We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much change since last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not much change since last visit.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Have visited this property at least 15 times in as many years ...it works well as a quick getaway from New York......so if you can overlook the crowded pool area with spotty service sometimes aloof staff less than average club level you should be fine. We are Gold status Ritz Carlton members and have years and hundreds of nights at properties all over the globe. I have no gain by criticizing the Ritz Carlton San Juan so he only purpose of this review is to help others ....so if you keep your expectations in check and don't mind the steep prices you will be fine. This visit Il Mulino was just okay BLT was outstanding! Take a walk over to the El San Juan nice place for a drink and the restraunt Picola Fontana is always good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    865
    465
    179
    133
See reviews for
782
1,210
73
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spent 3 night 4/20 to 4/23, Check-in was good, upgraded to a Jr Suite it was Ok because it had a small balcony overlooking the pool. If I did not get a balcony I don’t think it’s worth paying for the upgrade. Things are a little pricy but that what comes with staying at The Ritz. The pool was nice and so was the beach and there were more the enough lounge chairs for all and there weren’t too many kids as stated in other trip advisor posts. The Casino was small with a lot of penny and nickel slots a few quarter slots and very few dollar and up slots and the tables where quite worn out, they needed to be recovered or replaced. I do have to say that the service was excellent from check-in to poolside service, room service, restaurant staff and the casino. The most impressive thing was that the counter clerk that I checked-in with remembered me by name 3 days later. The location is ok, you can walk to a few restaurants, Walgreens & another casino or on Saturdays from 2 to 10 pm you can go across the street and watch the “Cock Fights” for $10, I passed on that one. The Hotel is showing some age but not too bad, my only complaint was when you get off the elevators in the lobby you do smell a bit of mold/mildew in the air just in that one area. I think if the upkeep on the building was a little bit better, I would call it "The Ritz"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randyg1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

First time at the Ritz San Juan. The beach is perfect - calm and pretty. The staff was really nice and helpful. No pretense here, just good service and a good time.
Restaurants: Take a cab to the Condado section. Have the paella at Bar Gitano. Oh, and for lunch, try the Cuban sandwich at the Ritz' beach bar.
My sister and I had spa treatments.. very nice staff.. very good facials.
Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramos_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Sadly we only had a few hours at this hotel as our flight had been cancelled so the airline put us up here for a night.
The hotel is stunning and our room was huge. We ordered room service which was delicious and slept wonderfully on the comfy beds and pillows.
The main reason for me writing this review is the guy who collected our very heavy ( and many) cases from our room and into our cab. I never got his name but he was an absolute sweetheart who made both my mum and I feel so special even though we had such a lightening stay. Thankyou so much.....such a nice way to end our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandasims1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in San Juan from April 9 to 13th. While the hotel property is beautiful and we enjoyed our time there, the inconsistency in the level of service was surprising considering the price point.

Rooms – We booked an oceanfront balcony room. What we didn’t know when we booked the room was that the quoted size of the oceanfront balcony room - 400 square feet - includes the balcony. The actual interior of the room is something less than 400 square feet, very small. Luckily, we were able to upgrade to a much more comfortable junior suite. The people at the front desk were helpful in accommodating this change.

The Beach and pool – The beach and pool areas were lovely and nicely maintained. Because it was spring break, both the beach and the pool areas were crowded. (I was surprised at how many people were traveling with their young children – I don’t think it is an exaggeration to say there were more guests traveling with their young children than there were couples.) The Courtyard by Marriott was further down the same beach – it appeared to be less crowded. I don’t know what the rooms (it did look like they were renovating areas of the hotel) were like at the Courtyard, but for those who just care about the beach, the Courtyard could certainly be a better deal.

Food – We had the breakfast buffet each day at the hotel. The buffet was good; we particularly enjoyed the omelet maker – a person who seemed to take great pleasure in his job and in his life. The food at the Ocean Bar and Grill was also good, although the service was quite slow. As other reviewers have noted, all of the restaurants on the property are overpriced.

The Lobby Lounge served one of the best mojitos that I’ve ever had, unfortunately, the service in the lounge was particularly slow. One night we waited 15 minutes for someone to take our order. I wouldn’t expect to wait that long for service at any hotel lounge, and certainly not at a Ritz Carlton.

While the service at the lobby lounge was notably bad, there were many who provided notably good service. The concierge was very helpful and attentive. The people at the front desk and certain bellmen were also very pleasant and attentive.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
20.8 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
6.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
7.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
6.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
41.9 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
Address: 6961 Ave of the Governors, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,732 - ₹ 58,420
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Ritz-Carlton San Juan Hotel, Spa And Casino
Ritz Carlton Carolina
Carolina Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Puerto Rico
Ritz Carolina
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan Isla Verde, Puerto Rico - Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing