breakfast included, room service, and a safe box with a small extra charge. There's also free Internet in the room with cable and a computer available in the looby but there's no wifi. The bathroom has a nice tub, however there was no shower curtain and the shower head was one of those movable ones and the support was very low so it was a little bit hard to shower standing up (see picture) but with the comfort of the room it was not a big deal for me. There's also a shoe shining machine in the lobby. There's not many restaurants close to the hotel and the hotel's is only open for breakfast, but across the street there's a grocery store.
Overall, I would greatly recommend this hotel. We had a very comfortable stay, service was excellent and it was well located.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNDC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent a couple of days in Carlton in October avoiding high season crowds. The hotel is located in a so called 'Prague 3' part of the city in 2 tram stops from the main railway station (Hlavni Nadrazi) if you come by train. It takes only 5 mins to get there and easy to find, you just walk a little further from Lipanska tram station. The hotel is very clean and the stuff is friendly and helpful, the person at reception spoke english and german.
Breakfast: bacon+eggs, beans, sausages; joghurt+stuffing, fruit, coffee+tea, a choice of juices, cheese and ham, various kinds of bread, etc. = enough not to be hungry till lunch. If you'd like to stay in a 'quiet' side of hotel, choose rooms (3)01-(3)04 (rooms *05-*11 are facing a more busy street with trams). There's a hairdryer (important for girls!) and a kettle in a room, but a bottle of water for 80 Krc, also served, can be found for 7-10 Krc in a supermarket 'Albert' across the road. The only fault is a hard-to-sleep bed, really a 'wooden plate'.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessaSabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#107 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#242 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#229 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Praha 3
Courtyard Prague City
Courtyard Prague City
#102 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Prague
#120 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#139 Business Hotel in Prague
#150 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,273 - ₹ 12,043
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel, situated in the completely renovated historical building, is characteristic by its convenient position, not far from business and historical center of Prague. Hotel features 48 stylishly and comfortably furnished rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet, cosy breakfast restaurant built in the original historical basement with vaulted ceilings and a lounge providing comfort premises for venues of smaller company events and family celebrations. Parking is available on the street at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing