We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
64
10
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
10
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2015

The view is tremendous ! We stayed in the Chester suite and loved it. The road up to the English Rose requires some gutsy driving but it's worth it. Also the breakfast was superb and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

If you have the chance to dine at The English Rose before it is sold (yes, it is up for sale), do yourself a favor and make a reservation, show up early, and enjoy one if the best dining experiences on the island. I highly recommend the "Dead Elvis" with a side of Canadian bacon and "bubbles and squeak". The Full Monty and the scrambled eggs with manchego cheese and beans are also great choices. YOU NEED TO MAKE A RESERVATION AND ARRIVE EARLY. It's not a drive for the squeamish, but the journey is worth the experience and the view. Try to get a table on the balcony. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

We have visited English Rose every year for seven straight years. The food has undoubtedly always been very good. We would always just show up around 8.30 or 9.00 am and wait a few minutes for a table, never had to wait more than ten minutes.
This year we arrived at around 8.45 am and to our surprise we were greeted by a valet parking attendant!
For a nine table restaurant!
There were four cars parked already. So the attendant asked if we had a reservation. Oops, sorry he said we could wait but it would be two hours for a table. Good luck to them, but reservations for breakfast? It's not THAT good, and it's only breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMc485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthrose, General Manager at The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Dear Mike,
Thank you for your continued patronage to the English Rose. Since you have been coming here for several years I'm sure you can remember the days when we had a 1-3 hour wait for breakfast (which guests did not like). We are a small nine table restaurant with a car park built just for that. When you have people outside waiting for two hours for a table, it overextends our parking. Often, people waiting did not park in the most efficient way. Due to poor self parking, we had complaints from neighbors having driveways blocked and sometimes had a blocked road. Our solution to the neighborhood was to hire a parking attendant on weekends and start taking reservations to minimize the congestion. I am truly sorry you mistook our reorganization for arrogance. We have not in fact become "too big for our boots" we just simply needed to solve the problem at hand. In the future I hope you will make a reservation and take advantage of our free valet/ car parking attendant. Without these things the English rose would not be able to operate efficiently. Please remember we are a family run business and work very hard. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Getting to this place was an adventure. The road to the top of the very steep hill is narrow and surrounded by trees. Once reaching the top we were amazed by the views of the ocean. The restaurant was small and had limited seating on the outer deck, however we were able to get one of these tables as their were only 2 of us. The French toast with caramelized bananas was delicious and the eggs benedict were great also. Great place to enjoy breakfast with a view.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank travelingcanucks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

We saw the reviews on TripAdvisor and thought we really should try it... we checked out The English Rose's website and saw they were open for breakfast until 12...

So we decided to head from Old San Juan over to the west coast of Puerto Rico for the day and drove 2.5 hours, arriving at 11:25am for breakfast...

We pulled into the car park and were told... "we've just stopped serving and are closing up!"

We explained we had driven 2.5 hours to get here and really wanted to have a quick bite to eat before heading to the beaches... and were told "sorry, but we're closing up"... there was no apology for closing early (despite us mentioning it!) and no recommendation to go anywhere else to eat... the guy just walked off and left us in the car park!

We were seriously unimpressed... really poor service.... would definitely not even consider coming back after this experience, however good the food recommendations are...

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthrose, General Manager at The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa - GUESTHOUSE, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Hello,
Sorry you missed us! The English rose is open Wend.-Sat. 8am-11:30 and Sundays 8am-12:30. I am not sure who misinformed you of our hours of operation. It looks like you arrived on a Sunday (our busiest day of the week) of Thanksgiving weekend. This holiday is extremely busy for us and we were completely full with reservations and were not accepting walk ins at all. In the future please call for a Reservation any you will be guaranteed a seat. We are a very small 9 table family operated business. We do our best to accommodate everyone we can but on Holidays and Sundays it is almost always completely booked. We did not shut down early, we just had no space left for the day! We hope you enjoyed Rincon and will visit us in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews