We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel Vysehrad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vysehrad
Ranked #419 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Lincoln (the ORIGINAL one) UK
1 review
“Very nice little hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Vyserhad from 12 to 15 Feb 2007. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean and tidy the hotel was and how friendly the staff were. A request for 2 extra pillows was acted upon within minutes. The staff we came into contact with were very helpful and polite. Joe, the night manager / barman was very chatty and passed on some interesting info on where to go to eat etc. A previous reviewer complained about having to leave luggage unattended in the foyer or the small corridor behind reception, as this is hardly the Hilton with no reason to be there unless you were a guest we found this quite acceptable. The breakfasts were very substantial with items to please all tastes.
TIP: Althought the Metro is only a short walk away try walking to Vyserhad castle ( you can see the spires from the hotel - out door look right) The best views of the Vlatava river all the way up to central Prague, Charles Bridge and Prague Castle can be had from the castle walls. Then take the steps down and walk along the riverside. A leisurly stroll will take about half an hour to get you to Charles bridge.
TIP: A 3 day travel pass costs just 220 crowns (£5.50) and is valid for metro, bus, tram and the furnicular railway! A bargain
We will stay here again!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank LeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
31
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

We had stayed at this hotel for about ten years some times twice a year and had always enjoyed the Vysehrad. This occassion which as luck would have it, was for my Husband's 50th Birthday---- sorry again dear, -was dreadful!

The room we were given was on the first floor directly above reception and because of the noise from inside the hotel it was impossible to sleep. We didn't need to worry about the work men, working two doors down at the back AND the front of the hotel early every moring, including Sunday, we were awake well before they arrived usually by the staff arriving and cleaning reception etc.

We foolishly requested to move room and were refused any other move other than across the hall. Also the person who was rude, surly ,unhelpful and bad mannered enough to walk away while I was speaking to him twice and then answer the phone I was later informed was the Reception Manager! He was so rude I left a message requesting to speak to the General Manager or Owner, who I'm sure will be in touch any day now.

Our delightful new room was not only just as noisey but the maid did not clean it or make the bed, but continued to wake us up very early cleaning Reception. The chipped window sills were sharp enough to cut skin and everything was frankly grubby. As our problem were still not resolved, we at our own expence changed Hotel and had a great time!

To be fair the rest of the staff were as friendly and helpful as usual and the Resturant food and staff were excellent. However we had such a bad experience we would not return there.

Alison Smith Liverpool UK

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank LiverpoolTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2006

I have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel with my sister and a friend. Having read some of the earlier reviews on this hotel before I went I, like others before me, was seriously worried that I might have made a bad choice. Whether those earlier reviews were simply unfair or whether the hotel has changed dramatically since they were written I do not know, but what I can say, with complete confidence, is that our stay was a real pleasure for all three of us.

We all had single rooms which were reasonably sized, very clean and comfortable, and well decorated and furnished. The breakfasts were excellent (and included bacon and eggs). On the last day we had a late lunch in the hotel's own restaurant. 410kc (£10) for the set menu will buy you a decent three course meal with a glass of wine thrown in. The staff were all charming and helpful and, on our last day, we left our suitcases at reception after we had booked out and collected them later in the day.

Its location is reasonably convenient for the city centre, being a short walk from an underground station and, because it is not in the centre of town it is very quiet at night.

At the rate we paid it represented exceptional value for money and we would all three very happily stay there again.

  • Tips/Secrets — Get a three day pass for the public transport but remember that you have to validate it before your first journey.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

What a great place. Nothing fancy - as you'd expect for the star rating of this hotel. We met a wonderful porter (Jakob) who made our first wedding anniversary absolutely memorable, when he kept the bar open until the wee hours and had a snowball fight with us in the dead of night.

The food was fine, and what most surprised us was the value for money. On checking out, our bill (not including the price of the room) was around £40, which considering our bar bill and the fact that we had eaten a three course meal in the restaurant, was excellent.

A great help in our first experience of the Czech Republic.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank Geraldine_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

After booking our stay at Hotel Vysehrad we checked the tripadvisor reviews: they were mixed. We decided to write a comprehensive one on our return.

The Hotel is, unsurprisingly, located in the Vysehrad area of Prague (just south of Stare Mesto / New Town). It is extremely convenient for the ancient fortress of Vysehrad and the Church of St Peter & St Paul. We enjoyed a couple of lovely strolls around the wooded rocky outcrop on which the fortress is perched, overlooking the river Vltava.

The nearest metro station is actually 'Prazskeho Povstani", one stop south of 'Vysehrad' on the red line. It is an easy 4 minute walk from the hotel (there are simple directions posted in the lobby). 'Vysehrad' station is also within walking distance, but would take a little longer. The journey to 'Muzeum' (Wenceslas Square) took about 10 minutes.

The area is not as atmospheric as central Prague, but we felt comfortable at all times (including walking back at night).

The hotel is clean, well presented and we found the staff to be courteous. Importantly for us, it was individual and did not have the slightly impersonal feel that you get from chain hotels. It posessed some character; the communal areas were comfortable and nicely decorated, displaying some some unusual, local touches. Breakfast was good, you could choose from cereal, toast, bread, bacon, eggs, yogurt, cakes, ham, cheeses etc (a normal eastern european hotel breakfast) - and you could have as much as you wanted.

Our party of 6 people (all couples) shared 3 double rooms. Each was well furnished, with a small safe, nice furniture, simple but pleasant decoration, a good wardrobe, reading lights etc. The bathrooms had brightly coloured sinks, but were decent sized and clean. The rooms were not massive but were more than adequate - we were perfectly comfortable. None of the 3 couples sleep got disturbed on any of the 3 nights we stayed - and we were spead out across the hotel.

We booked on the internet and the price was in Euros, this was converted by the receptionist to CZK when we payed our bill. The rate was not unreasonable.

We would thoroughly reccommend this hotel to anyone stayng in Prague who wants to pay a reasonable price and doesn't mind not staying right in the middle of town. The hotel had more character than most and the excellent transport makes it a short journey into the centre.

  • Liked — That it wasn't just another chain hotel.
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk around Vysehrad as the sun is setting, it's very picturesque.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank accuracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#284 of 649 in Prague
145 reviews
Praha 4
Otar
Otar
#506 of 649 in Prague
49 reviews
Praha 4
Oya
Oya
#399 of 649 in Prague
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#209 of 649 in Prague
415 reviews
Praha 4
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#15 of 649 in Prague
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vysehrad

Property: Hotel Vysehrad
Address: Marie Cibulkove 405/29, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,552 - ₹ 6,652
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vysehrad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vysehrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vysehrad Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing