We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opal Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sapphire Motel(Coffs Harbour)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacific Bay Resort(Coffs Harbour)
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 127
US$ 123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 82
US$ 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 198
US$ 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aquajet Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
US$ 78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palms Motor Inn(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
US$ 82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastal Bay Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Beach Resort Motel(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachpark Apartments Coffs Harbour(Coffs Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
129
330
260
132
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
330
260
132
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomrooms are largebit datedschool holidaysovernight staybeautiful locationgreat spottennis courtsbig bananahorizons restaurantconferenceopal
Filter
Updating list...
857 - 862 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Well I was sort of excited when I was told I had to attend a training course here my wife and ibhad stayed here a few years ago and the location is good but this trip which was organised by my employer was disappointment the rooms smelt musty on arrival and I thought given that the aircon is dependent on your room key being in the slot I would give it a chance but even with key in and AC on all night when I awoke to the lovely aroma my mind was taken back to Bali but not in a good way. The staff have been great the food at restaurant was sensational but the onsite golf course isn't being looked after ie the greens were as long as the first cut. So we just played closest to the pin as putting wasn't really an option. I would probably stay again but would leave sticks at home and try and get anything but a resort room, ie pay more overall the stay left a sour taste but this could of been the musty smell.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a double room. Clean and well kept room and if you get an even numbered room you'll have an ocean view.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Not what you see on the internet...
Preferred to leave after one night and forfeit our deposit.
Apart from the young lady at the desk at checkout, service was disappointing, 'cooked' breakfast was awful and room was not cleaned properly from previous occupant.
Probably was a great place in the 1980's when the lobby fountains last ran.
One good thing, the bed was very comfortable........

Room Tip: Apparently the apartments are in better condition than the villas.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaDenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed as a family and found the hotel disappointing. It is not cheap and the whole atmosphere was low key, low service and dull.

The rooms were comfortable and clean but did not rate above a global 3 str rating. The public areas of the hotel were well worn and very basic. The pool area and gardens were pleasant for ideal for children. The food was poor. Both dinner and breakfast is offered with minimum service and is very pub style which was disappointing for the overall cost of the rooms.

The look of the hotel is dated and the food and service poor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stay here about once a month, overnight. I find it a great place to stay, it's relaxed, comfortable and clean. Located in a great setting. Staff are invariably very pleasant and accomodating. Rooms are large and well appointed. Bathrooms a little dated and could do with a revamp.
Rooms are equipped with digital TVs, but only very limited austar channel choice,i.e. 1 sport channel, nickelodeon and a travel channel. No movie channels.

Restaurant is very good as is the bar. There is the choice of a-la-carte dining in the Horizons restaurant, or you can make a selection from the all-day menu and eat in lounge area of the bar. This usually works well, except at busy times when the tables don't get cleared and you have to enjoy your meal amidst a whole lot of empty glasses and used napkins, which can be a little off-putting. Room service is also available and it too is very good.

Rates a very reasonable for what's on offer. Beach, pool, gym, games room, tennis, golf, you name it! Perfect for a family holiday with lots of activities on offer. My son, in particular, loves the place.

As you can see, Opal cove has some faults but I have always found that their friendly and efficient staff more than make up for them. Certainly worth a look.

Happy hour at the bar between 5pm-6pm.
Close to Coffs harbour shops and business centre
Conference facilities available

Room Tip: Where possible choose an oceanside room as opposed to resort side room. You will get great view of beach, ocean etc.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dt200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews