We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fan room iloilo city bring your own boat ride guests island nolan cr electricity generator cost fee sandbar couples hours group swim
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We went there during Labor Day weekend, a last minute decision. Which led us to leaving Iloilo at 4 and arrived in Ajuy at 6 or 7. We were grateful that the staff still accommodated despite our late arrival. We had to walk a few meters from the shore line to reach the boat and the main boat (low tide, that's why), it was so dark it was kinda scary but thrilling experience.

When we arrived a few more staffs greeted us along with the 2 black dogs. They helped us prepare for our dinner. NOTE: bring your own food, they have a kitchen which u can borrow to cook or ask them to cook for you (a fee is applied idk how much) after dinner we relaxed by the beach and talked, there were a few visitors too, i love how everyone was so chill and respected each others company.

We booked 2 rooms because we were 7 in a group, fan room only since no available AC room na. the exciting part was the morning. you could really see the beauty of the entire island, you get to witness seeing everything and all of a sudden there's no more shore line already. the water was crystal clear blue and so relaxing to deep into.

The island hopping was so so i would prefer staying in the resort and enjoy swimming there :) overall stay was great cause of the place and the staff :)

Room Tip: call the resort earlier for them to reserve the room with AC for you
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We went to Marbuena Island Resort for our company outing and were glad we chose Marbuena. We had an enjoyable and relaxing summer outing.

Positive Points
1. Superb Customer Service - Commendation goes to Nolan and Marlon who went out of their way to cater to our needs. The other staff were also very attentive. Everybody anticipates the guests needs and everybody goes about their tasks with a smile. They were very courteous and we felt really welcome.
2. Good, reasonably priced food - Our package included 3 meals and we were not disappointed. They actually allow you to bring your own food and drinks with no corkage but why hassle yourself? The food was not expensive, they were fresh and delicious. For our dinner, they served it by the beach with matching bonfire.
3. Cleanliness - the whole island is clean. If the staff were not busy attending guests, they were busy cleaning the place. Picking up trash, bussing tables and cottages, cleaning the shoreline.
4. Comfortable, reasonably priced rooms - One fan cottage is P1,700+ good for 4 people. The room and CR was big and has 4 single beds. An aircon cottage costs P3k+ but its good for 6. The room, linens, and CR were clean and properly maintained.
5. The whole place itself - beautiful, relaxing, clean

Things to Improve
1. Provide life jackets for guests crossing to and from the island. The flatboat and pumpboat ride takes only 20 minutes max but guests, especially those with children would feel safer if they have life jackets.

2. Have another generator so that you can provide 24 hours electricity instead of only 6pm - 6am, if there are a lot of guests in the island. It would be nice to have a cool afternoon siesta if there is electricity in the rooms. We would like to thank Nolan though for opening the generator so we can feel cool when we arrived at the island. He saw us all feeling hot and sweaty when we arrived at 10:30am, that aside from providing us with welcome drinks, the fans in the function hall were also opened so we could cool down.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This would be a very detailed review of Marbuena Island since there's not much being said on this beautiful Island with beautiful people.

The Place
Marbuena Island can be accessed from Iloilo city for less than 2 hours private car ride and 15-20 minutes pumpboat to the Island. It's a little Island blessed with lush green vegetation, this is apparent because the Island has been a permanent residence of wild birds (don't be freaked out for these birds will continue to make sounds throughout the day and until the whole night), private cars have a parking area near the wharf, just look for the Brgy. Captain, no parking fee, it is only up to you how much you will give to the owner of the lot, it'll be very safe since it's a compound with gates. The Island has a sandbar which is visible during the early morning, submerges as the days go on and returns when noon comes, it has a creamish white sand (the texture was like of washed brown sugar) combined with pebbles and seashells. The shoreline is already good for swimming except during low tides, they have a makeshift pool area which during high tide is filled with salt water. This is for me an added feature which makes marbuena beautiful, the ambiance is like that of a private Island, very relaxing, as if you own the whole island, very quiet, not over crowded (kudos to the management for maintaining a controlled number of people who wants to stay in the Island, thus a reservation/booking is highly recommended before going to the Island), after staying in Marbuena, you can really say that you really get the price of what you pay for, what you spent there (the overall cost) is only just for it compensates the comfort and satisfaction in terms of their services to you, the maintenance of their amenities and the beauty of the whole island.

The Accommodation
As of May 1, 2017, my family and I spent an overnight stay here from April 30 to May 1, the banca ride cost us 1500 back and forth with a seating capacity of 25pax, no entrance fees for the overnight stay and use of their open cottages and tables near the beach area. As of the moment they only have 8 fan rooms that cost 1700 per room that is good for 4 adults, and 2 A/C rooms that costs 3700 good for 6 people already. My family opted for fan rooms, these rooms resembles like those of bamboo resthouse, the rooms are very spacious, with a cabinet for your things, 1 standard fan and 4 single beds which you can put side to side to make it larger and accommodate children if you have one. Each room is equipped with a CR (except the communal room, good for family accommodation which has an annex connecting to the other room, this room has only 1 Cr) The CR resembles those of 4 star hotel, with 24/7 flowing water (not salt water), a toilet and a sink just outside the CR. The electricity is from 6pm to 6am, but for guests' comfort the electricity is switched on once in a while especially during lunchtime in their mess hall. Be sure to buy your food grocery from the mainland before going to the Island if you prefer cooking your own food during your stay in the Island. But the Island offer services such as cooking your food brought to the island, or you can order with whatever is a available on their supply. They have a 500 pesos kitchen fee, and the fee for the cooks are also separated, for our stay, we paid 700 pesos for the cook and her helpers (this amount is not imposed, their fee depends on the kind of menus you request them to cook for you, since the cook and her helpers are very good in taking care of us while in the island, and their food was really delicious and yummy, we opt to give them this amount.) If you want to stay in the Island the whole day, they have a nature trail at the back of the Island, no tour guide needed since there's already a pathwalk for you to follow, just dont bring small kids, since some of the pathwalk are a little bit steepy for them that they might end up falling on the sea or big stones down the trail or they might freaked out with unusual sounds created by wild birds and some pathways might be little scary for them. The nature trail is best done in the afternoon to witness sunset, if you like taking scenic pictures then this area is the best place to be. Just be sure you can return to the front of the Island before the sun goes down for you might not find the right way when it is already dark. Call the service of their two friendly black dogs, they will accompany you as you go nature trailingMarbuena also offers Island tour for 2500, with 4 Islands to visit, the Casian Gamay, Casian Dako, Nasidman, and Isla Bida. But personally, I wouldn't really recommend the island tour since these 4 Islands, are just ordinary Island surrounding Marbuena, nothing much to see except to be entertained with what's interesting with each Island, like Casian Gamay, where you will see the locals going about their usual routine of drying sea algaes to process into gellatins, and Nasidman Island which is a fishing Village. Marbuena would be enough, since among these Islands, only Marbuena got a hotel like accommodation and services and a private resort ambiance. The resort has a wide playground, basketball court and a volleyball court to use when you're tired of swimming, there's also a chapel for you to pray or meditate.

The customer service
For me this is the best Marbuena resort has to offer to their guests, aside from the beautiful place, hotel like accommodation, their customer service is beyond compare, when you plan to booked Marbuena, looked for their resort manager, His name is Nolan. Nolan is very accommodating, patient, always cheerful, polite and you can really say that his no. 1 priority for the resort's guest was their satisfaction and comfort. He is very approachable, you can easily talk to him about your concerns, just like what happened for our Island hopping tour, there's a little mixed up of pump boats since the resorts banca has been going to and fro, fetching and sending back guests on the mainland, so we were given a banca which resembles like of fishing boat, since my mother was really freaky in terms of taking a boat ride, I told sir Nolan about this, and he did not hesitate to change our banca to our preferred banca to use. He and his team are very polite, courteous, and very friendly, you can strike any conversation with any one of his staff, they're always smiling and greeting you when you pass by them, and always attentive to the needs of their guests. When booking, be sure to list down all your inquiries to sir Nolan and he will answer all of it right away. He is very hands on, personally greeting you when you arrive at the Island, giving you an orientation on the rules of the island, what will you see and explore, and his staff will gladly accompany and see you comfortable in your rooms before they leave you. You would really see that everybody is doing their job, some instance, I could see some of them picking trash left behind by some guest, even giving back toys left behind by kids on the beach, they are always there watching over people while swimming on the beach and reminds them where they can only swim especially when high tide comes already, security is there but it's not really obvious, since his staff are just there watching from a distance.
Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stay, we feel pampered, well taken care of. I recommend this resort to family bondings, team buildings, couples, and friends who want to relax, and just be serene and quiet with nature. If you are the type whose into loud crowd fun, then this Island isn't for you. I would surely go back to this Island and stay a bit longer if given the chance.
3-5 years more, im sure marbuena will be one of the top tourist destination in northern iloilo, right now I could sense that the owner is gearing towards more improvement and beautification of the whole resort. I just hope they maintain its serene ambiance, they will continue to control the number of guests coming to the Island.

For bookings pls contact SIR NOLAN
09074983351

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

This island is within my hometown ajuy. The island is a private island and you need reservation to go there. You can buy food over the town of ajuy to bring it here or while you make a reservation you can also tell them to cook food for you but this come with an addtional price. But no worries the food they will prepared you will surely satisfy your tummy!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank lagawtacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The place is great destination for families, friends and couples. Sandbar is the great place if you want to have a great selfie. The place has great features such as basketball court, miniplayground for the kids and you can trek the whole island and you'll find much more amazing views at the back. Although the place needs more improvement, but Marbuena is certainly a place that has a great potential to be on the top tourist destination in Iloilo.

Room Tip: Don't forget to trek the mountain side of the island. There are lot of great places that will make you awe.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews