We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
118
40
25
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
40
25
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mag rock amazing views lobster overlooking the ocean chef scott during low tide outer reef bar downstairs main restaurant fun to watch awesome spot few weeks watch the sunset super fun fellow travelers tide pools surf lessons
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Place sits on a cliff, overlooking MagRock, Beginner's Bay, Popoyo Beach and whatever else you can see....great place for breakfast, lunch, a sunset cocktail or dinner....themed menus and even a circus occasionally....the yoga room on the third floor and rooms for rent on the north facing cliff... .surfboard rentals and motorbikes.....I even saw a fishing excursion go out. Great place to check the surf as well.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Wandering D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland d, host at Magnific Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

We are really happy to hear this Wandering D! All the very best for you, and hope to see you down here again again ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

First, the place was beautiful and the food was incredible (they must have upped the menu because there were bad reviews about the food.... which turned out to be ALL false....) Second, the people made the experience!!! From the moment I walked in, Keri and Aaron made me feel at home. I was planning on only staying for 2 nights but I extended for 6 nights. I'm now in the process of planning my trip back.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angelaE6498MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland d, Host at Magnific Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Thanks for the review Angela. Was a pleasure having you here, we can't wait for you to come back. Fishing part 2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed in the apartment overlooking the water and just had the best time. Amy and her staff were super helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The food was delicious and we loved the surf and yoga. Will be recommending this place to everyone and trying to come back ASAP. Thank you Magnific Rock for such an amazing holiday!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland d, Host at Magnific Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thanks for the review Lauren, it was great having you guys here. We will be awaiting your return :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Overall it was a great stay. The service was wonderful and the sunset views were unreal. Dorm rooms were your standard hostel, hot and quite a few bugs and the prices were quite high. MagRock is fairly secluded so the high prices make sense. Would recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hotelstaff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland d, Owner at Magnific Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Great food, good drinks but after dark they turn the lights on and it becomes an international insect convention! Every restaurant table has lights above and us swarmed by a million insects. It's unbearable. Insects in your drinks, in your food, landing all over you. Never seen or experienced anything like it. Total disaster and extemely unpleasant.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anonymous2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rowland d, Owner at Magnific Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Really glad to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks! We know the exact night you are referring to - there really were an abnormal number of bugs about! We don't usually have a problem with insects because of the constant offshore winds. We hope to see you back soon to enjoy a true Magnific Rock dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews