We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired with poor facilities”
Review of Opal Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opal Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korora
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Rooms basic, tired and dated. Gym dated and not available at the times suggested. When reception approached about inability to access gym, another key was provided didn't work. This occurred at both morning and evening. Staff polite but unresponsive. Meals relatively expensive for the quality provided. Tiles in public areas cracked and steps uneven in places. Lifts slow and relatively limited information provided to guests within room. Beds firm and not very comfortable. Overall a very basic offering, with limited facilities and staff who were not particularly customer focused.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better but generally advise avoiding this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gregsL3239NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

I do apologise for the issue you had in accessing our gym. We have found a fault in the door lock which has now been replaced.

Unfortunately unexpected maintenance issues do arise from time to time and we do thank you for reporting this issue to reception.

We do have signs in our lifts and also every room in the property advising our guests that we are in the middle of a major renovation.

We have just completed installing new carpet in each corridor and room, new hi speed Wi Fi and an upgraded Foxtel package. Our next stage is a complete room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

I do hope you will come back to see the changes we have made.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Opal Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights with my kids for school holidays, very nice and had everything we needed.
Amazing location being so close to be beach, pool was great (prob better not to come in July as it was ice cube city)
Games room, massive field nearby, 5-10 min drive to Coffs and the Big .
Def recommend for family!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Trent S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Opal Cove Resort.

I am pleased your family had such a good time at the resort and got to experience some of our great facilities.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Opal Cove Resort was quite nice but could have been nicer. The room decor particularly the bathroom needs to be upgraded.

Hotel pool was freezing and the hot tub could also have been hotter.

It is in a nice setting though, however the sea is quite rough and not really suitable for swimming in. You can have a paddle in the water on the very scenic beach.

The friendly staff and quality of food in Horizons restaurant is probably this hotels saving grace. The food is of a good selection and standard even though a little bit pricey.

I did have to complain about someone strimming bushes right outside my room before 8am and to be fair it didn't happen again.

It does look like the hotel are in the process of doing some refurbishments so hopefully that is taken systematically all through the hotel.

Would I stay here again - not sure I would check out recent TripAdvisor posts before rebooking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank PAISLEYBUDDIE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Paisleybuddie16,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently in the process of a major upgrade to the property which is being done in stages to limit the negative impact on our guests.

This major renovation includes a full room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

I do hope you will make the decision to come back and stay with us again so you are able to see all the great changes we have made.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Worst night ever! Old stinky room. Do not book Opal Cove!
Outdated furniture,carpets and decor. Spiders and bugs in room. Rude and unhelpful staff. Noisy surroundings and generally a horrid nights sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Ashleigh P,

We encourage our guests to raise any issues they may have during their stay to give us a chance to rectify the issue.

Please refer to the signs in each room at the property and also in each lift as we are currently in the process of major upgrades including a full room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

We have just installed new carpet in every room and corridor including our reception area so I am a little bit confused to your comments about out dated carpet.

Due to the environment we live in we do get the occasional bug or insect which could have been resolved with a quick call to reception.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This place needs up grading badly. Staff needs to acknowledge the guests from when they are away from the checking desk. Speaking for my room only it is so out dated the bath over the shower so eighties, the door lock inside don,t work the bed sheets are so cheap and just over all not clean, so Opel Cove management you guys have so much work this place would have been amazing but we are in 2017.

Management will respond we are on it etc but my complaint are so basic from housekeeping to maintenance easy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Brad D,

This is a very disappointing review as we are currently doing major upgrades to the property including a complete room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

Signage is in each room at the property and also in the lifts to ensure our guests are aware of the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korora
1.6 km away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
0.9 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
377 reviews
6.0 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#13 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,594 reviews
0.8 km away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#25 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
121 reviews
3.8 km away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Opal Bvd, Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Korora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korora
Price Range: ₹ 5,801 - ₹ 13,466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, 3 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, games room, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing