We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Cofresi Hotel(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy Parrot Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
US$ 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 114
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Que Chevere(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rincon Inn(Rincon)
US$ 70
US$ 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tres Palmas Inn and Villas(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Coconut Palms Inn(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 249
US$ 188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
323
15
2
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
15
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea view apartmentgourmet breakfastevery morningpuerto ricobreakfast was amazingfull kitchenboogie boardslaid backvisiting rinconrental carlisaaccommodationsparadisevacationbeachstepssurf
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Do you yearn to have as your unexpected 7:00 a.m. wakeup call a two-year-old, feet from your bedroom window, calling repeatedly for her mommy?

Would you like to be sitting on the balcony of your luxury, beachfront room hand-in-hand with the love of your life while not 15 feet away two small children thrash about in the pool?

Does your idea of the perfect sunset include sitting on the beach in front of your intimate B&B while toddlers with plastic shovels and pails play mere feet from you?

If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, then the Tres Sirenas may be the place for you.

My wife and I, and the other three couples we were sharing the inn with, were stunned - make that mortified - to find out that Tres Sirenas is a child-friendly resort. This may not turn out to be the intimate or tranquil respite you are looking for (not that it can't be). Based on how the owners describe the Tres Sirenas on their web site, you would never in a million years expect to find young children racing around this supposedly “romantic inn” designed for the “discerning traveler”. Unfortunately, with the owners so willing to rent to families with small children, the Tres Sirenas can quickly turn into the last place on earth you want to be if you are seeking solitude.

This is not a big place - maybe 3,000 square feet of living space. Many of you reading this review probably have houses similar in size. And every room shares one small common area. It what lends to Tres Sirenas' charm when all the guests are adults considerate of each other's privacy. It is also what makes the place a nightmare when a family with small children makes camp. There simply is no place to hide when the kids are doing what kids do: making lots of noise. Your only options are to 1) leave until the kids finally go to sleep or 2) go to your room and shut all the doors and windows. Are either what you have in mind as you consider booking your stay?

Under the right conditions, Tres Sirenas is a special place that I could confidently and gladly recommend. The inn is beautiful, the rooms are nicely appointed, the beach and sunsets are stunning, Harry is a gracious host and breakfast served to your own outdoor table is an elegant touch. It may not be the place you will rave about years from now, but you will definitely go home and tell your family and friends you had a wonderful time here.

Unfortunately, an unconditional recommendation I cannot give. If you hit a week with no kids, you will have a peaceful and beautiful stay. But, if like us, Lisa and Harry sequester you with two very young children, then you are in for a dissatisfying experience. And dissatisfying is exactly how I would describe the first few days. Fortunately, come Tuesday one of the other guests told us that she had hit the breaking point after another mid-afternoon toddler “pool party” and confronted the parents. From that moment on, the children were rarely seen and I never saw the kids in the pool again. I have no idea what the other guest said to the parents, but everything turned for the better. The tranquility we all expected and paid for fell upon us and remained for the rest of the week. It was a huge relief.

But what if that guest had not spoken up? What if the parents were unfazed that another guest was unhappy? What if instead of two children, there were four or six kids racing around? What if you and your loved one were the only couple at the inn without children? Booking the Tres Sirenas just seems like an awful big gamble to take - especially if this is a special trip for you, or you are deciding to splurge or you simply do not have the opportunity to travel often. If you simply can't afford to be forced to endure the presence of someone else’s small children for an entire week, then you must avoid the Tres Sirenas.

Harry admitted to me that they are seeing an increase in families staying at Tres Sirenas. Forest, his daughter, clearly stated that her parents simply aren’t the type of people who would consider a no-child policy. I implored them to, at a minimum, update their web site to clearly indicate that families with children of any age are welcome. At least that way other guests could make an informed decision about choosing Tres Sirenas and not get the “toddler surprise” we and the other guests received upon check-in.

If you love the presence of young children – even at what is billed as a romantic, intimate B&B – then by all means book the Tres Sirenas. But if young children racing about loudly while you are laying by the pool, attempting to relax on the beach or sipping wine while you watch the sun set is not your idea of romantic or intimate, then you are risking it all by choosing the Tres Sirenas.

Signed,

Save By Another Guest in Puerto Rico


p.s. I have nothing against kids. My wife and I have two and we've traveled extensively with them domestically and internationally. When they were young and loud we took them to places where young and loud children were welcome and expected. Tres Sirenas is neither of those places.

NOTE TO PARENTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN: If you think that the Tres Sirenas is an appropriate place for your infant, toddler, pre-schooler, etc., you are horribly mistaken. This is a very small, intimate, romantic, tranquil oasis for ADULTS who are trying to 1) escape their children, 2) escape their grandchildren, or 3) escape life in general. The guests will not find your children cute or adorable. To most other guests, your children will be fingernails on a chalkboard. And the other guests will be amazingly displeased with you for destroying the tranquility of their holiday. Children at the Tres Sirenas are as out-of-place as polar bears...

Room Tip: Verify no children are booked during your stay
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USMA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TresSirenas, Owner at Tres Sirenas Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

During the past eight years Tres Sirenas has had the good fortune, and it has always been our pleasure to welcome guests young and old. We are heartened to receive families that have returned year after year. In our own travels with our mermaids, the tres sirenas, we have enjoyed many B&B’s, country Inn’s, exclusive resorts and on the occasional splurge, urban 5 star Hotels, and Restaurants; all received our children. In our travels we have always been respectful of other guests, and in our experience at the Inn thus far we have found our guests to be mutually respectful. The Inn is unique in its small size, intimate spaces and attention to detail offered at an excellent rate, earning us recommendations by leading travel authorities including Fodor’s Choice, Travel & Leisure, and Conde Nast Traveler. We do not have a public restaurant or lounge, limiting any outside visitors to the property to enhance our own guests experience. Given our direct oceanfront location, and amenities that make us so special, many guests choose to spend the entire day at the pool, or on the beach; here there is no need to leave. Still others enjoy day trips, activities and exploring the many beaches in the area. Guests who wish to enjoy the Inn exclusive to themselves are welcome to rent the entire villa. Guests who would like to avoid Spring Break, and the periods when families are vacationing would best enjoy visiting November, December, January and February, an early March exclusive of the Holiday Weeks. Regardless, Tres Sirenas remains an excellent destination year round with many happy guests who return year after year. In Puerto Rico, a very family friendly Island, there are the rare boutique hotels, and resorts that do cater to the adult only community. Here in Rincon, The Horned Dorset, a beautiful property, as also reviewed by the guests, has a no children policy, and we recommend this exclusive resort to those seeking to escape from life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

You can do no better than this, Lisa and Harry have a jewel of a B&B right on the carribean. You wake to a 5 star breakfast every morning "Unbelieveable". This property is very quite with the extremely clean beach just steps away. Restaurants in the area are very good and prices are reasonable, if you are going to vacation in this area call Lisa you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookala99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I cannot say enough amazing things about our stay at Tres Sirenas. We stayed there end of February/early March for 4 nights and my only complaint was we didn't have one more day there!

ROOM: We stayed in the pool suite. I would HIGHLY recommend it! There was a lovely living room area where we played dominos and read, then a kitchette, which we didn't use (but used the fridge for wine!). The bedroom is perfect and bathroom is everything you would need. You step right out onto a private patio where breakfast is served every morning. I love that we could step right out and be on our patio, be by the pool and a few steps later by the beach! It was the PERFECT place to watch sunsets on our patio. We spent many nights with a glass of wine watching the sunset at our little table! Another wonderful thing about the room is because the waves are so loud in Rincon, we could hear them through the night, even with the slider door shut. What a wonderful sound - we slept like babies!

BREAKFAST: What can I say other than Lisa is a fantastic cook! Unlike many B&B where we have stayed when you eat with the other guests, Lisa serves you on your own private patio at 9am (or another time if you have a conflict). The first morning we woke up to our table beautifully set (a shell with a fresh flower in it, orange juice in wine glasses, etc.) so we sat and watched the water and drank coffee. Then, she served amazing blueberry pancakes! Every day was something different from an omelette to a frittatta to smoked salmon on a bagel. It was so amazing to wake up to such great food in an unbelievable setting!

RESTAURANTS: Lisa has amazing recommendations for where to eat. I heard you can have a private chef cook for you at Tres Sirenas, but we ended up going out. We walked the beach our first night to Villa Cofressi, then took Lisa's recommendation and went to Pools Bar (great for lunch and dinner) as well as an amazing tapas place called Casa Islena. We also went to Shipwreck which had fantastic fish tacos in an outdoor setting!

TO DO: The best part of Tres Sirenas is you can stay at your home base all day or go exploring! We spent much time by the pool and beach. The pool is beautiful and since there are so few guests, never crowded. The beach is also not very crowded and is literally steps from the inn. It was fun to play in the waves and swim in the warm water! We went to San Sebastion one day for something to do (wouldn't recommend it, nothing really there) but it was a beautiful drive. We went horseback riding on our last day, booked through Lisa, and couldn't recommend it more. We rode on about 4 different beaches and were able to see surfers, the rainforest area, etc. What an experience! We went to the lighthouse (5 minutes from the inn) and walked around that park (it is beautiful!). We went to Marias beach and ate lunch at Calypso and watched the surfers (fun!). We went into town and did a little shopping. Truly, you can do as much or as little as you want!

SERVICE: The service was amazing. Lisa and Harry are around enough to know you are always taken care of, but leave you to enjoy the amazing grounds! They gave great restaurant recommendations, booked our horseback riding and even surprised us with a bottle of champagne for sunset on our last night. They were the perfect hosts!

Truly, look no further if you want to be pampered in Rincon. This is the place! Thanks, Harry and Lisa! Can't wait to come back!

Sarah Pasquinucci

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmichelle223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We arrived a bit earlier than check in, Lisa let us hang out until our room was ready, great Hostess :), the vacation just got better and better, Tres Sirenas is the nicest vacation place we've been to in 13 years, great breakfast, clean room, wonderful staff, I couldn't wish for a better vacation.
Lisa was a fount of knowledge about Rincon, where to go for lunch/dinner, where to visit, and generally super helpful.
Have booked for the same time next year, can't wait to be there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJR1CarlisleTwp_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This is the place to stay if you've had enough craziness of large resorts and truly want to relax. Harry & Lisa give you just the amount of service you want. ( some want more than others) There is a certain stress free atmosphere about this small jewel. Lisa's dedication to fabulous breakfasts, fresh flowers, and suggestions for local color were much appreciated. Fall asleep each night to waves breaking 50 ft from your room. Saw whales, dolphins, and tons of pelicans diving just off shore. You know you are relaxed when you can spend 45 minutes watching a sand crab trying to pick a hole to go in. Make sure Harry goes horseback riding on Sunday, he deserves it. A great vacation. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partyservers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews