We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lords of the Manor(Mooi River)
US$ 136
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Hill Lodge(Mooi River)
US$ 185
US$ 178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hartford House(Mooi River)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
US$ 125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Rearsby Farm(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Milky Lane Cottage(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sunset Cottages(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
37
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbushmans rivernandibalconycottagefishinghousehorsessceneryisolatedunit
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Can't say enough about this place. We stayed in the Lake Cottage for the second time and I think this was even better than our first visit.
The wildlife is fantastic, the area breathtakingly beautiful and the game rangers and incredibly friendly and knowledgable.

We like the self-catering Lake Cottage as it is a kilometer or two away from the main camp and very secluded. Love it!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ruanswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your review of our Lake Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here again!!
Best regards
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We stayed at the self-catering Lake House, a beautiful building in the middle of the farm and very remote. The animals come right to the porch and if you are really quiet you can watch them all the time. We loved the design and feel of the cottage, it is so well equipped so you actually feel like home the moment you step in. We slept so well, the energy of the place is really grounding and you remember why you love Africa. It was magical, thank you dear Zuluwaters Team. Our game drive was stunning, just us and the Conservation Manager, she is such a kind person. We loved the experience. I would love to come back very soon.

Room Tip: The Lake House is quite far away from the main lodge and perfect for a really quiet, nature-focussed stay. Absolutely lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Thank you for your review on our Lake Cottage. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back to ZuluWaters in the near future!!
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks as a volunteer on the reserve, & words fail me as to just how breath taking and refreshing it is. As well as helping with the horses, I went on game drives, rode through the reserve, walked and hiked and tried fly fishing! I visited local attractions, and tried zip lining, all included in my stay. The staff were absolutely amazing, Yulisa and Ryan were fantastic, and Mike was just so kind, & Lesley and Anton were very acomadating. I would recommend staying here to absolutely everyone who loves nature. Thank you so much to everyone at Zulu waters for an unforgettable stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Sandra
Thank you so much for your lovely review of ZuluWaters Volunteering program. We loved having you here and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a visit in the future!!
Best regards
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Staying in the self catering fishermans cottage was fantastic. It is secluded and peaceful and perfect for a romantic getaway. we were also very spoilt with some amazing animal sightings on the reserve which made for great photographs.

Room Tip: The fishermans cottage cannot be beaten for a romantic secluded getaway.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review on ZuluWaters. We loved seeing your amazing photos and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!
Best regards
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

main house accom great.5 guys fishing trip.great food.Poor fishing river also very muddy.
Game an added attraction.
Food and service top end however in the evening staff tended to leave very early.Drivers of vehicles poor ,they really sped along and hit bumps etc,glad I don't own the vehicles.

Room Tip: stay in main house
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Steve
Thank you for your review of your trip to ZuluWaters in 2012.
As I recall, we unfortunately had a lot of rain in the week before your arrival which led to poor fishing in the Bushman's river which normally fishes extremely well - yielding trophy Brown Trout by many of our experienced fly fishing guests.
A short explanation about our Shaka Lodge, which is graded 5 star by the Tourism Grading council of South Africa.... As it is an exclusive-use accommodation, run as a private villa with a private chef, our staff are discreet and unobtrusive and once dinner is served in the evenings, and they have ensured our guests have been well attended to, we find it works well to make their departure, leaving guests to enjoy the privacy of the lodge and enjoy themselves in a home-away-from-home environment. (Which I seem to remember you all did - disovering the owner's private wine cellar and inadvertantly breaking a fair number of bottles of french champagne, as well as bringing all your own alcohol with you despite our having an extremely well stocked bar!!)
We hope you visit again one day with your families - perhaps you will have better luck fishing next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews