We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
929
186
43
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
186
43
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olah olah restaurant sunset room bedtime story outdoor shower the mango tree spa gili islands our honeymoon balinese massage chocolate cake private pool small resort head chef ocean view warung paradiso turn down service a la carte beach front
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here as part of a holiday traveling around Bali and Lombok.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the staff and were upgraded from a garden room to an ocean view room.
The room was comfortable and nicely laid out, there were two showers one indoor and one outdoor.
The rooms main window opened our onto the central infinity pool and beach which was amazing.
The pool was great and the staff were more than happy to bring drinks to you in the pool, especially during Happy hour which was 5-10.
The restaurant food was excellent, we ate out a couple of times but couldn’t find anywhere that could match the food and the view, sitting overlooking the beach as the sunset.
Warning there are a number of beach sellers that will try and interrupt you meal but they can be move on fairly quickly.

The hotel is 5min taxi from Senggigi and costs around 20000 and can be ordered by the hotel.

We both loved this hotel, the staff were friendly, the food was excellent and the view is amazing to watch the sunset behind Bali accompanied by the house band which is great fun. We recommend highly.

Lombok is billed as Bali 10years ago, and it is there is also no traffic outside of the main town and most of the tourist spots are still quite. If you get a chance go.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Britt0n87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksarjana, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Britt0n87

Thank you for your recent stay and your amazing review at Sudamala Suites and Villas Senggigi Lombok. We always try to do our best to make sure that all of our guests leaving the hotel satisfied. We sometimes mention to our guests that 5 to 7 pm is not a happy hour; it is a cocktail time, because happy hour should be every hour. Thank you very much for the all compliments. I will share your amazing review with all the staff here.

Regards
I Komang Sarjana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Our stay here was an endless surprise chain: one surprise after the next:
-during check-in we already got upgrade
-very warm welcome and detailed explanation of all possible highlights and features offered by this fantastic resort
-personal support from really everybody (starting from reception to house keeping to restaurant staff and top manager)
-well educated, polite and trained staff with high patience
-beach is cleaned every morning after high tide
-large infinity pool with wide overview ocer the ocean (watching returnig fishermen boats in early morning)
-breakfast a la carte (you can find for each taste various selection)
-menu for dinner quite amazing (must try huge plate with different bowls filled with local highlights from fish over chicken to beef and also vegetarian)
-long lasting happy hour from 0500 till 1000 pm with great variety of cocktails
-SPA treatment: nearly whatever you want in very nice relaxing athmosphere and very competent staff
-sufficient amount of deck chairs around pool area including beach towels
-great support and advice from staff arranging trips by hotel tours, private tours, taxi, where to eat outside of resort.....
-....and for last 2 days we even got additional upgrade to villa with own pool and highest privacy
SUMMARY: small luxurious (and therefore not overcrowded) resort for perfect relaxation - no wish was kept outstanding. It's a must visiting this jewel, and we hope we can come back for next years

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristianS9055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksarjana, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Christian S

Thank you for your recent stay at Sudamala Suites and Villas Senggigi Lombok. Nothing could made us proud than having a great review from our guest. Your review certainly would help us to describe our resort facilities and service product to the other traveler.

Last but not least, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for your time to write your great feedback and recommendation with perfect point . When you're happy, we're happy - we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of our team.

We'll be here whenever you're ready to come back. Visit anytime.

Kind regards
I Komang Sarjana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We stayed 3 nights here taking two Sunset rooms. Both rooms were well appointed looked out to the sea a stones throw away. The pool was adequate and is situated next to the bar. All the staff were charmers and very accommodating. We ate at the restaurant the first night and had an uninspiring meal. Second night we ate at Square in Senggigi which was excellent.
Two mishaps while were here. It was torrential rain on the second day and water poured through the roof in two areas. This was fixed straight away despite the weather conditions, poor bloke got soaked through. Secondly i was violently ill with a 24 hour bug or something and was confined to bed. The staff showed a lot of concern continually asking my wife if i was getting better.
To sum up, a good hotel in a superb location and a view ti die for.

Room Tip: The Sunset have best view and location
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipH1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksarjana, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Philip H

Thank you very much for your recent stay and willing to take time to write a review. Glad to hear that you love the view and the staff of our hotel. We are very sorry for the mishaps you encounter during your stay as it should not happen. We are entering the rainy season earlier this year and never knew that there was a leak in your room. We will continue to maintain all the rooms condition than it will never happen again.
I hope that this hasn’t put you off a return stay with us again

Thank you
I Komang Sarjana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Spent 4 nights in Sudamala in Senggigi with family of 5 (3 kids aged 7-11). Excellent property and everybody loved it. Got the idea from Audley Travel (who I have used in the UK being the Telegraph's #1 rated luxury Asia travel operator for years). Wonderful staff who just could not do enough for you (and a shout out for "Sootena" or "na na na" for her wonderful service and amazing memory on our likes).

1. Rooms are very nice, not full 5 star (like say the Umo in Ubud) but very strong 4 star (full air con, large flat screen TV, full mini-bar, with large outside private garden showers - two kinds (my kids loved this).

2. Hotel is right on the beach with quite a large private pool beside the beach bar which then merges onto the beach. Lovely set up. You can dine right on the edge of the beach at night (which is amazing with sunset and waves).

3. Sunsets are amazing. Senggigi is west facing so you get incredible sunsets plus full view of Bali volcanoes. Didn't really appreciate this booking my Bali / Lombok hotels but would always go west facing in Bali / Lombok in the future. It is like being on a Duran Duran video. Watching the sun set on the equator is amazing.

4. Beach is good but is blacker "lava type" sand (nicer to put your towel on the beach loungers). Plenty of snorkelling in the beach out to the reef plus a regular modest wave (great for learning to surf). There is lots of crushed coral underfoot so walking into the water barefoot is a bit painful (no problem with flippers). There is a beach hut doing surf lessons and renting out snorkel gear at the shore.

5. Food is very good. Full range from burgers to Bali cuisine (classic and seafood). Staff were paranoid about hygiene (all the ice is made from mineral water). Lombok is about 20 years behind Bali so dining outside of the hotel is more challenging. Given young kids, we ate in the hotel for all nights and loved it. I found the pricing is fair (not rip off). Breakfast was also very good and covered several courses and types.

6. Senggigi is a great base in Lombok (and safe given how cruder infrastructure is in Lombok vs. Bali). The famous Gili Islands (Air, Meno and T) are a 1 hour boat trip from the front of the hotel (and the hotel organises day trips). Alternatively, you can do a 1 hour drive to the smaller but easier Gili south islands (Naggu is one of the best snorkelling reefs of them all).

7. Senggigi town is pretty crude but it worth a visit (2nd world, if that). There are loads of local tour operators who will organise trips to Gili (north or south islands) for under $15 per head (for 5), where as our home tour operator was charging $85 per head.
We found a great guy in the Art Market (centre of town) Rujiali Travel who we did both sets if islands with and he was excellent). If you are interested in arts and crafts, you will get stuff at 50% of the price that it sells for in Bali in Senggigi town (there is a large warehouse store in the middle of the town).

Lombok is well worth visiting on any Bali trip (no traffic and according to locals, what Bali was 20 years ago), and Sudamala is a great luxury base for this.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank traveller4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksarjana, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear A T

Many thanks for sharing this great feedback. We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at Sudamala Suites and Villas Senggigi and that you have been able to fully embrace the hotel experience. From the beach,the sunset view, the food and to the nice room with large outside private garden showers

I am continuously working with my team to produce the most memorable memories for our guests. Yes we are like Bali 20 years ago, and everybody keep wishing it will be the same. But even if Lombok change time by time we are here at Sudamala will keep our best service for all of our guests.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share such a 5-star feedback. We definitely look forward to have you back with us for many more wow moments.

See you soon.
I Komang Sarjana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

It took approx.1.5hours to get to Sudamala Lombok from Lombok Praya Airport. We rent a local car for airport pick-up. Spent 3 wonderful nights in here and we were so glad we choose the Ocean sea view. The room has big space, clean & tidy. Very nice hotel for just "doing nothing" and relax.. Enjoying the sea view, fresh air and hear the sound of the ocean in every second of our stay.. Especially the beautiful sunset. They have delicious food as well!! Specially the local/indonesian food. We end up with 'not going anywhere else' in lombok nor tried to find another restaurant because Sudamala has all of our needs during our stay. The most important thing is the very friendly & attentive staffs who has been successful in giving the 'soul' in to this hotel..not every hotel has those kind of thing. We love the hotel, the creative activities offered to the guests, the snack along with bedtime stories, and of course the friendship we made even only 3nights. Thank you Sudamala Lombok!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SisSiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksarjana, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear SisSiskey

Thank you for your recent stay at Sudamala Suites and Villas Senggigi Lombok. Nothing could made us proud than having a great review from our guest. Your review certainly would help us to describe our product and service to the other traveler.

Exceeding expectations of our guests is definitely our most important achievement and we are extremely happy that we accomplished that with you on your last Lombok trip at Sudamala.
Now you Know you have your new home in Lombok for every time you wish to be really to be well taken care off.

Come back soon...!

Bets Regards
I Komang Sarjana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews