We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day!”

Bohemian Switzerland National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 79.41*
and up
Bohemian Switzerland by Train from Prague
Ranked #217 of 2,659 things to do in Bohemia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Bohemian Switzerland National Park (Narodni park Ceske Svycarsko), which was established on 1st January 2000 and covers an area of nearly 80km2, is the youngest national park in the Czech Republic. The park on its northern side borders and is linked to the Saxon Switzerland National Park in Germany, which was established in 1990 and covers an area of 93 km2. The mission of the National Park is to preserve the local territory in its full beauty and to enable natural processes to prevail in this area. Human interventions are only limited to activities which help restore the natural balance to the greatest extent. The focal point of the area protection is a unique sandstone rock town with the occurance of rare plant and animal species and islands of well-preserved woods. Natural values of the National Park have also been acknowledged within the European Union by including it in the prestigious list of European conservation areas called Natura 2000. With a click on the headline or the picture You find further information about tasks and aims of the national park, a broad section about the geology, fauna, flora and forests within the national park, an overview over the history and tourism and a detailed description of the different management fields of the national park Bohemian Switzerland:
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Matthias and Martin were great guides, fun, helpful and knew their facts. It rained for most of the day, but they were undaunted and encouraged us.

Had the best day.
We had a lot of fun and the sights were outstanding. Spectacular!

The weather cleared towards the end of the day and we had a magical river cruise.
Breathtaking!

It was a strenuous day though. But really worth the effort.

I suggest on the website that information should include wearing appropriate clothing and footwear. And carry a backpack with items to cater for a range of weather types.
Also you should be fit and healthy to walk many kilometers and many flights of stairs.

I highly recommend this tour group and visiting this area.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank PenelopeC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pravcicka brana"
in 11 reviews
"boat ride"
in 9 reviews
"day trip"
in 13 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 3 reviews
"czech republic"
in 12 reviews
"red route"
in 2 reviews
"hiking trail"
in 2 reviews
"fall colors"
in 2 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 4 reviews
"single ticket"
in 2 reviews
"starting point"
in 4 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 2 reviews
"central europe"
in 2 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 2 reviews
"tour group"
in 2 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 2 reviews
"visiting prague"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked this small group tour with Viator when we were planning a tour in Prague. At first we thought it’s a bit pricey but thought it was worth it nawong from the inclusions . Jan from Cayman tours picked us from the hotel at 7 am. We were in a mini van with 3 tourists, the driver and the tour guide/owner. Jan was warm and oriented is on what to expect as written in the itinerary. First stop is about 1.5 hrs from Prague, we didn’t mind as it was an early pick up so we had a chance to take a nap along the way. Then we got to our first stop just before 9, at the Saxon Switzerland National Park when there few tourists yet. We had a better chance to take better photos as we can since the tour buses didn’t arrive yet. Jan is well versed and learned at what he does and make sure to interact with us. Then we left for The Bohemian part of the trip which was just less than 30 min drive as we heard back to Czech from the Germany border.
The hike heading up to the top part of Pravcicka brána was a good moderate 2 km walk/hike in our comfortable shoes. We got to the summit in less than 30 mins and boy...the view was amazing and of course a free drink of anything you want before coming down for lunch. We got a Czech dark Budweiser that quenched our thirsts.
Coming down was a bit easier and got to eat past 1. Lunch was another nice treat with good local food, drink and the company of nice people around.
The gorge part was exciting too, more time to explore nature and rain forest . The dinghy rose to cross to the other man made river bank was just 20 mins. Jan filled us with funny, interesting optical visions around as to make us not get bored .
We reached to our hotel just before 7 pm, very satisfied and quite much of amazing experiences.
Viator has a good description of what is inclusive in this trip.
Kudos to Jan Cerny of Cayman Travel , tour guide/owner!

Date of experience: September 2017
5  Thank DonnaZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We took the Edmund Gorge boat ride starting from Menza to Hrensko. The descent to the dock was steep and on rocky steps which made it laborious. But once you reach the bottom, it's an easy flat trail to the dock. As it was about 5pm, the sun was low and the beautiful sunlight shone through the trees beautifully. Shrouded in mist, the boat ride was magical and worth the trip. Paid 6 Euros for 2.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank 987reginah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Visit to Prague is incomplete without visiting Bohemian Switzerland National Park. We took guided tour by North Hikers from prague and they organized everything with perfection. Its amazing natural beauty there and note toi mention it is not very much crowded. We did hiking in lush green jungle and boating experience was also memorable. No doubt it will cut you from rest of the world and exceptionally soothing.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dogramandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I had an amazing time today with our guide Tony. He was extremely knowledgable and informative! The hike is fairly easy and has spectacular views along the way. I would highly recommend this.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bohemian Switzerland National Park also viewed

Hrensko, Usti nad Labem Region
Hrensko, Usti nad Labem Region
 
Hrensko, Usti nad Labem Region
Bohemia, Czech Republic
 

Been to Bohemian Switzerland National Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing