We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great, but please pick up the trash on the beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horned Dorset Primavera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horned Dorset Primavera
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great, but please pick up the trash on the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Exceptional place, a good quiet retreat for a weekend away.

We had a really lovely time.

Thank you for keeping such a quiet place.

Please do have your staff pick up the garbage on the beach that drifts in, there
was a lot of it. If they could do that it would be great and environmentally sensitive.

But the stay was excellent....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Herrera,

Thank you for your high recommodation and your comment rearding drift wood etc. coming in to the beach and have alerted our beach staff to keep an eye on it specially when there is a rough sea.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and best regards.

Wilhelm Sack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    42
    32
    21
    3
See reviews for
20
178
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Horned Dorset is that rare place generally shared very quietly - among friends - and only to SOME of your friends. It is a place you would never want spoiled. It is true - it feels like your home. And as Anne Morrow once wrote "I shall invite into my shell, only those with whom I can be completely honest".
It is quiet. It is resplendant. The management is perfect and personal - it is apparant that each guest is the personal responsibility of your hosts. The chef is stunning and the food is accordinly amazing. The enitre staff takes cares for you as if you are guests in their home - -for example - two hours after our arrival - as we were enjoying wine with our friends on couches in the bar/library - - the waiter came with a smile and a tray - and very gently announced "excuse me, but it is important that we should move you to the terrace just over there - the sun is setting now - you should be there to enjoy it." And indeed we did.... Dinner was exquisite. We had opted for the meal plan - thus It began with a pureed mushroom soup, followed by salmon gravlax, then beef filet (I substituted roasted breast of duck) and then baked chocolate pie ( which my husband adored - I substituted chocolate cake with a molten coconut center and coconut ice cream on the side - exceeded only by a friend's rasberry souffle with cream anglaise and cinnamon ice cream on the side) - As our post-dessert coffee was being served, our waiter (without being asked) took a moment to explain to us where breakfast would be served in the morning - and a few other details - just as you would explain to guests in your home.
The suites - a small apartment in fact - are furnished with incredibly beautiful traditional furniture - featured a living room, full bath, kitchen, espresso maker and terrace with lounge chairs, table, market umbrella and plunge pool downstairs - and a wonderful bedroom and sitting room upstairs - with a canapied bed, enormous bathroom, huge footed whirlpool tub, rainshower, 2 sinks etc - and balcony terrace overlooking the ocean....upstairs.
Two larger pools with terraces and lounge chairs etc - - - one an infinity overlooking the ocean - were delightful. The building for dinner, lunch and breakfast - - with bar/library - featured open terraces -and intimate, exquisitely decorated air conditioned rooms - just incredible.

This is a quiet place. Do not come here looking for a party - unless you rent the entire hotel for a group - - - and do not make a party - - those around you are relishing the peace and gentility.

Should you want to explore beyond the hotel - there is much to do and enjoy in Rincon. For example, we chartered a catamaran from the nearby marina and enjoyed a morning on the water - snorkeling and looking for whales.

This is a wonderful wonderful place.

Room Tip: Well - - the rooms overlooking the ocean are incredible - and you can enjoy the sound of the surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ldm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are looking forward seeing you back again.

Management and Staff of The Horned Dorset Primavera in sunny Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rincon, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Expect impeccable accommodations and service. The garden and beach are maintained perfectly as so are the rooms with private dipping pools it's pure paradise perfection. Next door is the Palace Beach Club for all types of special events, hosting all religious and non religious weddings, and every type of venue. Rincon is a premier destination location.
The Horned Dorset World Class Service and private heliport you can arrive from anywhere in the Caribbean right to it.
Now that's first class service!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalPalaceClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you..Rincon is full of fun places to go and a great escape to spend a vacation..we are looking forward seeing you again..Wilhelm Sack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from a great vacation in Puerto Rico, and this place takes the cake!!! I had plans to do some touring and couldn't pull myself away from the hotel. The setting is beautiful. Our room had a gorgeous ocean view and we hit balmy weather. We slept with the windows open and listened to the surf. We had breakfast 2 mornings on the grassy area by the "blue room" where it was served--ocean front! We ate dinner one night in the fancy restaurant (Aaron) upstairs and it was very nice--only problem was my fish wasn't warm enough so I sent it back with a bite out of it and they brought my a whole new fish. We ate the second night in the "Blue Room" and had a wonderful waiter-Peter-who made every attempt to make our evening wonderful. The beach area had some chaise lounges with umbrellas. It was a small beach, but secluded and nice. The room was lovely with great appointments. There is a grocery market called Edwards nearby and we bought salami, cheese, bread, and wine and made our own lunch both days. This is a very romantic place. We plan on going back again. It is a bit expensive, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cliffview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I would love to love this place, but just couldn't. Went with our family over the Christmas break. Arrived Christmas night late and had requested a light dinner and wine in our room. We found a small cheese plate in our fridge which had frozen over, no wine (they mixed up the order some how and were very apologetic). They brought something a half hour later (at midnight) which was ok, but they ended up charging us for the whole thing-most places I think would have comped something like that Fans for A/C in the rooms were so loud that we had to open windows at night-and it was quite warm, so our sleep quality was low. Breakfast the first morning took 1.5 hours. They do not provide activities, which is fine and very clear in their literature. There are two kayaks on the beach. Beach is small, but lovely. There was no snorkeling equipment, so one of the staff went to buy for us-they were very nice and really wanted to be helpful at every turn. One day we ordered lunch to be brought to the beach. After a half hour, I inquired about the status of the food and was told (at 12:30 pm) that the cooks were on break and it would be another 15-20 minutes. Food in nice restaurant was great, but wine list had no reasonable choices (starting at $75 and going up from there). The public space was very relaxing and comfortable-great sunsets. Two nice pools. Overall, we had a great time in Rincon, but the hotel was a weakness in the trip. I do understand, though, that it is the nicest choice in the area. V. expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LPB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, Owner at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know on tripadvisor your thoughts about your vaction here over the busy Christmas period. We appreciate your positive comments and we will work on the other issues you menitoned. Your opening comments . ..you would love to love the hotel..and your closing remark... that the hotel is Vexpensive...I found very telling... in Sky resorts and in the Caribbean the Holiday Season is the highest priced time of the year and a busy one ..

I truly enjoyed meeting your family and hope to see you back again, perhaps at a different time of the year. Best regards, Wilhelm Sack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
100.1 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
149.6 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
129.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.0 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
186.9 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
128.6 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Property: Horned Dorset Primavera
Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677-1132, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rincon
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,588 - ₹ 60,488
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Aaron. The hotel is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing