We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Room was nice. Beach left a little to be desired. Food was pricey, but excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,483
    842
    454
    174
    127
See reviews for
751
1,174
70
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had the best ever Pina Colada in the bar! The hotel looks absolutely luxurious. The staff is nice, however, if you need something the say it is OK, but in reality you have to ask it at least four times... The pool is nice but waiting an hour for a cocktail kills the feeling.

Room Tip: Pay for an Ocean View room. It is worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have stayed at this location twice in the last 18 months with our pre-teen kids. Both times it was mid-winter and we were looking for a quick getaway to the warm weather.
The Ritz Carlton offers all the quality you would expect from a Ritz Carlton as well as all of the convenience. The resort is less than a five minute cab ride from the airport and located right on the beach in Isla Verde. We stayed on the concierge floor for both trips and the service was great. The Concierge room was always well stocked with snacks and drinks as well as a very good breakfast on a daily basis and great pre dinner snacks and deserts. The staff was always helpful with information regarding places to visit on the island as well as recommendations for restaurants although I should add that there are two awesome restaurants right on the property Il Mulino and the BLT Steakhouse, I would suggest reservations for both as many visitors from other hotels also frequent these restaurants..
The hotel pool is a decent size with plenty of beach chairs. There is bar service is on top of their game and keep you topped off all day. The Resort is also right on the beach so you have the best of both worlds. If you prefer to venture out you are a short cab ride to the town of old San Juan where there are plenty of shops and tourist attractions.
This place has become our default destination to escape the winter blues.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Ritz Carlton San Juan for 5 nights to celebrate our 30th anniversary! We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all the amenities. Make sure to upgrade to the concierge level, it's a great deal and includes meals & drinks.
A key factor at this hotel for us was the service. From the time you check in to check out, the ladies & gentlemen of the Ritz Carlton are dedicated to making your stay a pleasure! By the end of our stay we felt like we were leaving family. We look forward to going back in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, it just adds to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socalgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I got a room at the Ritz in Isla Verde for a quick two day get away,I took a cab from the San Juan airport which was about $17 plus a $1 fee for each bag, what!!! Anyway we went to this hotel because I like Marriott Properties plus it had great reviews. The hotel is five minutes away from the airport, when we got there it looked great and well kept, just like what you would expect from the Ritz. The Lobby was very clean and cozy and Venus at the front desk was most helpful and made us feel at home. The romm was nice and clean (they clean the rooms twice each day), the bed was comfy and the bedding up par, no problems so far. The buffet breakfast was expensive $28 per person (it's the Ritz) for the full buffet which was delicious, the restaurants looked nice but we never ate there, we were in search of authentic Puerto Rican fare.
So what are my issues? well it's not so much with the hotel , more so with the taxi service which gives the hotel a bad name. Taxi service is very very expensive, my advice to you is to rent a car, it's way way way way and might I add way cheaper!!! I i told you how much we spent on taxi service you would laugh, trust me you are not prepared for this. I knew I was going to spend some cash, I'm on vacation that's what you do but when the minimum you can pay for a cab ride is $10 each way, it does not matter how short the distance. $21 from the hotel to old San Juan and $21 back, trust me you will be going to old San Juan more than once, there is a lot to see.
So as I said, I was in search of Real Puerto Rican food, there are a couple restaurants a short walk from the hotel, ask anyone at the front desk they will direct you. Platos was great so was the one that was located beside the cockfighting facility, great food I tell you. One morning we decided to go to a local beach area called piniones where the locals congregate. Decent area but it's not isla Verde or Condado for that matter, don't go there at night is what I was told.
Cab brought us there in from the hotel, after $12 and 10 minute cab ride we were there, we enjoyed the food and mingled a little, we were mofongoed out and ready to go, only one problem, the cab drivers refused to pick us up, after all the money I spent on taxi service all of a sudden it did not make any financial sense for the to pick us up as there is traffic and it would take the longer than 10 minutes to get there, also they would risk lossing their place in line to suck another unsuspecting Ritz Carlton guest of some more money. This is how it was explained to me after I called concierge and requested a taxi and nobody showed up for more than an hour. Apparently the cab drivers can refuse to pick you up if they think they will losse money, so we were stuck for more than 2 hours until great guys like Greggory and Johnny at the Ritz valet made it happen.
Ok so rent a car, don't use the cabs there, hotel was great thought and we had a wonderful time albeit.

Room Tip: Rent a car, don't use the taxi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
8.0 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,675 reviews
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
6.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,699 - ₹ 57,657
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Isla Verde, Puerto Rico - Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing