We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Boutique Hotel-Highly Recommend but Beware Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun Boutique Hotel-Highly Recommend but Beware Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was very trendy- it felt as if it belonged in Miami. The concierge staff was very helpful and gave us great recommendations for dining and off the beaten path excursions. The beach front was well kept with helpful staff to provide umbrellas, towels, and chairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel and was very happy with my experience. Finally, the location was ideal because it was halfway between Old San Juan and Fajardo, where many of the excursions like snorkeling, kayaking, and el Yunque take you.

Warnings:
Breakfast is not included. The hotel breakfast is $14 but there are excellent $3 breakfasts to be had at Ruebens and Mi Casita, both within walking distance. The papaya milkshake at Ruebens is a must!

You cannot access the hotel directly from the main street with all of the restaurants. Instead there is an alley way. As two young women traveling, my friend and I always walked the extra block at night to access the hotel via another main road and then the beach road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
WBC is in the best location and the ocean right in front of our entrance, everything you need is steps away. Priceless… Thank you for your visit and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    422
    106
    36
    20
See reviews for
136
725
82
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hoboken, nj
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a phenomenal stay at this hotel. Everyone on staff was so nice and went out of their way to make our stay as great as possible. The staff on the beach serve complimentary snacks while you're laying in the sun and the two restaurants have amazing food. The lighting and decor is awesome and the you can't beat the beach across the street - we woke up looking at the waves every morning. There are a bunch of other hotels in walking distance down the street and there is a walgreens just a block away which was super convenient. It's also in a very safe area - we walked around late at night without a problem and enjoyed the other hotels/restaurants. I really can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel - I would definitely go back and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing the ocean and it was very quiet and wonderful waking up to the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shifrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much. We appreciate all feedback but of course a glowing review as yours is a real pleasure to see on Trip Advisor. Thank you for mentioning so many great points on our hotel starting with the staff, location and the great service you experienced. Please know that the SJWB Club Hotel is here and waiting for you return.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for one wek from April 14th--21st. The beach is right outside the hotel; The service is very friendly and accommodating; Tours are right at your door; (Be sure to say Hi to Carlos and his wife Frances who work for the tour company). The rooftop view and deck is amazing; Our oceanview room is very clean, and trendy; Nothing fancybut very clean, and comfortable; but who spends time there; Casinos, restaurants, and other hotels very close; Recommend the mediterran cafe on the beach at the Intercontintental Hotel;
Be sure to go on the rainforest, luquillo beach and cave tours; you get to see other parts of the island this way; Old San Juan is a must, about 15 minutes by cab; Eat lunch at the Hotel El Convento(an old convent); the courtyard restaurant for lunch was great; service and food excellent; If we were to go back we would stay here! (say hello to the day valets Jose Guzman and Xavier from the crazy guys from OHIO.

Room Tip: beach front room, high floor, can hear the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the 5 stars and this review. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed…THE BEST HOTEL ON THE BEACH! Please let us know when you are returning so we can make sure you receive the VIP welcome back.
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed Thurs April 12- Mon April 15th
Pros:
- Great location - right on the beach and close to restaurants/bars/other hotels (Intercontinental, san jose), walkway to isla verde avenue.
- Great beach - beautiful, clean beach. And the staff was always around when needed. Whe we arrived we were greeted and provided towels, and chairs & umbrella were set up where ever we wanted, and the waitresses were around and very attentive. We were also pleasantly suprised when one of the staff came out with free freshe fruit
- Safe location - we walked everywhere day and night without any issues.
- Great staff - from cleaning crew, to door men, to front desk staff, to beach staff.
- Nice rooms. Comfortable bed. We were on the 4th floor. The rooms were always cleaned.
- We were allowed to check in early.
- We got a free upgrade to ocean view
- The terrace was absolutely beautiful. The pictures are accurate. It's a great view and the atmosphere is great at sunset and night.
- Free wifi and computer room where you can print
Cons:
- The blue lighting in the halls and elevator was dim and made me feel uneasy because it gives the feel of a cheap motel that is trying to hide something, but I got over it.
- I was relieved we did not pay for the ocean view because the windows were dirty, which would have bothered me if I paid for the view.
- There was a morning or two when the maids were loud enoug to interrupt our sleep (doors slamming and talking loudly)
OVERALL - GREAT HOTEL!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view before you get there. Get a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pic-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your informative feedback. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious words are really appreciated We accept and use all comments offered- the pros and the cons- as tools to know what we are doing right and where we can improve, equally important is our ability to deliver to you what a true SJWB Club Hotel experience is all about; with that said WE THANK YOU FOR THE 5 STARS!
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Water Club this past January for our 43rd wedding anniversary. We have been celebrating our anniversary at the club for the past 7 years. We look forward to our visit every year. The staff is great. They have a new manager who is so sweet, friendly and a bonus for the hotel. We just love Lleyda (Jada) and Virna, Pedro the chaise lounge keeper. He makes sure we have two chaise chairs, towels and umbrella all set up. He goes out of his way as does the whole staff to make our stay there special. We feel special by the way we are treated. Love the design of the building. The continental breakfast. The lounge on the roof top with fantastic appetizers and drinks. The beach is combed daily. The staff make us feel like family. Everyone is so friendly, helpful and courteous. We have witnessed beautiful weddings on the beach. Friendly visitors and have made some friends along the way. Do miss William, the doorman. Hopefully he will be rejoining the club. We tried to check out another hotel on the beach and was treated like tresspasers. We have taken advantage of seeing Old San Juan fortress, the rain forest and illuminating bay. Did not know that they have a coffee place to visit. Will check it out next year when we come back. We recommend the Water Club to everyone. Our daughter originally stayed there and told us about it and have been going there ever since.

Room Tip: Love the ocean view rooms. Plus on weekends, prefer rooms midway up, like the 8th floor. Music and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you! I have had the pleasure of working here for many years now and one of the best parts of the Water Beach Club Hotel is that we have so many guests; like yourself who return year after year. I LOVE welcoming them back. We are glad you have been a long time fan and that you appreciate its genuine and friendly atmosphere. We are only as fabulous as though who stay with us; our loyal guests as you are a huge reason we have remained the best hotel in Puerto Rico.
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
1.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
7.0 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
7.2 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
5.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,062 - ₹ 21,665
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Isla Verde, Puerto Rico - Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing