We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage with lots of character and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lake View Cottage

Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Country lane leading down to lake view cottage Traditional half front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Lake view cottage is over 200 years old
Country lane leading down to lake view cottage
Traditional half front door
Fresh water stream at front of the cottage
View of Lough Derravaragh from kitchen door
We offer a fishing boat to 1 week rentals or more
What a view
Lough Derravargh shore
Large open plan bathroom
Open plan bathroom with walk in shower
Connecting kitchen and living area
Dinning area
Kitchen with views of Lough Derravaragh
What a view
Fully equipped kitchen
Open plan living area with wood burning stove
Free standing wood burning stove
Day bed for 5th and 6th guest
Hand painted dresser
Twin bedroom
Old cast iron double bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coole, County Westmeath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ros b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage with lots of character and fantastic outdoor space”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely cottage with lots of little touches that make it feel more like a home, like lots of board games and lots of nice mugs & glasses. The downstairs is very spacious and comfortable and the wood burning stove makes the cottage very cosy. It's got the comfort of a modern property and the charm and character that comes with being a 200-year old cottage
We also loved the garden which has a wonderful view down to the loch. By the boathouse there is a small play area (swings). The location gave our kids lots of freedom and as the play area could be seen for the cottage and the garden they were able to come and go as they pleased which they absolutely loved.
We had a great week at the cottage and were really sorry to leave it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caryn W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage to get relax and chill out”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at Lake View Cottage. The location is incredible with a fantastic view of the lake. It is so peaceful, all we heard is the sound of the birds and the occasional tractor.
The open plan layout downstairs really worked for us - it was cosy, yet spacious at the same time with the sofas arranged around the massive wood-burning stove. We had a couple of wet days so it was great to light it and laze around reading and chatting.
We found it was a great location in the middle of Ireland; so easy to get around and see other parts of the country. We'd recommend visiting Mullingar, the nearest town, as it has a lot to offer in terms of restaurants and shopping.
Sarah's daughter, Joanne, met us and got us settled in, Sarah checked we were doing ok later in the week. She was kind enough to let us bring our pets, and they loved it too! We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S
1 review
“Perfect to relax”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you look for a place to relax, having a nice cottage directly situated at a lovely lake with a little boat, thats the place to be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
729tina
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

An amazing quaint cottage,we loved everything about it,we really enjoyed the peaceful surroundings.It was lovely just to be able to wander down to the Loch.Sarah and Brian were lovely,very helpful and easy to get on with.The local pub was great,very friendly ,as was the local shop,even if they could not answer our questions they referred us to someone who could help us.Such friendly people.One great holiday. Thank you so much :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks for your lovely review,we loved having you ,the cat is missing you like mad,we would love to have you back.Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lfeeney
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lakeview Cottage”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful


Beautiful , peaceful location where you can enjoy all the countryside has to offer and even a breathtaking lake on your doorstep. I stayed with my three children aged 11 - 21 and it was a chance to get away from Xbox, mobile phones and play stations! The cottage is perfect with everything you could possibly need even a friendly next door neighbour dog. Nearby Ballynally Castle is a lovely day out with a picnic. We spent most of our time fishing and boating on the lake. The Cottage comes with a boat which is an excellent addition the owners really have thought of everything to create the perfect family break! Sarah and Brian were great hosts and very helpful. Looking forward to booking another stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing