We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars !?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Ranked #211 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Would have given it an 'average' rating if it had been a 3 star, but expected much better from a 5 star hotel. Check in process slow - then taken to a room, but not taken in! The following day we were assured the room had not been occupied, it just hadn't been cleaned! After an age - we were upgraded to one of the rooms which together form the presidential suite. The view was fantastic and having a balcony was a bonus (to make up for the fact we couldn't have a smoking room as booked - and confirmed by e-mail !). In fact the location of the hotel was great. It was just a shame that nothing else matched up - except the concierge who was on duty when we arrived and again when we left. The location and the view from the 6th floor are responsible for the overall rating being 'poor' rather than 'terrible'. The upgrade was all very well, but the carpet was stained and the room had not been properly dusted - and still wasn't when we left after 4 nights! The door didn't lock, so we had to rely on the safety chain for security at night - to ensure no-one else tried to check in to our room. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. They did bring complimentary coffee (not the best) on calling reception, but it meant you had to be dressed to open the door - not what you want when you have just woken up. Breakfast was terrible - you were 'lucky' if there was any food, but when there was the quality was poor. The poor service/attitude didn't help. The bar is a waste of space as it is seriously underused - couldn't say whether that is because of the service, the cost, or both. After waiting several minutes we asked at reception if the bar was 'self service'. Then when a barman arrived, ordered a bottle of wine intending to eat in (didn't want to walk any further after a day sightseeing) - only to be told there was no chef. They must have already known this some mornings as the tables were being reset for the following morning breakfast sitting. Never saw anyone in the 'restaurant'. If breakfast and overall service was anything to go by, we were saved from ourselves by the lack of a chef - there are too many other eating and drinking places close by to choose from to put up with this. For several days the 'floral display' in reception amounted to 5 or 6 pieces of greenery - flowers arrived on Friday morning. Even though hung up, the towels were changed daily, as was the quilt cover and pillow cases - but would have preferred for the room to be dusted and hoovered occassionally and for the soap dish to be cleaned once in a while. As an english size 12/14, I managed to get the towel around me, but there are a lot who wouldn't! The towels were cheap quality, not as white as the could have been and some were very frayed at the edges. Would have been very upset if we had paid 'rack rate'. It was only the view and balcony of the upgrade room that saved this from being rated 'terrible' and a complaint. I have had better service/attitude and cleaner rooms from a Premier Inn at £29 per night. If you get a very good price, think of it as 3 star (rather than 5) and don't want breakfast you should be ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0TasExpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,
we reviewed your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
In our attemp to improve our hotel, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests and I can reassure you that your comments will be well taken into consideration.
We would like to inform you that we increased the variety of breakfast items, bought new chairs in the lobby and new towels and hand towels.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
We are sure, that we will meet your expectations by your next visit.
Sincerely yours,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have just arrived back from Prague and very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very conveniently situated for the centre of the city and just a 5 minute walk to Charles Bridge. We had a fantastic view from our room of Prague Castle and as we were very lucky with the weather it was nice to have an air conditioned room. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. If I had to be picky I would recommend they put some hotel information in the room. We wanted to use the spa but didn't realise you had to book it as they require 1 hour to prepare it. However, once you have done that you will have it to yourself. Would recommend this hotel and would go back there again.

Room Tip: The 5th and 6th floors have the best views. We were at the front with a fantastic and unique view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were satisfied with our services. We are very sorry that our "guest directory" was mising in your room. We could provide it immediatelly on your request.
On behalf of the entire team at our hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Prague!
Sincerely yours,
Vitek Klima
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Not much more that I can say really. Reception handled this really badly for a supposedly five star hotel. No apology. Tried to book us into another hotel on the other side of town, which didn't fit in with our plans for the weekend. Finally booked us into another hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Book another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,
we reviewed your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
In our attemp to improve our hotel, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests and I can reassure you that your comments will be well taken into consideration.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
We were very sorry for the unexpected situation. We tried our best to provide you the best alternative solution.
We are sure, that we will meet your expectations by your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Vitek Klima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Myself and another person received breakfast here at a price of 400 koronas each, a ridiculous price, considering both lunch and dinner were advertised at a lower price.

Having realised that we had been 'robbed,' we proceeded to ask for a receipt, which took fifteen minutes to print as it had to be printed from the bar till in order that it was not recorded in their records.

This is outrageous behaviour for three members of staff to perform (the secretary, porter and waiter) who proceeded to share the money equally among themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodbad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,
we reviewed your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace.
In our attemp to improve our hotel, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests and I can reassure you that your comments will be well taken into consideration.
We would like to inform you that our price for accommodation includes breakfast. Our price for extra breakfast is 400 CZK /approx. 16 EUR/.
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment during your stay. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.
Yours sincerely,
Vitek Klima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is about 500 metres from the old town which we found to be excellent as the walk home was breath taking beautiful. The hotel is quite small but the rooms perfectly adequate for us Europeans though American travellers may not agree.

The Breakfast was typical for Europe, not bad but not exciting.

Plus points are the comfort, location, view of the senate from the bedroom. The only downer is the cost of anything from the bar apart from beer, 2 large gun and tonic for £22, that's €27 or $33 is a little excessive.

Prague, by the way, is fantastic, a beautiful and friendly city, lovely people with excellent places to eat and very 'English language' friendly.

The whole city can be accessed on foot if you like, beautiful architecture everywhere you look. Although it reached 28C there was normally a shady bar to cool down in.

A must see for any traveller

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveyharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitekKlima, Manager at Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,
thank you for your stay and your kind comments about The Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Palace!
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you vere satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room and hotel´s location.
We are very sorry you felt that drinks are expensive at our bar. But you could find a lot of pubs, bars and restaurants with lower prices close to our hotel. Our staff could recommend you some of them.
We truly hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Prague.
Yours sincerely,
Vitek Klima
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#178 of 649 in Prague
375 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#34 of 649 in Prague
717 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#128 of 649 in Prague
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Old Royal Post
Old Royal Post
#308 of 649 in Prague
48 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Klarov Prague
Hotel Klarov Prague
#51 of 649 in Prague
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace

Address: Letenska 11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Royal Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: ₹ 8,448 - ₹ 17,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing