We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Typical hostel. I had a nice stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Typical hostel. I had a nice stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hostel is average, and I'd stay again. The kitchen is huge and so is the lounge. It was great for talking to and meeting other people. Free use of computers/wifi. Lockers available. There were ten beds in my room. They'll hold your luggage after you check out. It's not exactly near anything, but all the sights are within ten minutes walking distance anyway. It was a nice place. Nothing spectacular, but I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    230
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
46
106
331
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Im usually not one for hostels but this was an excellent place to stay and socialise. The location was great, very central and the facilities were great. A friendly team of staff who were readily available to help out. I have to make special mention of Kristian-the events co-ordinator- this guy made my stay at the hostel even better. He organises different activities every day/night which allows you to easily socialise with and meet other travellers. He has endless amounts of energy and knows his city really well and it is really exciting to see someone so proud and educated on their city. Kristian is a legend. Internet is free of charge at downtown and breakfast is cheap and will keep you going for a while. I would recomment this place to everyone looking for good value and good fun in Prague.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had a very good time in this hostel. It is probably one of the cleanest youth hostel I will ever see in my life. Every member of the staff was smiling and helpful. I enjoyed to prepare traditional meals with Kristian and other people staying at the hostel.

The building is located near of tram and metro stations, grocery store, pharmacy, etc.

I would recommend this hostel without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyuuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My first trip where I have stayed in a hostel and I must say that I was impressed from the time I arrived at the hostel. Very congenial and courteous staff, well maintained premises - the place was very clean and bright.

Brilliant location - Charles Bridge and Old Town Square was within walking distance and so were two Metro stops.

Wifi connectivity was awesome with good speed and for those who do not carry any laptops or handheld devices, there are few computers to browse and check their emails and browse.

Missed the much heard about Kristian's walking tour in the night upto Prague Castle, as we had to leave the night when the tour was planned :(

Overall an awesome place to stay when in Prague at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I love Prague and this my second time in the city, but my first time at Hostel Downtown. It had a perfect location, right near the National Theatre between Wencelas Square and Old Town Square. The hostel was bright, clean, and comfortable. The folks at reception were kind and helpful. The kitchen/common area was well maintained and very nice, with two stove tops. The beds were nice to sleep on, with great pillows and warm comforters. The night excursions with Kristian were fun and informative! He was hillarious and brought my friends, I, and other folks in the hostel to some of my favourite spots in Prague. He knew the history and we even all got to cook traditional Potato Soup and hot cocoa as a large group. I highly recommend the hostel, whether you're alone or with others; it's comfy, perfectly placed, and events with Kristian make it easy to get to know others and the city!

Room Tip: I was in room 18, of the large dormitory (just 6 beds in that part and 4 in the other part) and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#11 of 667 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#82 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#3 of 667 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,623 - ₹ 7,128
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing