We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most beautiful cottage we have stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge. The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Yellow Room with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Blue Room which overlooks the lake. Additional £100 charge.
The Blue Room which overlooks the lake. Additional £100 charge.
Guest lounge attached to Rose Cottage. Additional £80 charge for weekend, £120 for week.
Guest lounge attached to Rose Cottage. Additional £80 charge for weekend, £120 for week.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Lake and pack-horse bridge.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Patio in front of Hazelhurst Farm overlooking lake.
Courtyard and water feature.
Snooker room.
Patio overlooking the lake.
The Stables.
Hazelhurst Farm through the entrance gates.
Hazelhurst Farm landscape.
Winter morning sunrise from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
melbourne...
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most beautiful cottage we have stayed in”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The location and quality of everything about Rose cottage was superb.
The attention to detail and consummate good taste inherent in the furnishings and décor was exemplary "above and beyond " for a rental property. The grounds are stunning and proximity to interesting places to visit is great.
Christine made us welcome from minute one , even leaving bread , wine , biscuits etc ..again brilliant attention to detail.
In short everything about the property inside and out ( including lakes , gees, landrovers and a tank..yes ..a tank - Roger , Christine's other half is a very interesting bloke with a very interesting business) was just brilliant .
We wished we could have stayed longer . The Cross Keys was lovely and great value for eating out .
In short , I encourage you to visit .
You wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyG30
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful countryside oasis”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house and surroundings are breath taking, as you drive up to the Cottage. We were given a wonderful welcome by Roger & Christine, as they quickly provided us with information on local attractions and places to eat, and Christine very kindly gave us a lift to one of the local Restaurants on the night we arrived so that we wouldn't have to drive. They had provided a few provisions for us including a delicious cake and bottle of wine which we weren't expecting but greatly enjoyed! We enjoyed walks around the lake and woods and admired the beautiful scenery of the grounds. We also had lots of fun playing on the trampoline in the garden! The house is decorated to a very high standard, and we both share a love of all things "Laura Ashley" so you can imagine how luxurious the rooms are. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding superb, we slept brilliantly. Roger set the snooker table up for us and allowed us to unleash our competitive sides, although I think we all need a little bit more practice!
We honestly wished we could have stayed longer and we all agreed that this was, by far, the nicest place that we have ever stayed. We cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was faultless.
Liked least: Having to leave so early!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth...
New Edinburgh, Canada
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Rose Cottage, Hazelhurst Farm. Well what can we say ? we experienced an exceptionally refined and luxurious stay with excellent accommodation. Interior and exterior surroundings were really beautiful. Beautiful gardens and scenery, lovely walks round the wood and grounds. Roger and Christine the owners made us feel really welcome, we also met their daughter Polly who was home from boarding school. Polly took us round the stables and introduced us to their horses cats and dogs.
A memorable stay, we will return. A must to visit !
Very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay H
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“B & B Heaven”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Christine and Roger are an absolute delight, nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely one night stay and were made to feel so welcome. It was like staying with friends. From fresh milk for your tea, a lovely breakfast,to arranging a table at the Cross Keys Inn (highly recommended), Christine even took us to the inn and brought us home so we didn't have to drive. Hazelhurst farm is in a wonderful location and the accommodation is of an extremely high standard. I agree with the previous comment - Roger is a very keen snooker player so be warned!
Highly recommended we found a gem!

Lindsay Paul Kate & Tom

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Christine & Rogers welcome
Liked least: We only stayed for one night!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Homely Luxury”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Christine and Roger have a wonderful home that they have kindly opened up to the rest of us. My wife and I were their very first guests I am informed. We stayed there for a wedding that was in Buxton.

-Extremely hospitable.
-True luxury, but very homely (which we absolutely love)
-Beautiful location and stunning farm.
-Christine is a very good cook, she kindly made us a romantic meal - highly recommend.
-Great breakfast
-Great room.
-Roger is very good at snooker (as is their daughter) so if the competitive type stay away from the snooker room (just joking).
-They immediately printed off google maps directions etc for us and reserved us places for lunch at a busy local pub

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: What was not to like?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 209
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing