We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We were cosy and well looked-after, a Christmas...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thackmoor Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Some of the original wood beams
The cottage adjoins our barn
Back door to the cottage which leads to a grassed area for guests
The guests bench in the wild flower area and orchard, perfect for an evening
Our garden which guests are welcome to use
Renwick from the path to Thackmoor, looking across the Eden Valley
One of the walks from the cottage, to the waterfall on the right
Renwick Church
The Eden Valley from above Renwick
The bridge at Lazonby
Interior of St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
D and K
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Renwick, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eoin B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We were cosy and well looked-after, a Christmas cracker!”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived to a seasonally decorated cottage, with a real Christmas tree, fairy lights, and various stylish Christmas things. The log burner was also prepared. All we had to do upon arrival was throw a match into the burner, open the wine, and the cottage immediately felt like home. We didn't have a car but that didn't thwart us, a provision-laden taxi from Penrith station (around £30 each way) took us to the idyllic setting of Renwick. There was more than enough to keep us busy by foot. We took a long walk along the Raven Beck to Kirkoswald, another lovely village with great pubs (especially the Fetherston Arms). I highly recommended this walk. Apart from the beautiful scenery and the extremely high standard of the cottage, another aspect of the stay really stood out: the hospitality of Dick, who owns the cottage. A friendly, helpful, and charming man, who made our stay very special. In no way omnipresent, he would often give us advice or offer help if needed. This is a fantastic place to experience the wilds of Cumbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff N
1 review
“Great hideaway, great scenery.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage, which we found was very comfortable with the bonus of a lovely log burner. Everything was there that we needed. The village was beautifully peaceful and bordered on to the North Pennines with plenty of walking opportunities and lovely villages to visit in the stunning Eden Valley. It was a great hideaway holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Many thanks and hope to see you again
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLP5040
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, friendly, superb value.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed 4 nights with our young labrador. We felt truly welcome and quite at home almost immediately. It's a great location both for visiting the Lake District, and for visiting the hidden gem that is the Eden valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner, friendly owner.
Liked least: The wifi was very patchy and unreliable though we were told about this in advance.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Many thanks and hope to see you again
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon vacation”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this lovely little cottage for 6 days for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful place in a peaceful location, with lovely scenery and nature all around. It is in a great location for visits to the lake district or up into Scotland for day trips, but there is also plenty of lovely walks nearby for nature lovers. The owners were lovely, they sent us fantastic information before our stay with detailed directions for how to get there (along with photos to help) plus plenty of local information on places to eat, shop and all local walks available. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a relaxing and peaceful break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review, hope the journey back was OK
Regards
Dick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_Phil...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab little cottage! ”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Yetlands Cottage for 3 nights. It is a lovely little base if you are wanting to explore the Lake District and Peak District. The cottage itself has everything required for a comfortable stay for a couple. My partner and I and our little dog were made to feel very welcome by the owners, who had even prepared the log burner for our arrival.
Lovely garden area which we spent a sunny afternoon in, which was private and we felt comfortable enough to use.
Cottage feels very much home from home, we felt like we could enjoy it without being scared of touching anything.
Found the prices very reasonable compared to others in the area.
Would definitely recommend! Thank you for our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Many thanks and hope to see you again
Dick and Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing