We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lake View Cottage

Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Country lane leading down to lake view cottage Traditional half front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Country lane leading down to lake view cottage
Traditional half front door
Fresh water stream at front of the cottage
View of Lough Derravaragh from kitchen door
We offer a fishing boat to 1 week rentals or more
What a view
Lough Derravargh shore
Large open plan bathroom
Open plan bathroom with walk in shower
Connecting kitchen and living area
Dinning area
Kitchen with views of Lough Derravaragh
What a view
Fully equipped kitchen
Open plan living area with wood burning stove
Free standing wood burning stove
Day bed for 5th and 6th guest
Hand painted dresser
Twin bedroom
Old cast iron double bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coole, County Westmeath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marion F
1 review
“Excellent cottage, great location and pet friendly.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Ideal location for walking and wildlife. Castlepollard is a five minute drive away and is ideal for provisions, takeaways and pubs with traditional Irish music. (Be prepared for a late night). Mullingar is about half an hour away and is an interesting town with lots of varied shops, bars and restaurants. Belvedere House and gardens are well worth a visit as is Fore Abbey. Athlone is a bit further away but walking by the river in the sunshine makes the trip worthwhile, as well as the cafes where you can rest and enjoy a coffee and lovely cakes at the side of the river.
The cottage is a perfect place for both humans and canines to unwind, relax and go walkies by the lake. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ros b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage with lots of character and fantastic outdoor space”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely cottage with lots of little touches that make it feel more like a home, like lots of board games and lots of nice mugs & glasses. The downstairs is very spacious and comfortable and the wood burning stove makes the cottage very cosy. It's got the comfort of a modern property and the charm and character that comes with being a 200-year old cottage
We also loved the garden which has a wonderful view down to the loch. By the boathouse there is a small play area (swings). The location gave our kids lots of freedom and as the play area could be seen for the cottage and the garden they were able to come and go as they pleased which they absolutely loved.
We had a great week at the cottage and were really sorry to leave it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage to get relax and chill out”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at Lake View Cottage. The location is incredible with a fantastic view of the lake. It is so peaceful, all we heard is the sound of the birds and the occasional tractor.
The open plan layout downstairs really worked for us - it was cosy, yet spacious at the same time with the sofas arranged around the massive wood-burning stove. We had a couple of wet days so it was great to light it and laze around reading and chatting.
We found it was a great location in the middle of Ireland; so easy to get around and see other parts of the country. We'd recommend visiting Mullingar, the nearest town, as it has a lot to offer in terms of restaurants and shopping.
Sarah's daughter, Joanne, met us and got us settled in, Sarah checked we were doing ok later in the week. She was kind enough to let us bring our pets, and they loved it too! We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing