We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
133
333
271
132
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
333
271
132
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roombit datedschool holidaysovernight staygreat spottennis courtshorizons restaurantconferenceopal
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights with my kids for school holidays, very nice and had everything we needed.
Amazing location being so close to be beach, pool was great (prob better not to come in July as it was ice cube city)
Games room, massive field nearby, 5-10 min drive to Coffs and the Big .
Def recommend for family!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Trent S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Opal Cove Resort.

I am pleased your family had such a good time at the resort and got to experience some of our great facilities.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Opal Cove Resort was quite nice but could have been nicer. The room decor particularly the bathroom needs to be upgraded.

Hotel pool was freezing and the hot tub could also have been hotter.

It is in a nice setting though, however the sea is quite rough and not really suitable for swimming in. You can have a paddle in the water on the very scenic beach.

The friendly staff and quality of food in Horizons restaurant is probably this hotels saving grace. The food is of a good selection and standard even though a little bit pricey.

I did have to complain about someone strimming bushes right outside my room before 8am and to be fair it didn't happen again.

It does look like the hotel are in the process of doing some refurbishments so hopefully that is taken systematically all through the hotel.

Would I stay here again - not sure I would check out recent TripAdvisor posts before rebooking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank PAISLEYBUDDIE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Paisleybuddie16,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently in the process of a major upgrade to the property which is being done in stages to limit the negative impact on our guests.

This major renovation includes a full room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

I do hope you will make the decision to come back and stay with us again so you are able to see all the great changes we have made.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Worst night ever! Old stinky room. Do not book Opal Cove!
Outdated furniture,carpets and decor. Spiders and bugs in room. Rude and unhelpful staff. Noisy surroundings and generally a horrid nights sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hi Ashleigh P,

We encourage our guests to raise any issues they may have during their stay to give us a chance to rectify the issue.

Please refer to the signs in each room at the property and also in each lift as we are currently in the process of major upgrades including a full room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

We have just installed new carpet in every room and corridor including our reception area so I am a little bit confused to your comments about out dated carpet.

Due to the environment we live in we do get the occasional bug or insect which could have been resolved with a quick call to reception.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This place needs up grading badly. Staff needs to acknowledge the guests from when they are away from the checking desk. Speaking for my room only it is so out dated the bath over the shower so eighties, the door lock inside don,t work the bed sheets are so cheap and just over all not clean, so Opel Cove management you guys have so much work this place would have been amazing but we are in 2017.

Management will respond we are on it etc but my complaint are so basic from housekeeping to maintenance easy.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Brad D,

This is a very disappointing review as we are currently doing major upgrades to the property including a complete room refurbishment in a new modern décor.

Signage is in each room at the property and also in the lifts to ensure our guests are aware of the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Went here for breakfast as a local told us how great it was. It was AWFUL the bacon obviously had been cooked a couple of hours ago it was so hard we both coud not eat it. Breakfast sausages were tasteless. The coffee from the coffee machine was luke warm and the plates were so old you could see the scratches in them. Really terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PADDLE4857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your breakfast experience with us.

I am hoping our staff were able to resolve your issue in a timely manner at breakfast for you.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews