We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good place to stay after all these years”
Review of Opal Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opal Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korora
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I've stayed at Opal Cove Resort in Coffs Harbour about 6 or 7 times over the past 10 years - sometimes with the family for an "overnighter" on the way to QLD and sometimes for a conference. The rooms are clean and tidy, though a little dated these days. In my most recent stay for a conference in March 2011, the room had a sizeable work desk, which was good for getting on with emails, etc before and after the conference sessions. Food is always good at Opal Cove (our sons love the buffet breakfast). However, the management needs to consider some serious upgrading of the rooms and general areas to bring it out of the Apricot 80's. It's too good a location and facility in general not to have the money spent on it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view room. If you end up with a mountain view room, you will have the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 841 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

A wonderful location right on the beach with all the amenities you would expect of a good 4 star resort -- pools, tennis courts, long beach walks, golf course and a games room. The rooms are spacious and good value. Sadly the food is not good value, starting with breakfast which is an over-priced dismal affair with poor coffee. You have to pay extra $4 for a cappuccino. The resort is a $20plus one-way taxi trip to the town, which has many restaurants to choose from, but this adds to your cost. Ask for a villa, self-cater and all will be well.

Room Tip: ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

A big resort style hotel. Great for gfamilies.

Although i was on business i may consider going back for leisure.

Rooms could do with modernising a bit more, it is a 70,s style theme.

Beach 2 mins, great pools, and good food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

So I've given Opal Cove an average/poor rating. It was a mixed bag. The room was nice. It was clean and comfortable. The bed was great and the shower hot and powerful. It was tastefully decorated and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. The food was also ok. Not amazing but it was plentiful. The staff on the other hand really need some tips on customer service. Reception staff ranged from in difference to just plan rude. Check out was a nightmare having been accused of not paying when I know as a matter of fact that everything had been pre paid. Really they had me over a barrel as they had taken an inprint of my credit card on check in. Lucky I was there for work as was my manger however instead of checking with them directly they made me run backwards and forwards at least 3 times only be told once again that no it had not been paid. I became so annoyed at this point I told them to speak to my manger directly if they did not believe me. I was basically accused of lying. As you can imagine this left a really bitter taste in my mouth. There are better options in Coffs Harbour at much cheaper cost. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rroger_rramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The gym was a disgrace. Breakfast was good value, the bed was super comfy and the rooms large, the whole place is dated and needs an upgrade. Staff, some were friendly others seemed not to care.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korora
0.9 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
398 reviews
6 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#14 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
201 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,942 reviews
0.8 km away
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
Nautilus Beachfront Villas & Spa
#21 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
132 reviews
3.8 km away
Park Beach Resort Motel
Park Beach Resort Motel
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Opal Bvd, Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Korora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korora
Price Range: ₹ 5,702 - ₹ 15,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, 3 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, games room, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing