We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for Family with young children!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malostranska Residence
Ranked #3 of 363 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Family of 4 with 9 and 4 y/o boys. We are Americans currently living in Europe.

Location: Perfect. Very close to castle and Charles Bridge. There are two mini-marts just around the corner. Various shops and restaurants situated in immediate vicinity. You are basically at a tram stop so travel via tram and metro (one stop away on the tram) is very easy. Approximately 3 Euros for a 30 minute ticket (covers metro and tram for 30 minutes of travel) for 2 adults and 2 children . This is great if you are arriving from the train station/airport as well. HIGHLY recommend either having the Metro Iphone App or the map of the tram/metro from here: http://www.dpp.cz/en/transport-around%20prague/transit-schematics/. There is also an ATM located just outside the exit. The only issue we had was actually locating the entrance to the hotel when we first arrived (since it is mostly above the restaurants on the first floor). The entrance is a large wooden door to a set of apartments on the West side - between the restaurant and the bank. It has ring buttons for buisnesses and apartments - simply push the one for the Malostranska Residence. Make sure to make specific plans with the management if you plan to arrive outside of 0830-1930. We parked on the side street while the wife went in to register.

Parking: We elected to park our SUV (Toyota Sequoia) in the hotels parking garage which is a 3-5 minute walk away for 25 Euro a day. You can also get a permit to park on the street (I think it is 10 Euro a day) right next to the hotel. It seemed safe, but I prefer parking garages when I am going to basically leave our truck for a few days (never used it while staying in Prague).

Room: 2 bedrooms, one of which had the TV and kitchenette with a dining table as part of it. The bathroom was spacious. The view(s) from our room were not that impressive - but that was not an issue for us... It took us a while to figure out the satellite TV (wasn't that important to us - but selecting the UK favorites helped) You have to request the SSID and password for WIFI from the front desk. It was intermittent while we were there, but usable enough to detail-plan our day trips. If you are dependent on constant data access (work etc) - recommend you visit maxroam website (not a plug - just what I use as a backup in Europe). We were on the 4th floor. A previous review complained about the lift. Trust me- it's not that small. We've seen much smaller in other locations (where you send your baggage up separately). This elevator could fit 4-5 people closely.

The included breakfast at the nearby restaurant was very nice and well worth inclusion in our stay.

Service includes daily cleaning/replenishment of the towels/TP etc (something that is not consistent among European short-term apartments).

Overall, this apartment/hotel was the perfect location and accommodation for spending 4-6 hours, twice a day touring Prague with an afternoon break-time for the kids in the middle.

Highly recommend the boat tours (cake and coffee is the one we took), and Prague Castle.

Room Tip: There does not appear to be A/C in the summer. Great heating in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtboger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

The apartments at the residence are lovely. The staff is very helpful and nice. The rooms are gorgeous and the location is incredible. You are within walking distance of everything and the views from the hotel are amazing. I cannot say enough about this hotel and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for my wife's 50th Birthday weekend - like another reviewer here we were taken in by the description on the website we booked through (booking.com) which states "All rooms enjoy views of Charles Bridge and Prague Castle." - well as you will see from the photo, no such jewels for us, and our "luxury apartment for two" was nothing of the sort - a small room (double bed and small table), kitchenette (3m x 1m max) and a standard shower room.

I complained at the hotel about the view - an internal brick wall not quite having the same architectural attraction of the promised Prague Castle - and was told that it was booking.com who had made this error - so I wrote to booking.com who say the description is supplied by the hotel! Both washed their hands of the whole thing and pointed squarely at each other. We also had no water one evening and there's nobody working after 6pm, and the satellite tv didn't work for our entire stay (no biggie but many promises to sort it and nobody did).

I wrote quite a favourable review on booking.com but mentioned the internal wall view and mysteriously my review disappeared after about a week.

On the plus side the location is good for the attractions you are supposed to be able to see from your "apartment" (small room) and the staff are friendly. People staying in much more expensive apartments seemed happy enough - so if you pay big money you seem to be looked after.

Room Tip: Pay more if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScunnerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

What can one add to the positive reviews of others who have had the pleasure of staying at this superb residence? We stayed 3 nights in the very spacious "Presidential" apartment and were highly impressed by the spotless modern renovation, the perfect location and the excellent staff (the receptionist, driver and maids were all extremely friendly and helpful). If you visit Prague and do not need an in-house restaurant, you could hardly do better than to stay in this absolutely faultless residence.

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite, as they have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The location is wonderful, situated near Charles Bridge. The views are of the Old Town where there is St. Nicholas Church. There is a tram station just across the road. The apartment had plenty of living space and was extremely clean. Most of our days were spent looking at the sites but it was nice to come in of an evening and just relax. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Beaware though that on a Friday night lots of youngsters go out so there is a fair bit of noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,794 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 648 in Prague
1,786 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malostranska Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malostranska Residence

Address: Malostranske Namesti 24/38, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 363 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 6,228 - ₹ 22,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malostranska Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Prague at Residence Malostranska offers the highest accommodation standard in the very heart of historic Prague. The Residence is located close to the river Vltava, Charles Bridge and other beautiful bridges at the distance of 5-10 mins walk. We have three types of suites available: Presidential Suite (160m2) for your absolute comfort, the smaller Executive Suite (55 – 120m2) and our cosy Deluxe Suite (25 – 30m2). You will not find more luxurious accommodation in all of Prague. All of our suites are equipped with luxurious stylish furniture, kitchen and accessories, Jacuzzi and LCD TVs.The suites look out onto the quiet streets of the historic centre of Prague. The Deluxe suite looks out onto the Charles Bridge, and the Executive suite offers a view of the St. Nicholas Cathedral, Lesser Town Square and the beautifully-lit Prague Castle. The Presidential Suite offers a view from two balconies, one of which you can sit on and sip a glass of wine and enjoy the magnificence of Prague Castle, on the second balcony you can watch the busy traffic on the Charles Bridge.We are pleased to serve even the most demanding guests and offer them home-like atmospthere in the heart of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Malostranska Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malostranska Residence Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing