We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed; hotel unable to remedy situations; switched hotels mid-trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I are taking our honeymoon in PR. We decided we'd stay in a nice resort for the first few nights, and downsize for the last 3. Based on mostly good reviews, we chose Hampton Inn & Suites. It wasn't ALL bad, but bad enough for us to check out early, ask for a refund, and go elsewhere
When we arrived, we thought it looked quite nice. The lobby is well done. Staff is friendly. We were given a "non-smoking" room that reaked of smoke. It was also damp, smelled moldy, had a very strong "covering-up-bad-smell-with-low cost air-freshened" smell. It was quite gross. The carpet is a dingy brown, and the rooms are dark. Not much light from the window. We checked diligently for bed bugs and found none (phew!). Bathroom had a bad smell, and tub was DIRTY. We opened the window, but mosquitoes swarmed in . We asked for a screen for the window to air out the room. They do not have screens. We asked to switch rooms. We were told that no other rooms were available. So we stayed the night. They told us that the next day they'd do an air purification treatment in the room. When we came back after being out for 4 hours, there was a small machine in the room , barely making noise, and seemingly not doing much. The smell was overwhelming. They said they couldn't switch our room until the next day. That night, we found an online deal to spend our last night in a luxury resort up the street. That day, a staff member had told us that people before us had complained about that room. The occupants the previous week were smoking.
So, the hotel KNEW that the room had a foul odor, yet they did not remedy the issue before putting guests in the room.
We checked out early, and at the desk there is a plaque that states that if the customer isnt satisfied they don't have to pay. We were comped one of the nights. I didn't push for both. Staff are friendly, and seemed to understand
Side note: LOTS of families with kids. We knew that going in, but just reinforcing that it's a family hotel.
I'm not one to complain, and this place wasn't a complete flop.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suiteflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,344 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Room is good. (King suite facing pool). Average condition, few amenities (no bar, restaurant, etc...except pool bar w/food outside). Quiet...except for some airport noise and loud voices from adjoining room through closed doors. Typical free Hampton breakfast buffet.
However, lousy neighborhood. Run down, dirty streets and buildings. Nearby beach is dirty with piles of sea weed. Next time I would pay the extra for Condado area resort hotel or stay in Old San Juan. It's $50 round trip cab, incl tip to Old San Juan, where all the city's character is. Spend a day touring Old San Juan, impressive castles/forts, neat streets and shops. $19 plus tip to Pan American cruise ship dock from this hotel.

Room Tip: Suite, facing pool seems to muffle most airport noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floridasailor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Before we were ready to take off on first cruise, we stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Isla Verde. It is well located, being about 15 minutes from the airport and in walking distance to key places in Isla Verde. The front desk staff was very friendly from the first point we arrived. I liked how they had free drinks all day. The interior of the property was nice, but the room was worn around the edges. It was obvious that the lobby and other areas of the hotel were refurbished while the rooms were a bit neglected. However, the room was spacious, and the beds were comfortable. We had a nice view of pool. The free breakfast was a plus and helped to save time since we had a tour of El Yunque rainforest the next morning. On our first day, I really wanted to try the infamous El Churry sandwich, which has three types of meats served from a food truck on Isla Verde street where we where staying. It was a long walk from the hotel through rain and way at the other end. Sadly, when we got there around 4 p.m., the truck was closed. However, that night we walked across the street to another Hilton property, El San Juan Resort & Casino, and caught a free concert featuring the Gypsy Kings. Overall, it was a nice stay at the Hampton Inn and in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for one night before our cruise in early April 2012. It is located between the airport and cruise port AND it's only 1-2 blocks from the beach . . . a fabulous beach!!! The rooms were clean and spacious. Nice pool with a bar/grill. The food prepared at the grill was wonderful!!! There was a wide variety at the breakfast the next morning. Also, there were plenty of taxi waiting to take all the guests to the cruise port!! I highly recommend this Hampton Inn!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SherryLynn1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I'm a fan of Hampton Inns, as they consistently seem to offer the best value for the money compared to any other chain. The San Juan Hampton Inn is just terrific. The front desk staff is charming, friendly, efficient and helpful. The food at the grill by the pool is great, especially the burgers. The view to the parking lot isn't the best, but a couple of drinks cures that. Our king suite was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable, also with a lousy view, but that wasn't why we were here: just an overnight before a cruise. The gym and pool are both kinda small but perfectly decent. Excellent breakfast in a comfortable setting. The location is great, right by the airport, with plenty of restaurants nearby and the beach across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.8 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
5.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.2 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan

Address: 6530 Isla Verde Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7171, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: ₹ 17,452 - ₹ 27,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Isla Verde area, the Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan hotel is perfect for business and leisure travelers with a swim-up Cabana Pool Bar & Grill, weekday evening reception, free WiFi and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Juan
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Hampton Inn Carolina
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Puerto Rico
Hampton Inn San Juan
Carolina Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan Isla Verde, Puerto Rico - Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing