We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Silver Hill Lodge(Mooi River)
US$ 188
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hartford House(Mooi River)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lords of the Manor(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Rearsby Farm(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Milky Lane Cottage(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sunset Cottages(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
37
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbushmans riverour honeymoonnandibalconyscenerycottagefishinghousebuckhorsesisolatedblissunit
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks as a volunteer on the reserve, & words fail me as to just how breath taking and refreshing it is. As well as helping with the horses, I went on game drives, rode through the reserve, walked and hiked and tried fly fishing! I visited local attractions, and tried zip lining, all included in my stay. The staff were absolutely amazing, Yulisa and Ryan were fantastic, and Mike was just so kind, & Lesley and Anton were very acomadating. I would recommend staying here to absolutely everyone who loves nature. Thank you so much to everyone at Zulu waters for an unforgettable stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Sandra
Thank you so much for your lovely review of ZuluWaters Volunteering program. We loved having you here and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a visit in the future!!
Best regards
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Staying in the self catering fishermans cottage was fantastic. It is secluded and peaceful and perfect for a romantic getaway. we were also very spoilt with some amazing animal sightings on the reserve which made for great photographs.

Room Tip: The fishermans cottage cannot be beaten for a romantic secluded getaway.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review on ZuluWaters. We loved seeing your amazing photos and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!
Best regards
The ZuluWaters Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

main house accom great.5 guys fishing trip.great food.Poor fishing river also very muddy.
Game an added attraction.
Food and service top end however in the evening staff tended to leave very early.Drivers of vehicles poor ,they really sped along and hit bumps etc,glad I don't own the vehicles.

Room Tip: stay in main house
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Steve
Thank you for your review of your trip to ZuluWaters in 2012.
As I recall, we unfortunately had a lot of rain in the week before your arrival which led to poor fishing in the Bushman's river which normally fishes extremely well - yielding trophy Brown Trout by many of our experienced fly fishing guests.
A short explanation about our Shaka Lodge, which is graded 5 star by the Tourism Grading council of South Africa.... As it is an exclusive-use accommodation, run as a private villa with a private chef, our staff are discreet and unobtrusive and once dinner is served in the evenings, and they have ensured our guests have been well attended to, we find it works well to make their departure, leaving guests to enjoy the privacy of the lodge and enjoy themselves in a home-away-from-home environment. (Which I seem to remember you all did - disovering the owner's private wine cellar and inadvertantly breaking a fair number of bottles of french champagne, as well as bringing all your own alcohol with you despite our having an extremely well stocked bar!!)
We hope you visit again one day with your families - perhaps you will have better luck fishing next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Stayed one night with my son who was spending four nights.Staff very friendly however housekeeping and immediate surrounds need attention. Pop corn remains from previous guests in lounge. Shortage of toilet paper, crockery and cutlery. Outside was littered with cigarette butts. Light bulbs not working in the kitchen. Toilet needs 5 flushes before remains are flushed. Braai facilities need upgrading.....suggest a staircase from the balcony to the braai area for easy access. Housekeeping service not available on the Sunday when we departed. Had to make our own beds and clean up. Trout fishing was amazing!!!
Suggest binoculars in the cabin for game viewing as the wildlife and birdlife is amazing.
This is a great venue but A.T.D. (Attention to Detail) is required.
Environmentally there is some serious erosion. Suggest gabions be put in place to arrest this problem.
This venue has great potential and can be put on the "map" with some finer touches and exposer into the market place.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenz620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you for your review of Nandi House. We would like to apologise for the few small inconveniences you experienced, as we pride ourselves on a high standard of service and cleanliness.
As a Stewardship site with Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife, we have an extensive environmental management program in place which also includes erosion control and veld management, so this is an area which is receiving attention.
Your suggestions of binoculars is great - we will definitely consider this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to ZuluWaters in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

We started off our honeymoon with 2 nights in the self-catering lake cottage and it was absolutely amazing. Quiet, peaceful, no cell-phone signal and breathtakingly beautiful. Already planning a return visit.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yolandi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T, Manager at ZuluWaters Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at ZuluWaters. We also love the Lake Cottage and we hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews