We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed, but expected more from a ritz property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed, but expected more from a ritz property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We just came back from a 4 night stay. The hotel was very nice, with some flaws that can't be overlooked. There was stains on the furniture in lobby bar. Half the staff was trained very well, half weren't. Front desk staff were very nice. Marco who checked us in really put in effort to get us early check in. Concierge gave us consistently bad info. From restaurants to transportation to old San Juan. Our room wasn't cleaned when we came back to the room at 4 pm. Response was we have until 5. Truth was they were short staffed on Sunday.

The restaurants were all really good, highly recommend eating on property for few extra dollars it's worth it. Beach and pool were nice. Some staff around beach and pool were good some not.

Ritz Carlton management should be on top of all their properties and training of their staff.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jetrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    849
    458
    176
    130
See reviews for
766
1,185
70
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I found a off-season, summer package for the Ritz Carlton in Isla Verde Puerto Rico. The experience was first class all the way. Upon checkout I gave praise to the staff, especially to the man who turned down the bed at night, filled the ice bucket, freshened the towels, and left the room as if housekeeping had just finished with it that afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Have visited this property at least 15 times in as many years ...it works well as a quick getaway from New York......so if you can overlook the crowded pool area with spotty service sometimes aloof staff less than average club level you should be fine. We are Gold status Ritz Carlton members and have years and hundreds of nights at properties all over the globe. I have no gain by criticizing the Ritz Carlton San Juan so he only purpose of this review is to help others ....so if you keep your expectations in check and don't mind the steep prices you will be fine. This visit Il Mulino was just okay BLT was outstanding! Take a walk over to the El San Juan nice place for a drink and the restraunt Picola Fontana is always good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent 3 night 4/20 to 4/23, Check-in was good, upgraded to a Jr Suite it was Ok because it had a small balcony overlooking the pool. If I did not get a balcony I don’t think it’s worth paying for the upgrade. Things are a little pricy but that what comes with staying at The Ritz. The pool was nice and so was the beach and there were more the enough lounge chairs for all and there weren’t too many kids as stated in other trip advisor posts. The Casino was small with a lot of penny and nickel slots a few quarter slots and very few dollar and up slots and the tables where quite worn out, they needed to be recovered or replaced. I do have to say that the service was excellent from check-in to poolside service, room service, restaurant staff and the casino. The most impressive thing was that the counter clerk that I checked-in with remembered me by name 3 days later. The location is ok, you can walk to a few restaurants, Walgreens & another casino or on Saturdays from 2 to 10 pm you can go across the street and watch the “Cock Fights” for $10, I passed on that one. The Hotel is showing some age but not too bad, my only complaint was when you get off the elevators in the lobby you do smell a bit of mold/mildew in the air just in that one area. I think if the upkeep on the building was a little bit better, I would call it "The Ritz"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randyg1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

First time at the Ritz San Juan. The beach is perfect - calm and pretty. The staff was really nice and helpful. No pretense here, just good service and a good time.
Restaurants: Take a cab to the Condado section. Have the paella at Bar Gitano. Oh, and for lunch, try the Cuban sandwich at the Ritz' beach bar.
My sister and I had spa treatments.. very nice staff.. very good facials.
Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramos_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
6.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.7 km away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,146 - ₹ 53,389
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Isla Verde, Puerto Rico - Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing