We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel ever!”
Review of Hostel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Downtown
Ranked #5 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Im usually not one for hostels but this was an excellent place to stay and socialise. The location was great, very central and the facilities were great. A friendly team of staff who were readily available to help out. I have to make special mention of Kristian-the events co-ordinator- this guy made my stay at the hostel even better. He organises different activities every day/night which allows you to easily socialise with and meet other travellers. He has endless amounts of energy and knows his city really well and it is really exciting to see someone so proud and educated on their city. Kristian is a legend. Internet is free of charge at downtown and breakfast is cheap and will keep you going for a while. I would recomment this place to everyone looking for good value and good fun in Prague.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela199284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    237
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
111
345
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I had a very good time in this hostel. It is probably one of the cleanest youth hostel I will ever see in my life. Every member of the staff was smiling and helpful. I enjoyed to prepare traditional meals with Kristian and other people staying at the hostel.

The building is located near of tram and metro stations, grocery store, pharmacy, etc.

I would recommend this hostel without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyuuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My first trip where I have stayed in a hostel and I must say that I was impressed from the time I arrived at the hostel. Very congenial and courteous staff, well maintained premises - the place was very clean and bright.

Brilliant location - Charles Bridge and Old Town Square was within walking distance and so were two Metro stops.

Wifi connectivity was awesome with good speed and for those who do not carry any laptops or handheld devices, there are few computers to browse and check their emails and browse.

Missed the much heard about Kristian's walking tour in the night upto Prague Castle, as we had to leave the night when the tour was planned :(

Overall an awesome place to stay when in Prague at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I love Prague and this my second time in the city, but my first time at Hostel Downtown. It had a perfect location, right near the National Theatre between Wencelas Square and Old Town Square. The hostel was bright, clean, and comfortable. The folks at reception were kind and helpful. The kitchen/common area was well maintained and very nice, with two stove tops. The beds were nice to sleep on, with great pillows and warm comforters. The night excursions with Kristian were fun and informative! He was hillarious and brought my friends, I, and other folks in the hostel to some of my favourite spots in Prague. He knew the history and we even all got to cook traditional Potato Soup and hot cocoa as a large group. I highly recommend the hostel, whether you're alone or with others; it's comfy, perfectly placed, and events with Kristian make it easy to get to know others and the city!

Room Tip: I was in room 18, of the large dormitory (just 6 beds in that part and 4 in the other part) and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

It was my first time staying in a hostel and from the moment I arrived at the front desk I felt welcome. The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. They have the most stylish decorated lounge I have ever seen. I love the colours and the fact that it was so comfortable there!

Kristian was hilarious on our evening excursions and also very helpful like all the other staff. Staying in Downtown was way better than I expected it would be and I felt really at home. I would definitely recommend Downtown. Its prices also fit in with my tiny budget. :)

Natalie van der Berg

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#99 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Downtown

Property: Hostel Downtown
Address: Narodni 949/19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,810 - ₹ 9,269
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Downtown 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Downtown offers quality and inexpensive accommodation in newly refurbished beautiful building.Hostel Downtown is open all year 24 hours a day. Accommodation is available in apartments/rooms with shower or in shared rooms (dormitories). The reception desk is open 24 hours. Friendly English speaking staff will be happy to help you with all your requests. Hostel Downtown is the first hostel in the Central and Eastern Europe that was awarded a "HI Quality" certificate from Hostelling International. We are very happy and proud! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing