We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Goyal_Anupam
Noida, India

Retreat to a laid back life

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jan 2017
The Dunagiri Retreat, run by Piyush Kumar, is a small place up and away in the Kumaon Himalayas. A wonderful place, to have got away from the city, and spent time during the monsoons. What a sight with the clouds and mist coming in and the views of the mountains and valley when it clears.

This place is not for everyone though. No TV, no newspaper, and mobile works occasionally or at certain places only. the food is vegetarian and strictly no booze.

Wonderful treks through the forest. You may be lucky to spot a leopard here.

Any weather is a good time to be here.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹6,583
  • Trip.com
13.7 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
FRONT VIEW
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹6,987
  • Trip.com
14.9 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
17.3 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Restaurant
Room service
15.3 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
16.4 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.5 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.8 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Front view of the property, lush green landscape.
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.3 km from Dunagiri Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chari
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
59
11
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
11
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piece of heaven piyush katy earth souls bliss warmth solitude
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

An amazing place at home with nature the hosts Piyush and Katie are brilliant and helpful the accommodation is excellent .
The tours organised all included in the holiday takes one through wooded walks ,temples and hills with spectacular views of the Himalayas
The food is the best part cooked under the supervision of Panditji is out of this world
I for one definitely intend to go back and stay longer

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Skmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The Dunagiri Retreat is the most fantastic, enchanting, and wonderful place. The combination of an incredible landscape with beautiful forested mountains and views of snow capped peaks, the amazing facilities and rooms offered, and the most helpful and friendly staff make this the perfect retreat. We travelled all around the world last year and visited New Zealand, Cuba, Canada, drove across the US, and traveled in India, but when we got to Dunagiri we said, “this is the place we have to come back to”. We have now returned and our stay the second time lived up to and surpassed our crazed fantasies of this place. Piyush was a wonderful host and ensured that we had everything we needed. All of the staff have been outstanding and we can not thank them enough. And Panditji, the cook, is a god among men, creating heavenly food and ensuring that our stay was magnificent.

Room tip: All rooms are great!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Miles802
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We had a one month retreat at Dunagiri with about seventeen participants. It was one of the most peaceful experiences of my life.

Please don't expect the luxuries of a five star resort. It's a simple place designed for those seeking a genuine, comfortable, friendly and down to earth atmosphere for a retreat.

Here is a note I wrote for Piyush (the owner) while I was there...

Dear Piyush,

I am grateful to you for creating this space. It is a magical, healing and liberating place. The whole environment is perfect for Sadhana and deepening. Thank you for being such a powerful channel of blessings for so many others through your patient and diligent efforts to make such a place a reality.

Thank you and lots of love,

Nithya Shanti

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank joyfultimez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is a place you should go to if you literally want to 'get away from it all'.....no TV, virtually no internet, erratic cell phone coverage, no Malls or markets, no town...yes it is in the middle of nowhere! Nor is it some fancy shmancy resort (note it's called Retreat, not a Resort) --it's pretty basic. Yes you have your decent beds and linen etc but if you come in the monsoon you may not be able to get a change of towels and sheets daily because there's no sunshine to dry the clothes and there certainly aren't any dryers or washing machines, in fact electricity supply is, well, not bad, but it's there when it's there, that's all you'll get. The rooms are nice enough, mostly old village houses converted into rooms, some have better views, the one I stayed in had windows in place of one wall and I loved the open feeling; some rooms have low or sloping roofs so you have to watch your head when you go to the bathroom or at the corners. The rooms are spread over the fairly large property so there's a walk (a few minutes but if you're health is compromised or you have bad knees -you might be just a trifle upset-) and it's on the side of a hill or mountain really there is a fair amount of going up and down from one location to the other, say, the meditation hall -made as a pyramid, the dining room, other rooms, in and out of the property.
The food is more like home cooked than from a hotel but the best part is that they are pretty accommodative if you have any special needs- say if you are vegetarian, vegan or eating oil free etc.
There are places you can hike to --from a 20 minute walk to a few hours and a small town 30-40 minutes drive away. Some temples and of course the famous Kriya Babaji's cave to which people are drawn from all over the world I'm told.
The best part is being totally in the lap of nature and far away from the pollution and hustle bustle of city life. I was just there in the monsoon this time and I loved the downpours. Took a hold of my umbrella and rubber slippers, turned my trousers up and splashed through the water. the grasses and loved watching the flowers beginning to blossom and the potato crop grow. Another visit I was there in February I think and it was much dryer and not anywhere near as green as this time so it depends on the season when you go. There were a few spiders in my room and I came across a couple of scorpions here and there but I left them alone and they left me alone? Of course the boys who work there can easily take them out for you so there's no problem like that.
Enough said!

Room tip: Rooms on the highest level have the best view, one on almost same level as main hall is also good, all are OK really.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Sunita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Dunagiri is a special place indeed. The experience will stay in my heart forever. It really is a trip of a lifetime and far surpassed my expectations in every way. I hope and pray I'll be able to return one day!
Coming from the UK & after a long trip the welcoming hospitality we received was amazing. Piyush and Katy are simply beautiful people with warm, open hearts who care so much for the local area what they are doing here is amazing! Please keep doing it! Giving back to the local village via employment and giving us peace and serenity in the process... it's a small utopia in India.
The retreat operates as a sustainable sharing economy which works on many levels! Dunagiri is stunning with the most serene views, flowers, birds & butterflies everywhere, mother nature at her absolute finest! The facilities are rustic & beautiful, I loved the bucket baths, I thought I might not, but they were nicer than a shower! The food is amazing - vegetarian, fresh local ingredients, the water fresh and pure - I feel like I've had a nourishing detox! Everything you could want and so much more.
Yoga was either outside with a view of the snowcapped peaks of the Himalayas or in the purpose built huge pyramid which was lit beautifully to become a small glowing pod in the evenings.
Our carefully planned trips to temples, ashrams and to spiritual sites made it super special - meeting local villagers who invited us into their homes with warmth and laughter, visiting the local school, meditating at the site of Babaji's cave & meeting a yogi were real hi-lights as well as the gorgeous litter of Himalayan Mastiff puppies that were born during our stay.
It's hard to put into words how grateful I feel to have experienced this magical retreat, it's like a tonic for the soul, I haven't felt as alive, happy and free for a long time (if ever!) I would recommend everyone to go there as medicine or therapy, problems or stress seem to dissolve within hours of arriving!
From the bottom of my heart thank you for such an amazing experience and I will try and spread the word about the wonderful work you do and carry the Dunagiri message in to my own life! Love and peace x

Room tip: I had a room next to the kitchen on ground level in the main house, which was wonderful, amazing views and totally private.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews