We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Never written a review before but our experience here was so good I felt compelled to write one for the first time. My wife and I stayed here for four nights over the easter holidays. it was recommended by a friend who had stayed there previously and I have to say it exceeded my expectations. From the time we arrived where check in was very swift we arrived at our room which was very light and airy and modern, it really was a breath of fresh air compared to the usual hotel rooms. Shortly after settling in to our room reception rang to see if the room and everything was to our satisfaction, nice touch!.

I was told that the breakfasts in the Josef were great but they were even better than i expected, the choice was fantastic and very convenient times for its availability until 11.am and later while I was there, so you could relax and enjoy the stay without rushing breakfast.

The staff in reception and throughout the hotel couldnt do enough for you and were very helpful in recommending sights to visit and restaurants to suit your own tastes and budget. they were also helpul in recommeding local bars with authentic czech atmosphere.

In particular Kristina and Phillip in reception were exceptional in their customer care of the guests not only with my wife and I but other guests that we saw them dealing with, so thanks to them and indeed to everyone at the Hotel for making our first visit to Prague a memorable one

If we go back to Prague then for sure we will stay here again as it is also so close to the Old Town Square and no more than a 5 minute walk away. So our sincere thanks to all at the Hotel Josef
David and Wendy from South Wales.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,283 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Josef from 4/4 to 4/9/12. We were in room 801 which had a small balcony with a magnificent view of the Prague Skyline. The bed was a true king (rare in Europe) with a very comfortable mattress. The room itself was stylish, spacious, light and airy with large floor-to-ceiling windows. The room included a sitting area with a sofa and chair. The bathroom was all glass with a stall shower and sink. Thankfully, the toilet facilities were a bit more private. The location was perfect... in the old town on a relatively quiet street and within walking distance to the Old Town Square and the Jewish Quarter. The staff was extremely warm and friendly as well as helpful. We included breakfast with our stay and we were not disappointed. The dining room was bright and open and faced an inner courtyard/garden. The food was excellent and plentiful. There was a standard buffet and additional daily specials from the menu (also included). It was the perfect stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better view. Room 801 was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am truly happy to hear about your positive experience at Hotel Josef. Room 801 does offer a magnificent view on the Prague Castle, and I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for mentioning the breakfast. It is also a pleasure to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. All our team is looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Josef, I would say probably the best Hotel I have stayed in, good size room, huge bed and very clean.
Breakfast very good with great choice.......cooked, fruit, meats, smoked salmon, cheese, yogurt, Actimels, selection of breads and rolls even Cheescake, Brownies etc. if you could face them first thing in the morning.
A nice touch was Coffee, Danish Pastries and fruit bowl in reception to help yourself to in the morning and Iced Tea in the afternoon.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would certainly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillHBourneEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

let me kindly thank you for this great review. I am glad to hear that you liked breakfast so much. We are proud of our breakfasts and it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the selection.

We are also happy to hear that our staff could make you feel cared for.

All our team is looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Although our room was not available the first night due to "technical problems" and we had to sleep the first night in a sister hotel. the Hotel staff made up for this minor inconvenience with excellent service! The next day we received complementary upgraded room, sparking wine and fresh strawberries. Staff always made sure we were taken care of, offering anything from umbrellas for a raining day to suggesting restaurants and sites to visit. Overall, a great experience! I will recommend this hotel to anyone without reservations! Special thanks to Filipe Clara (Front Desk Supervisor) for making sure we had the best experience in Prague!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Front Desk Supervisor at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Mr. Page,

We would like to thank you for your great review regarding your stay here at Josef. It was with great pleasure making sure that your stay here was enjoyable and pleasant, although the weather in Prague was not at it's best.

We hope that you will return one day to Prague and choose Josef once again. We will gladly welcome you back anytime and are extremely pleased to know that the staff was attentive to all your requests.

Wishing you a great year ahead and looking forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Staff very helpful, check in went in a minute. Their garage is good for your car when it is not too large. The rooms were light, nice in space and had all one needed. The same for the bathroom, mine though only had a walk-in shower. Those who are looking for a cosy room, better check elsewhere as the modern/design feel and look is not about cosy. The bed was excellent as well.
Breakfast was good as it offered all I was looking for. I did not check whether it was possible to get a fully cooked breakfast. I did not use their gym facility.
Location is convenient, in the centre of the city.
The business meeting room used also offered all needed.
In total a pleasant modern hotel and I would like to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBastiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

it is great to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying at Hotel Josef. We are glad you enjoyed your room, breakfast and took advantage of our garage and one of the conference rooms.

Your kind comments regarding our staff and facilities are truly appreciated and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 648 in Prague
2,407 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,169 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 648 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#47 of 648 in Prague
1,791 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 7,885 - ₹ 21,663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing