We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, close to Congress Centre”
Review of Hotel Vysehrad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vysehrad
Ranked #421 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel because my husband was attending a conference at the Congress Centre, 10 minutes walk away. Hotel was fine, furnished in older style, clean and reasonable size room, and good value for around 100 euros. Great breakfast and friendly staff, especially those who wished to practice their english. Evening meal was o.k, but not cheap and lonely as we were the only ones in the dining room. Short walk to metro, and quickly into town centre.
Best meal and great value at local restaurant, turn left out of hotel and walk straight down road on left (away from main road) to restaurant on corner. Also cheap haircuts in salon next to restaurant!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rozmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2007

Despite being a little unsure about booking this place after reading some of the reviews here, I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay, and I am SO glad I did!

We had a bit of fun finding the place in our hire car (we drove over the German border after a stint in Berlin and Dresden), but it was great to arrive. We were an hour early, and I was concerned that we might not be able to check in, but there was no problem whatsoever, we checked in, moved our car into the hotel off street secure parking area (20 euros, but well worth it for peace of mind, car crime is faily high in Prague) and made our way up to our twin room on the first floor, front of the hotel. We were delighted with our room, the green formica sink was perhaps a bit of a surprise, but everything else was delightful, dressed in traditional wooden furniture, and lots of chandeliers! Beds were SO comfortable, my boyfriend and I had 2 great night's sleep. Waking up to breakfast was an even greater pleasure, served in the charming dining room.

Getting into the city centre was a short walk and then a metro, and you have Prague at your fingertips.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

The distance between this hotel and the train station, and the city center, should be key in your decision-making process. We stayed in this hotel because it was the only place we could find on relatively short-notice and we had no idea how far it was away, even though you can get to the city center in fifteen minutes of walking plus ten minutes on the metro. This hotel is also attuned more to the business travel than to tourists.

After arriving at the train station, we took the metro to the Prague Congress center. We walked from the metro stop (use the Holiday Inn's signs to help guide you part of the way) and all the way to the hotel with 40-pound bags. It is not comfortable nor convenient if you're carrying heavy bags. It's worse if you return to the congress center metro stop, as you must make the return journey uphill.

We were given a room on the top floor for three nights, with two twin beds instead of the double we asked for. We decided not to complain because we thought it would be all right, but we really should have done something; the beds are on hard wooden frames and were impossible to lay on.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Drawback: the carpeted floors in our room were stained, ugly, and hard.

The shower/bathtub was large and the bathroom itself very clean. Only problem was there was no above-head carriage for the shower head, so you had to hold it in your hand when you wanted to shower.

The windows in our room were skylights and while nice they did not have any shades on them to block out the sun in the morning, so that woke us up quite a bit.

There are safes in the room and three or four cabinets and a desk drawer that you can lock. There was also a refrigerator in our room (with very expensive soda and other drinks).

Breakfast is unexpectedly and gratifyingly enormous. There's more than enough to eat: cold ham, hot ham, sausage, cheeses, croissants, rolls and other pastries, cake, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea, juices, etc.

The breakfast room serves as a restaurant during the evening, but steel yourself for the dinner prices. It was too expensive for us.

The neighborhood around the hotel is kind of drab, but safe and relatively clean. It's rather beautiful on a clear, crisp morning. There is a store nearby where you can buy fresh fruit and vegetables, and also a bar and a 24-hour cafe/bar -- all are on the road running by the Holiday Inn that is parallel to the road that the Vysehrad is on.

The staff was okay, if a bit terse.

It was admittedly Easter weekend when we stayed here, but in our opinion we paid way too much for this hotel (well over $300 for three nights) to be so far away from the city center. We would only return to this hotel if the prices were much lower.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vershaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

I stayed with some friends in this hotel for a week in March 2007.

The hotel has about 30 rooms. They are not very big but are clean and comfortable enough. Besides bathroom and toilet, some extra facilities include a fridge with some drinks, a safe box, a hair drier and a TV.

Breakfast is served in a buffet form. It includes milk, coffee, ham, bread, cheese, chocolate cake, corn flakes, muesli, bacon, eggs, etc. It opens from 07h to 10h. I usually got there between 09:30 and 09:45 and always had my breakfast with no problem, but it's better not to arrive in the very last minute as the staff won't (understandably) be very pleased if there's no more coffee left and might refuse to bring you more (a couple of friends had problems with this).

The hotel is open 24h. At night you have to ring a bell and a receptionist will open the door for you in a few seconds. I found the staff helpful. They spoke a reasonably good english and answered all of my questions.

About the location: the hotel is a bit far from the city center (I would say that about 30 minutes on foot). It is located in a quiet neighbourhood with very few cafes or restaurants around.

The distance from the city center was initially a concern for us, as we planned to go out and come back at late night. Fortunately this finally was not a problem. The Prague public transportation system is good and cheap. A 7-day ticket costs about 10 EUR and can be used in all metro, bus and tram lines (even night ones). The nearest metro stations are Vyšehrad and Pražského povstání. The latter is the closest and easiest to reach (about 5 minutes from the hotel) and in another 5 minutes you'll be at city center (Muzeum metro station). I'd say that the metro is the most convenient way to reach the city center. However it closes from 00h to 05h at night, but there are several night buses (for example: 505 and 509 at Náměstí Republiky) that stop just a few steps from the door. The frequency of these buses is reasonable too (expect waiting between 10 and 20 minutes once you get to the bus stop).

We were in the city center most of the time and basically just went to the hotel to sleep, so we wanted a hotel that was cheap, comfortable and easy to reach at any time of the day (and night), and Hotel Vyšehrad fullfilled our needs.

Finally, the hotel is supposed to be 4-star category. I don't know how they measure it but I'd never say that it's a 4-star hotel. On the other hand, its prices are not for a 4-star hotel either ;)

To summarize things up, this hotel has a decent quality, is reasonably well located and it's very affordable, so it's definitely worth a visit and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GammaCentauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Vyserhad from 12 to 15 Feb 2007. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean and tidy the hotel was and how friendly the staff were. A request for 2 extra pillows was acted upon within minutes. The staff we came into contact with were very helpful and polite. Joe, the night manager / barman was very chatty and passed on some interesting info on where to go to eat etc. A previous reviewer complained about having to leave luggage unattended in the foyer or the small corridor behind reception, as this is hardly the Hilton with no reason to be there unless you were a guest we found this quite acceptable. The breakfasts were very substantial with items to please all tastes.
TIP: Althought the Metro is only a short walk away try walking to Vyserhad castle ( you can see the spires from the hotel - out door look right) The best views of the Vlatava river all the way up to central Prague, Charles Bridge and Prague Castle can be had from the castle walls. Then take the steps down and walk along the riverside. A leisurly stroll will take about half an hour to get you to Charles bridge.
TIP: A 3 day travel pass costs just 220 crowns (£5.50) and is valid for metro, bus, tram and the furnicular railway! A bargain
We will stay here again!

Stayed: February 2007
Thank LeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#263 of 647 in Prague
155 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#219 of 647 in Prague
421 reviews
Praha 4
Oya
Oya
#380 of 647 in Prague
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Otar
Otar
#511 of 647 in Prague
58 reviews
Praha 4
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#175 of 647 in Prague
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vysehrad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vysehrad

Address: Marie Cibulkove 405/29, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 3,323 - ₹ 7,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vysehrad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vysehrad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vysehrad Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing