We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dilapidated, a lot noisy”
Review of Hotel Salvator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Salvator
Ranked #105 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A little dilapidated, a lot noisy”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best part about this hotel was the location. Very near everything you want to do in Prague at a reasonable price. The front desk staff was very accomadating. The breakfast was also very good, although the hallway it's presented in was tight. The wi-fi worked great, too. The room was perfectly clean but a little dilapidated. The wallpaper was faded and peeling and it was very dimly lit. I can overlook all of that had it not been for the noise. The doors are hollow and the rooms are presented in an alcove, so guests enter through a common door into a hallway then to their rooms. My room was situated facing the couryard next to the stairs. Many people used the stairs - they were old and wooden. So the two primary sounds you hear are the slamming of doors and the clomping up and down the stairs. Not so restful. I'd think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the stairs. A street-facing room might be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    368
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
241
323
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here from April 9th -13th, with our daughters aged 19 and 24. We booked room 22 which was brilliant. 2 large adjoining bedrooms with loads of sitting space and storage and a lovely bath/shower room.It was chilly on the day we arrived and the heating was just what we needed-fully adjustable.Free WiFi a bonus.Coffee, milk and tea provided -you have to get more from the reception area whenever you need it-we just went there on our way back in each day for top-ups. There is a supermarket the other side of the mall which is very useful for extra drinks etc.The beds were very comfortable and the room well serviced every day.
Breakfast is served in the downstairs restaurant comprising of 4 different rooms. There is a good choice of hot food, cheeses, meats, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, rolls etc.This restaurant is used at night for hotel guests and the public. It is very popular with local people -very good food at really reasonable prices-we ate there twice (the free drinks voucher was an added bonus).There is a games room downstairs where we played pool as well as a jazz club in a cellar area.A lift services all floors and the rooms are around a central courtyard.
The hotel is located on a quiet side street just off a main square and 5 mins from the huge Palladium shopping mall-this was a hit with my daughters (and me). There is a food floor at the top and I can recommend the Japanese menu.All the main sights are within easy walking distance-the old town one way and the new the other.
Public transport is very cheap with tickets around £1 which you can use on metro and trams.
We visited the Black Theatre for about £20 each which was a brilliant evening.I also recommend the funicular up to Perrin Hill for an amazing view and the zoo was lovely-very open and spacious.We walked miles-over several bridges and all around the sights. The Easter markets were a bonus selling great food for snacks and crafts etc.
The young man who works in the travel information centre by the hotel reception is amazing-he told us so many things we would not have known and helped us plan 3 of our days.
Prague is a beautiful city and we will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 22 has 2 large adjoining bedrooms-1 bedroom faces the street but windows are double glazed so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanitaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Instow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed with family - 2 adults + 2 children in suite, 2 bedrooms - enough space, bright. Right in the centre, close to metro stops, trams,.....easy to walk to castle ...fantastic location generally. Restaurant was real surprised, we dont usually eat in hotel but this place it was perfect for us as serving nice food (spanish tapas etc.), staff was perfect, nice atmosphere and on top of it children's corner!! Would recommend it even if not staying in the hotel. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would come back. There was only one little bit - shame they did not replace coffee and tea etc...but not something what would put us off.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Both my daughter and I independently chose this hotel as it is so different from a modern hotel block. Originally owned by Argentinians but now Czech citizens it has a Spanish flavour in its decor and food. We had requested a twin bedroom but were given, we have no idea why but never queried it of course, a two bedroomed suite. Both rooms had a double and single bed, one had a toilet ensuite and there was a shared bathroom with a large vestibule so we had plenty of space. The rooms were large, one with huge windows so very bright, the other overlooking the inner courtyard where, in good weather, one could eat outside.

Breakfast was varied and plentiful and the restaurant stayed open all day to non residents - every time we returned to the hotel the restaurant was full and on the two nights we dined there, there was always a queue of would be diners waiting for a table.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming and very helpful. Next to the hotel is a tourist information office where Martin and another young man [fair haired, tall and very handsome!!]were very helpful with their advice on where to go and what to see.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Republic Square where the Municpal Hall is and where concerts and ballets are staged. The Powder Tower is right there too plus a little cluster of market stalls and two shopping malls. From there you can walk to Wenceslas Square which is actually oblong or to the Astronomical Clock or the Sat market or, much further if you feel like it. It's easier to walk than take a taxi as the streets are often one way which means the taxi has to take a long route to your destination so is rather expensive. There is, however, a taxi rank in the same street as the hotel, yellow cabs marked AAA which are the best company, have standard rates so you know you are not being overcharged or scammed as others might do.

Back to the hotel, decorated in the public areas in bright Spanish colours with Spanish pottery and tiles strongly evident, plants and flowers everywhere, very bright and cheerful. There was, however, no lounge and if you wanted a drink in the evening you would have to go downstairs to the cellar where it was advertised there was jazz playing. We didn't do this so I cannot comment on it. We were out late on all three nights so went straight to our rooms exhausted!

Thank goodness our beds were comfortable and the rooms were heated but you could open the windows if you so desired. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. There is a lift to all floors.

I would highly recommend this hotel for its good rooms, friendly atmosphere, excellent food and the fact that it is so different. I would certainly return there in the future.

Room Tip: I liked my room facing the back as it had big windows which opened, the view was nothing to talk abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianauni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This quirky hotel is close to the centre of town but in a quiet side street. An excellent location. Our room was comfortable with table and chairs and a leather sofa. There were windows on two walls so it felt light and spacious. Lots of Dali prints. A shower rather than a bath. Wifi was free within the hotel but we had to go into the corridor to get a signal.

The hotel was built around a central courtyard. There was a restaurant on the ground floor, which had a Spanish theme. Gaudi type tiles on the floor. A free drink each was offered each night. Food was good and excellent value. There was also a travel information office in the hotel. The guy there was incredibly helpful and suggested a trip out to Vysehrad. He provided us with maps and planned a route to suit us using metro.

Several reviews mention taxi rides to the airport. The journey via bus and metro is quick and easy costing about £2 each way. Tickets for the 100 bus can be bought from the kiosk opposite the arrival gate. You'll get enough change for the metro later. Ask for the yellow metro route and you'll get instructions for the right bus stop. It is just outside. This takes you to Zlicin. Then take the metro to Namesesti Republiky. The hotel is just around the corner and takes less than 5 minutes to walk.

All in all a very comfortable hotel. Right location, atmosphere and price!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Salvator Boutique Hotel
Salvator Boutique Hotel
#118 of 649 in Prague
109 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Motel One Prague
Motel One Prague
#54 of 649 in Prague
624 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#73 of 649 in Prague
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#166 of 649 in Prague
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvator? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvator

Property: Hotel Salvator
Address: Truhlarska 1114/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#123 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Business Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,911 - ₹ 10,596
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvator 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Salvator belongs amongst Prague’s Listed Historical Buildings. Therefore it represents true Prague Town life with all the historical elements.The Czech architects have kept the character of the Old Town building by setting the rooms around the inner garden courtyard with labyrinthine restaurant extending along the ground floor and Gothic cellars.Direct access on foot to all the major parts of magic Prague together with the quality services offered by the hotel create an easygoing stay for both business and leisure travellers.Hotel Salvator is located directly in the historical city centre in quiet Truhlarska Street, which leads to Namesti Republiky (Republic Square). There are important historical monuments at Namesti Republiky; the Powder Tower (Medieval Gates to Prague’s Old Town) and the Municipal House (Art Nouveau Gallery House) from the balcony of which the independence of Czechoslovakia was announced in October of 1918.With the new spirit of the developers of the 21st century Prague’s biggest shopping mall “Palladium” opened in the neighbourhood of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Salvator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvator Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing