We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place but not in the most happening area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deminka Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deminka Palace
Ranked #192 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but not in the most happening area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I think it's not a hotel, more like rental apartment, since we have to ring the bell to enter the main entrance. I got a huge beautiful room (407) with separate kitchen and dining area, but lack of furnitures (even the flat TV is so small!). The room is too dark also. It's a pity that the bathroom is quite small with standing shower only and no bath-tub. And the free wifi connection did not work well during my stay there. The staffs (especially the guys) were friendly and polite, but one of the reception staff (a lady) was pretty rude, when she thought I might lost my room's card which I was so sure that I had gave them with the room's key when I went out one night.
I don't really like the location. If I visit Prague again, I'll choose a hotel in old town area which more happening and closer to all tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    152
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
66
254
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is a tastefully renovated palace only 10 minutes walk from the railway station. Find the Deminka bar/restaurant and it is two doors down. Very discreet entrance. Ring the bell. We loved the quite spartan contemporary design and the comfortable bed. In spite of previous reviews, although we were there on a Saturday night, no great disturbance from the disco below. Maybe we sleep heavily! Great breakfast on the top floor included in the rate. Tram transport very close. Get the map from the reception as easy to get lost. In the streets,not many speak English but lots speak German. We would go back here, fantastic value for the $75 we paid through hotel.com.

Room Tip: Inner room on courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFrenchLarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a junior suite, and it was absolutely amazing

I will definitely go back, great location, great building. Only downside is that the room was a bit cold (it was winter time)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed a long weekend at the Deminka, a refreshing change from the usual chain hotels. This is a boutique style hotel - the old building is stunning with wrought iron staircases, huge doors and wooden floors in the rooms. Upon arrival we were allocated a room at the very top of the hotel, however although huge, this room seemed unfinished and (may be a personal thing) I dont like rooms with just skylights I like to be able to see out! We asked if there was an alternative room and were moved to arguably the best room in the building, on the corner with huge floor to ceiling windows and a balcony, separate kitchenette and dressing area, huge comfortable bed and flat screen TV.
Breakfast is good with lots of variety. Check in and out easy and smooth and the staff very helpful with taxis etc.
Slight downsides - the bathroom has a bath, the shower is a hand held hose attached to the taps, which is a shame because there would have been plenty of room in there for a separate shower AND a bath. The rooms seem to have their own boilers for water and heat, sited in the bathroom, which can make the bathroom pretty warm when the boiler is running. Hotel was just (in our opinion) five minutes walk too far from the old town square. Felt OK going down the hill, just a bit of a trek coming back UP at night after a Czech beer or two! All these were very minor niggles and did not at all mar our stay.

All in all however a great little hotel and worth the extra walk for the good value and luxury the rooms offer. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fluffysbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our stay at Deminka palace could not have been better. This is a gorgeous hotel, with old world beauty in the hallways and public areas, and modern chic in the rooms and suites. The breakfasts were terrific, better than most American or European hotels, the cleaning always spot on, but the staff were the real highlight. The two young men who were the evening concierges were so friendly, helpful and polite that they made our stay a joy. The location was perfect, two blocks from Wenceslaus Square and two metro stops ( I Pavlova and Museum) and the tram stops at I Pavlova, that you could be anywhere in minutes. I wouldn't chance trying any other hotel on Prague, since the price could never be beat for the quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kettsrebellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#245 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#132 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#105 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#133 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#82 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deminka Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deminka Palace

Property: Deminka Palace
Address: Skretova 1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#145 Business Hotel in Prague
#160 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#170 Family Hotel in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,025 - ₹ 14,334
Hotel Class:4 star — Deminka Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Prague just behind the National Museum, the Deminka Palace represents the meeting point between history and modernity, art and wellness, past and future. Charming and sophisticated our historic residence will accommodate you in its elegant and warm rooms and will let you feel an atmosphere proper of another era. The Deminka Palace also enjoys excellent connections to the exhibition and congress center, to the airport and is located just a few steps from all major historical and artistic attraction of the center and from the more modern shopping centers of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Deminka Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deminka Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing