We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable and central hostel but the service needs to be improved”
Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritchie's Hostel
Ranked #174 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Best thing about the hostel was it's location. We were in walking distance to all the major sites in Prague. Their breakfast service was very filling and affordable. I found the service to be very poor however. The hostel should do better screening of the persons who they allow in the rooms with others. Also, they should ensure that they have spear keys for the lockers. If you go here and use a locker be very sure to not lose the key cause you may incur a steep cost.

Room Tip: Please be ensure that you select a room with a private bathroom, you'll have a better experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

So first of all. Both the location and the price for a night is really a 5 out of 5. But the rest. Don't know where to start. The beds are uncomfortble, there is no lock on the door to the toilet and no door to the shower. So me and some people I met did "guard" eachother when showering. One night there was also a threatful drugaddict in the stairs...

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Oskar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed in a double room with exclusive use of a bathroom down the hall. I've rated it based on price. I don't think you can expect more without paying more. The location was fantastic. It was only a couple of minutes walk to the Christmas market. The room was clean and warm and the bed didn't hurt my back. Soap and towels were provided. There was wifi in the reception area. I wouldn't stay here if you wanted a romantic trip but if you just want somewhere clean and basic to sleep then it's perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank moth4thestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The sole reason I gave this place 4 stars was because it was a good price and has a fabulous location. It's located in a great neighborhood in the heart of the city and is within walking distance to several major attractions (Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, the astronomical clock). I was able to walk to everything and only had to take the train and bus to and from the airport. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops to explore right around the hostel, too.

The place is clean, but very basic and a bit rundown. Wifi is only available within the checkin area. I was in a 12 person dorm and there was only one bedroom and shower for all of us. Good place if you want to save money and don't plan on spending much time at the hostel.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the building get a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaboKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We were 6 guys staying in a 5 person room. Very comfortable beds, neatly made when we arrived, towels and bed linen included. Private and spacious bedroom facing the street but there was no noise at all even at night though a very packed street was right outside. High ceiling. Extraordinarily high quality for hostel private rooms.

Everything spick and clean. Friendly reception and nice common areas for drinking beer. No curfew, very hassle free everything. But apart from the room the hostel common areas are pretty average. Lobby area furniture could be thrown out and cheap IKEA fare introduced, would help the design impression.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RasmusOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#138 of 648 in Prague
483 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#297 of 648 in Prague
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#90 of 677 in Prague
181 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#117 of 677 in Prague
168 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#73 of 677 in Prague
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Address: Karlova 165/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 843 - ₹ 5,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing