We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven on earth.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Stunning Mull of Kintyre en suite bedroom with spectacular sea views Dundream awaits you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Dundream winner of Scottish Thistle best accommodation provider 2016/17
Stunning Mull of Kintyre en suite bedroom with spectacular sea views
Dundream awaits you!
Dundream House
Dundream sunset views over Mull of Kintyre
Spacious sunny lounge area out to decking area
View from North Rhins of Galloway coastline near Dundream
Spacious dining area with patio doors out to Japanese garden and decking
Relax in the Mull of Kintyre ensuite bathroom with large bath and Sonos audio
Spacious Category 1 accessible shower room on ground floor next to Glenapp bedroom
Family bathroom upstairs with relaxing bath and shower
Super king size double or twin bedded Glenapp bedroom suitable for Category 1 accessibility
Spacious Ballantrae family bedroom with panoramic sea views
Sunny twin bedded Loch Ryan bedroom with spectacular sea and land views
Spacious open plan kitchen
Irish ferry and Mull of Kintyre sunset from decking
Rugged coastline in winter North Rhins of Galloway near Dundream
Another spectacular Dundream sunset over Arran and Ailsa Craig
Pretty seaside village of Portpatrick nearby with seafood restaurants
Port Logan is a lovely beach with hotel in South Rhins of Gallloway
Mysterious misty morning at Dundream
Corsewall Lighthouse hotel and restaurant near Dundream
View of the majestic Glenapp hills on arrival at Dundream
Views on the runway decking at Dundream
Gaze at the dark sky or sunset in Dundream eco hot tub
Festive fun in the hot tub!
Sunrise over Glenapp hills
Elaine the owner!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkcolm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cath_H52
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven on earth.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Dundream was an absolutely perfect holiday location. The house was beautiful but very comfortable and there was plenty of space inside & out for a large group. We were blessed with good weather so enjoyed the stunning views from every room and made full use of the terrace & Japanese garden.

The house was equipped with everything you could need, the 2 ovens made cooking easy. One small suggestion would be to provide some mugs as people rarely use cups & saucers nowadays.(This is not a criticism!)

The location was ideal for exploring the Rhinns of Galloway & lovely to come back to after a day's sightseeing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the many windows.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for sharing your "Dundream" experience. I love the title "A little bit of heaven on earth". It makes all the hard work behind the scenes worthwhile! Thanks also for suggestion of mugs which are now in place at Dundream. Best wishes Elaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally suitable for our needs, wonderful.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have been going on holiday with my friends for many years now, and being disabled and in a wheelchair all day is hard to find somewhere that suits my needs and their needs, without being to clinical, but with 'Dundream' it met all our needs and more. The raised decking was like my race track with amazing views for every angle. So much wildlife I could write for ages. The house has so much space I didn't in the way, even in the kitchen area where I could sit under the hob and do some cooking. The bedroom had plenty of space, and the wetroom had plenty of space for a helper as well which I need. My friends could go upstairs and escape from me, not that they would need to. There were amazing views from every room, it really is a place where dreams come from. Job well done. Thank you Elaine. From Ian, Kathleen and Bernard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Disabled facilities and views
Liked least: The tin opener
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you for this detailed review describing Dundream's accessibility features. I am delighted that everything was satisfactory and that your stay was so enjoyable. It makes all the effort and planning worthwhile. Hope to see you back at Dundream in the near future. Best wishes Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richarda1...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax and take in the views.....”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a superb stay at Dundream as a group of eight - two families of four. The accommodation is stunningly modern and well-equipped with everything that you would expect inside such a luxurious home. What makes Dundream though is the spectacular, panoramic, views from the living area towards the Mull of Kintyre, Northern Ireland, Ailsa Craig, Arran and the hills to the east. I even managed to see the Isle of Man from upstairs on one of the clear days. Elaine is very helpful and friendly to talk to. The whole booking process was nice and easy.

Whilst we were there we visited Wigtown, the Mull of Galloway, Portpatrick and the beautiful and deserted beach at Killantringan Bay (just north of Portpatrick). We also walked down from Dundream to the nearby Corsewall lighthouse. On our final day we took a trip to Belfast from Cairnryan, on request from the younger ones in the group to travel on one of the ferries which pass by many times each day.

My favourite memory though? …. Sitting on the decking outside Dundream on a warm, sunny, late afternoon. Glass of wine in hand, enjoying the wonderful views amidst the peace and quiet interrupted only by the gentle sound of sheep and cows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the living area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thanks for this feedback. It makes all the handwork worthwhile whilst ensuring guests have a lovely stay at Dundream. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Our best holiday ever...”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have been going away with both sets of grandparents for many years now but our visit to Dundream topped the lot. The house is even better than it looks on the website as pictures cannot capture the truly tranquil atmosphere and setting. It had everything and more to cater for the whole group which is no mean feat. The downstairs bedroom and walk in shower were excellent for those over 80 in our group and the superb log burning fire meant that they we're toastie all day long. The Sonos music system was hogged by our teenage children who ensured that appropriate music was being played in different parts of the house. As for the views...well! You simply must go to experience this. I know we'll be back. A huge thank you to Elaine for making us all feel so welcome. The grandparents are still taking about what a warm person you are and about the tasty bread waiting for us on arrival! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2013
It was such a pleasure to have such a lovely family at Dundream and loved the comments from all members of the party. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan G
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous house.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I expected the house to be fabulous from the pictures on the web site but it did not prepare me for the spectacular views in all directions.
The house is of the highest standard with every need catered for.
Elaine, the owner was very welcoming and a mine of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2013
In great appreciation of this review and hope that you return to Dundream in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing