We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant trip to Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Ranked #45 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a lovely time and the hotel was clean and friendly and very comfortable. It's position is excellent in the old town. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was well worth it. This gave us a brilliant view over the roof tops of the Old Town. We didn't have breakfast included in our stay and when we asked the cost of breakfast it was equivalent to £15 per person each day. It wasn't a problem and we ate breakfast out each day. We found the restaurants reasonably priced and went to a lovely one called U Golema( Maiselova 8) a short walk from the main square. which was excellent value, good food and service. We would definitely recommend it. IWe would definitely go to Prague again and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 946 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

We travelled to Prague from Heathrow vis British Airways using Avios (old Airmiles) and got a brilliant deal. We arrived in Prague to find out Taxi,booked as part of our deal with Avios with Prague Airport taxis, waiting for us on arrival. It only cost us £17 each way and was really worth it as it took over an hour to get to the hotel on Friday but 20 mins on the way back on Sunday. The hotel is very central and well presented. I only comment is that we asked on 3 different occassions to see the Ballroom (the most famous part of the hotel) and were fobbed off. We never did see it! Other than that the room was comfortable and the breakfast great.

Now onto the beware bit. Being a canny traveller we had read all the info of what to beware of and still got caught out. First we went off the main road in Lesser town for meal and ended up paying nearly £40 for a lunchtime meal and drink!. Our drinks came £14! and we were charged £6 for pretzels we did not eat and bread we did not ask for . Bit of advice do not eat in a really popular areas and check the drinks prices as well as the food prices before you order.

The rip off that hurt the most was on our final day when I wanted to change some £ to Czeck money and the bureau to change showed 30 to £ . I handed over my £50 and only got the equivalent of 21 to £. When I asked why a very rude woman said it was because the higher rate was only for higher sums of money changed. It did not state anywhere what the higher amount was! When I said I did not want to continue with the transaction I was more of less told - hard luck. So the lesson learnt is always ask what the exchange rate is for the amount you are going to change up before you hand over your money. Believe it or not the rate was 20% better at the hotel!

All the moaning out the way - Prague if a fantastic place. If you want to save you feel from the cobbles jump on the Hop on Hop off bus. It cost bout £25 for a 48 hour pass and this includes a guided trip around the castle - a must. It is a really good way of getting around and jumping off to discover a new area. You can get really good and cheap meals and drinks less than 10 minutes walk from the centre.

Have fun on your trip.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECC_GHB, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Janet and Phil,

thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in the beautiful city of Prague.

I am also sorry to hear that you got cheated by some of the Prague's tourist traps. Although the situation has improved radically since 10 years ago, there are still places in Prague whose business is based on cheating and robbing tourists. I hope this has not affected your memories of Prague in a negative way. Platforms like Tripadvisor.com are a good way to let people know and warn them from such practices. My private advise would be to consult your plans with the hotel concierge. The employees are locals and can give you valuable advises as well as warnings of what to avoid.

It is a pitty that you did not have a chance to see our amazing Boccaccio ballroom. It is very often used for various types of events, such as wedding receptions or corporate parties. I am sure that our staff did not refuse to show you the ballroom without a reason. Most probably, there was a private event going on at the time when you asked to see the ballroom. You are welcome to visit the Boccaccio ballroom any time you come to Prague again.

With kind regards

Jan Mika
Grand Hotel Bohemia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights and it was a great experience. Situated in the middle of the old city , nice room with wonderful beds and excellent housekeeping ( the chocolate and the weather forecast for the next day on the pillow is nice ). A rich,great breakfast left us full until lunch in the middle of the day and the staff is very friendly and polite! We loved our stay at this hotel and will certainly live here if we are going back to Prague sometime ! HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED !

Room Tip: We lived in 4 floor , view against another building , but we are not sitting in the room to see - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Very nice room, great location close to center of town. Staff is extremely helpful, breakfast was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Hotel was within walking distance of the city center as well as a modern mall. Finding it on our own may have been difficult because it was tucked in a corner. The breakfast was good and you have to go sneak a peak if the basement ballroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#48 of 647 in Prague
2,035 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#51 of 647 in Prague
2,945 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bohemia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bohemia

Address: Kralodvorska 4 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#32 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#41 Business Hotel in Prague
#42 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 8,014 - ₹ 17,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Bohemia 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bohemia is a 5-star luxurious hotel in the heart of Prague's Old Town. Only a few minutes walk divide this noble hotel with 78 elegantly furnished rooms from the main sights, architectonic landmarks and luxury shopping streets of the Old and the New Town of Prague.The Grand Hotel Bohemia has it all - located in town centre and yet very quiet street, hotel has a captivating essence of old times blended with highest comfort and services provided by top team of dedicated professinals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bohemia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing