We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great a couple of issues though!”
Review of Sir Toby's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir Toby's Hostel
Ranked #10 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Enjoyed our stay in Prague considerably, this hostel is a very nice one with nice staff!

When booking we asked for a double room however when we got there we were given a twin room (Rudy Prabor). This room was extremely cold and we spent the first night freezing. The heating at Sir Toby's is suppoused to be eco friendly and so only comes on when there are people in the room however the temperature in the room never went up higher than 18.5 which at this time of year wasnt very nice. We told about 3 members of staff and by the next afternoon we were finally moved to another room (Morning Dew). This was a very lovely room on the top floor, this room was a lot warmer however the highest the temperature ever got was 23 and this was on the day we were leaving. I wouldnt normally complain but as it was so cold in Prague at the time it did impact our stay slightly to know that we were going back to a room that was cold and wouldnt warm up for an hour (according to one of the workers I asked).

Apart from this the hostel was lovely, staff are nice and have very good local knowledge. The bar and lounge area downstairs is lovely to chill in on an evening and a few nights we came back from a long day and played chess/draughts. The hostel and particularly the rooms are very very clean!

The other reviews are correct in saying that the hostel isnt right in the centre of Prague however its not that far either. You can get a 5 tram from the corner of the hostel straight into town it literally takes less than 10 minutes and I did not find this a hassle at all.This tram takes you straight into old town where alot of the attractions are or are walking distance from. There are a number of different trams from the corner of the hostel so anywhere you want to go is very easy!

I would definetly stay again as its very good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Sir Toby's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 317 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

The bathrooms have towel-warmers.
Sir Toby's is without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed in in Europe. Everything is on par with that of a 3-4 star hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubleknavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was there in July 2010 for a few days, just when the 2010 Germany World Cup Knock-out stages were playing. I watched the Semi's and the Finals in the pub located in the hostel's basement, and had a BLAST!

From Germans, Koreans, Australians, Irish, Americans, Canadians, French, and Spaniards, it was truly a multicultural melting pot.

Next to the bar/pub is a communal kitchen where you can cook and eat freely, which helps you if you're on a shoestring budget trip. There is at least 2 grocery shops within walking distance, which helps.

The rooms are located on the upper floors (elevator helps) with clean and comfortable beds and private washrooms. There was at least one washer and dryer in the lobby for paid use.

The hostel staff have tons of info on the city's attractions and transportation (as do pretty much all hostels I guess).

While it is slightly away from the main city centre, overall, a great place for cozy hostel experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rev217_chino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Location could be better (in district 7, but the majority of attractions are in 1-2) but there's trams nearby. Friendly staff which were very helpful with the maps, directions, tram information and gave us tips on Prague's nightlife. Beds were comfortable, but there are way too many doors to go through to get to one's actual room! My lamp was also broken. Nevertheless, it was still clean and comfortable. Computers had free and fast internet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank immerinkreuzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Great character and decor in this hostel, and really well-priced rooms. I was really surprised at the quality. Staff are all friendly, and most are extremely helpful. Breakfast at the hostel costs 5 Euro, but is actually so worth it! Amazing variety; you can even cook your own pancakes, bacon and eggs!
Location isn't the best as it is not right in the middle of Prague, however, it is really easy to catch the tram to the centre, so it didn't affect us at all.
Stayed in a 6-bed dorm, the room was huge, super clean, and had a really nice feel to it!
Computers and internet for free, and although I didn't go to any of them, there seemed to be some good hostel events on offer. Bathrooms were clean, but unfortunately the shower only seemed to be able to give about 3minutes of hot water, before going cold. The mattresses were ok, but after a 4 nights of them, my back was a bit sore.
Everything else was perfect though, and I would still highly reccomend the hostel :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyT589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 648 in Prague
2,189 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#519 of 648 in Prague
179 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#140 of 648 in Prague
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#101 of 648 in Prague
860 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 648 in Prague
1,591 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 672 in Prague
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Toby's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Toby's Hostel

Address: Delnicka 1155/24, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 1,029 - ₹ 6,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Toby's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine hostel experience with unrivaled guest service! We love Prague and want you to love it too. With almost two whole floors of common space (including a full guest kitchen, garden with guest grill, basement Pub with drinks and board games, and a cozy reading room), you're sure to make new friends at Sir Toby's. Plus, we offer a wide variety of accommodation options to fit your budget and your preference. Sir Toby's offers the kind of personal attention and service that only come with experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sir Toby's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Toby`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing