We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally relaxing - beautiful spot!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillborne Cottage

Hillborne Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillborne Cottage
View from the cottage Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Hillborne Cottage
View from the cottage
Sitting area
Dining area
Kitchen
Main Bedroom, queen bed
Second Bedroom, two king singles
Bathroom
Hillborne Cottage
Riding out from Hillborne
Sunset over Hillborne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perth Hills, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tania S
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Totally relaxing - beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A truly relaxing getaway, so close to Perth but it felt like we were a million miles away. Melissa and Greg were wonderful hosts, providing us with fresh eggs for our brekky each day from their very free range chickens. The kids had the best time toasting marshmallows on the outdoor fire pit, and hanging out with the horses and Marley the dog. The cottage is beautifully done and super clean and tidy, it has every comfort of home and VERY comfy beds. Lots to see and do around the local area, from the local taverns and pubs to nature walks and rides. It was great to be able to bring our own dog with us, and to know that she was safely fenced in if we went out for the day. The view across the paddocks was beautiful, the wildlife and the local wildflowers were great to see! We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimpaulin...
london
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fresh air”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and I stayed in this lovely little cottage for two weeks. It had great facilities and was very comfortable. Sitting out on the covered porch watching the light change was a treat. The sitting room has TV and stereo as well as aircon.
The double bed was very comfortable. An easy drive to Mundaring and other amenities. Greg and Melissa were helpful and perfect hosts. Great for a city break .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulietC14...
1 review
“Everything you want in a home is right here..it's a 'home away from away' !”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Breathtaking sunset, with the sunlights peeping thru the gum trees along the driveway into the farm. Beautiful Arabian horses accompanying us for our daily breakfast. And Greg , playing throw with Marley, the border collie completes the picturesque holiday. The cottage is tastefully designed and equipped with all the comforts of home. kitchen utensils are complete, and many interesting reads for the evening are some of Melissa's thoughtful gestures for her guests. Both hosts, Melissa and Greg are welcoming and warm and yet, accorded us our privacy . This is a gem I found, and in my most selfish moments, I really didn't want to share this but then again, this place is to be shared and may many find their beautiful memories here as I did!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siak Lar...
1 review
“Very relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here twice after an unpleasant stay at another place.great place to get away from it all, very clean rooms secluded but near host's house where wi fi is available.overlooking fields where horses graze.Hosts Melissa n Greg look after you very well.For overseas visitors like us it is conveniently near the Perth airport (45 mins by car).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful and secluded luxury cottage in the hills”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My partner took me to Hillborne Cottage as a surprise getaway from the city and it was just perfect. The cottage was finished earlier this year and is lovely - modern and tasteful with gorgeous artistic touches inside. It has two bedrooms (comfortable queen bed in the master and two singles in the other), bathroom with shower (very good), lounge room with books and DVDs, full kitchen (with white goods, some condiments/essentials and all utensils), dining setting, reverse cycle aircon, and porch with a BBQ and outdoor setting over looking the valley. Other nice ideas included a file with instructions and pamphlets for the area, and a suggestions book. We met Melissa, one of the owners, who was very friendly and helpful on arrival but who gave us our privacy for the rest of the time. There's a lot to do and see in the area - apparently a marsupial park (which we didn't make it to), some cute little shops and a great art gallery in Mundaring, Lake Leschenaulta for a picnic canoeing and swimming, John Forest National Park for walking and some great mountain bike trails and horseriding nearby. I totally recommend a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern decor inside
Liked least: Pillows a bit too soft
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing