We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel, in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Scissors
Ranked #67 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great hotel, in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

What a gem of a hotel - our stay there was great in every way.
1. Location: Right by Charles Bridge and short walking distance to all of old Prague's wonderful sights, yet on the quiet little area of Kampa island. Hotel is located on a pedestrian-only zone with several very good restaurants and shops close by.
2. Hotel: U Zlatych Nuzek is a small intimate hotel, housed in a historical, romantic and charming building dated from 1586. There is no elevator, which for us was not an issue at all - it rather added to the charm of the building.
3. Room: spotlessly clean and keeping with historic character of the place, complete with wooden beams. However it was equipped with all modern conveniences: a never-ending supply of hot water, huge bath, shower, always-fresh towels and crisp white linen.
4. Breakfast: Hot breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and plentiful. Approaching the restaurant, the aroma of fresh-baked pastry was wonderful.
5. Service: All staff is very friendly and professional, especially Daniel. We were particularly impressed with their efficient handling of last-minute taxi reservation change due to our flight delay.

All in all, the hotel is golden indeed - recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuzky, Manager at The Golden Scissors, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the Hotel At the Golden scissors and mentioning Daniel the receptionist. I will thank him for taking such a good care of you and being as professional as he was. We are so pleased to read that you have experienced an enjoyable stay here. We hope that on your next trip to Prague you will choose our hotel again.
With kindest regards,
George Pokorný and Team of the Hotel At the Goldsen scissors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    114
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
138
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

At the Golden Scissors is an ideal location -- literally under the middle of the famous Charles Bridge, on a quiet "island" (really a small area with a canal on one side and the river on the other) called Na Kampa. This lovely little inn has a quiet, restful atmosphere while being an easy walk from the spectacular sights of Prague on either side of the bridge. The hotel's a refuge from the congested crowds of tourists in the old and new town, and you can't get lost -- just find the bridge and find your set of steps!

The rooms are charming and very clean, with hardwood floors, casement windows, blue-tiled bathrooms and Mitel-European-style low beds with fluffy comforters. The hotel faces a lovely facade of equally old pastel houses, with a courtyard-sized park between where we watched a street fair over the weekend.

The young staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast includes breads, jams, cheeses, pate and sliced meat, juice, cereals and hard boiled eggs.

The restaurant is open for dinner --- we ate there one evening at the outdoor area under heat lamps while enjoying people-watching. The citrus chicken with mashed potatoes was delicious.

Prague is so jam-packed with tourists much of the time that we were very glad we didn't opt for a hotel in one of the major squares. At the Golden Scissors, while literally steps away from everything, was an oasis of calm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I've stayed here a few times and like it because of its excellent location next to the bridge and just across the river from the main old city. It's very close to all the action, but is relatively quiet.

Just step out of the hotel and you're on the Charles Bridge in under a minute, it's pretty hard to beat that for location.

The rooms vary in size, however the ones I've stayed in were all a good, comfortable size. The rooms are well-maintained, clean and have what you need for a nice stay in Prague. You might also be lucky and get a good view, depending on your room.

My interaction with staff has always been good and the restaurant is also good.

There are other good places to eat and have a drink on Kampa Island, some with a nice view back across the river to the old city.

I'd recommend the Golden Scissors and will stay there again next time I'm in Prague.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at home
Level Contributor
396 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We really enjoyed staying here in Prague this last weekend. Daniel was exceptional with service...all the way to booking child-friendly theater for us, which we enjoyed, though we didn't understand a word of it!! The location is fantastic & the food at the hotel is excellent. Our only bad experience in Prague was the rip-off taxi from the train station...but if we had called Daniel at the hotel, he would've gotten us one at the right price.

thank you for an excellent stay in your beautiful city...if we return, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here while in Prague on business. My room was a double room overlooking the main entrance. It was very spacious with a full closet, couch, chair, bar table and double bed. The bathroom was huge with a full tub, stand up shower and his/her sinks.

The hotel staff were especially helpful in helping me navigate the city. They were extremely friendly and always greeted me with a smile and asked how my day went in the evening. The convenience of having breakfast included in the price was very helpful. Unfortunately, I didn't eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner but heard from other travelers that the food was very good.

Lastly, the best thing about this hotel is the location! You can't get any better than this...it is located on Kampa Island and just steps from the Charles Bridge. Wonderful location and I walked the entire time I was in Prague even though my meetings were in different parts of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#84 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#137 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#339 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Scissors? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Scissors

Property: The Golden Scissors
Address: Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#109 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#114 Family Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,290 - ₹ 15,701
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Scissors 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U Zlatych nuzek**** is attractive for its exclusive location on Prague's island Kampa in the lesser town area. The hotel is situated close to the Charles Bridge – you will find quiet there, although you will be right in the heart of historical city centre. Enjoy your stay in one of 10 well-equipped rooms, which have parquet, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and other amenities which will provide a pleasant stay. Each room has a bathroom with hairdryer, shower and/or bath. Don´t miss tasting the excellent Bohemian specialties, international cuisine, first-class wines and traditional Czech beer served in our stylish restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Scissors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlatych Nuzek (At The Golden Scissors) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing